Chevron Left
Back to Synapses, Neurons and Brains

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Synapses, Neurons and Brains by Hebrew University of Jerusalem

4.8
stars
1,021 ratings
300 reviews

About the Course

These are very unique times for brain research. The aperitif for the course will thus highlight the present “brain-excitements” worldwide. You will then become intimately acquainted with the operational principles of neuronal “life-ware” (synapses, neurons and the networks that they form) and consequently, on how neurons behave as computational microchips and how they plastically and constantly change - a process that underlies learning and memory. Recent heroic attempts to realistically simulate large cortical networks in the computer will be highlighted (e.g., “the Blue Brain Project”) and processes related to perception, cognition and emotions in the brain will be discussed. For dessert we will deliberate on the future of brain research, including the questions of “brain and art”, consciousness and free will. For more information see the course promo below and read “About the course.”...

Top reviews

A
Aug 13, 2017

Excellent teaching by Sir. He has created one more enthusiast in the journey of decoding Human Brain. Thank you Sir, getting my basics clear and this will help me to be better Neuro/AI researcher.

DD
Sep 17, 2015

It is a very interesting and well-done course about neurobiology. Prof. Sedev has many interactive tasks and he tries to explain details as easy as possible. All in all it is understandable.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 293 Reviews for Synapses, Neurons and Brains

By 志恒 郑

Jun 29, 2016

Good teachers with amazing material, a fascinating journey to the neural science, yet simple enough to understand without much efforts.

By Reto W

Oct 26, 2015

Awesome material. The Concepts are well explained. Only downside in my opinion are the lectures slides, which could have a cleaner look.

By Symeon M

May 25, 2020

A very nice tutorial, very well explained on the discoveries of the human brain. Perhaps a starting point for ML in computer science.

By Carlos A C R

Sep 28, 2020

a very inspiring instructor, that transmits his passion and curiosity about the future of medicine, technology and knowledge. Great!

By TRAN D T T

Aug 26, 2020

I like this course a lot. Excellent instructor. Very useful knowledge (to me). Thank you Coursera, the Professor and all the Staffs.

By marly u r

May 17, 2018

Foi o curso mais difícil de todos que cursei no Coursera. aprendi muito e devo muitos agradecimentos ao professor Idan e sua equipe.

By Francisco G

Sep 20, 2015

This course is perfect for novices. Idan Segev is a great teacher; I look forward to participate in another course lectured by him.

By Ángel P L

Aug 23, 2020

The content is very well explained and the Professor is very inspiring. It's a good first step to get into the Neuroscience world.

By Thirumalesu K

Apr 3, 2021

Excellent presentations in all lectures. This will very useful in the next generation of VLSI. I really enjoyed all the lectures.

By Carola G

Apr 26, 2018

Very interesting course. The instructor managed to impart the, at least for me, not easy subject comprehensible and fascinating.

By Jun L

Jan 16, 2017

Very good and advanced course. I have learned so much from this course and also established my strong interest in neuroscience,

By rabinder h

Aug 15, 2015

Dear Professor

One of the best courses online particularly in Neurotechnology!

Got to work really hard !

Thank you

Rabinder Henry

By Mohammed L

Sep 26, 2015

Amazing course.

Wonderful scientist teaching.

Course should be open all the time for the people to take up any time and learn.

By Miguel D

Jul 30, 2020

An amazing experience. I learned so much and this course is from 2013. We are all waiting for you professor. Again thank you

By Mauricio G S

Apr 30, 2020

UN EXCELENTE CURSO, AUNQUE ME COSTÓ UN POCO PORQUE TENÍA QUE ESTAR TRADUCIENDO, PERO LO RECOMIENDO AMPLIAMENTE. SALUDOS.

By Marcos H N A

Mar 2, 2020

Excellet couse and teacher. Very important for my formation. I like make the course. Thank´s for the oportunity. Marcos

By Elad Y

Sep 28, 2020

Amazing course, I think it will be great to have some more advanced courses to continue this great introduction course

By Semyon L

Sep 26, 2020

Brilliant course. I was already interested in the subject when I took it, and the course lived up to all expectations.

By Fenando G V

Apr 21, 2021

Excellent! Surprised by the quality of the contents and the instructor. Enjoyed a lot. Really, really, excellent!!!!

By Mohamed A

Jun 11, 2017

Great Professor and scientist. I really enjoyed his way to explain concepts with a lot of spontaneity and passion !

By Roberto R

Oct 30, 2015

the best teacher I ever met in 50 year of study...I wish one day I can meet You. Thanks for Your wanderful teaching

By Dmitry

Feb 17, 2019

Great course. Great content. Great delivery, except reading from slides by another professor in one of the weeks.

By Nana P

Mar 15, 2021

This is the BEST course I've ever taken both offline and online. Prof. Segev you are a reallllyyy great teacher.

By Joffer P G

Jun 26, 2019

"This is an amazing course and help me a lot". The professor is an excelent and brilliant to teach neuroscience.

By Chaker I

May 1, 2020

Very informative, very insightful. Thank you coursera and Dr. Idan Segev for providing such an amazing course.