Chevron Left
Back to System Administration and IT Infrastructure Services

Learner Reviews & Feedback for System Administration and IT Infrastructure Services by Google

4.7
stars
16,538 ratings
3,133 reviews

About the Course

This course will transition you from working on a single computer to an entire fleet. Systems administration is the field of IT that’s responsible for maintaining reliable computers systems in a multi-user environment. In this course, you’ll learn about the infrastructure services that keep all organizations, big and small, up and running. We’ll deep dive on cloud so that you’ll understand everything from typical cloud infrastructure setups to how to manage cloud resources. You'll also learn how to manage and configure servers and how to use industry tools to manage computers, user information, and user productivity. Finally, you’ll learn how to recover your organization’s IT infrastructure in the event of a disaster. By the end of this course you’ll be able to: ● utilize best practices for choosing hardware, vendors, and services for your organization ● understand how the most common infrastructure services that keep an organization running work, and how to manage infrastructure servers ● understand how to make the most of the cloud for your organization ● manage an organization’s computers and users using the directory services, Active Directory, and OpenLDAP ● choose and manage the tools that your organization will use ● backup your organization’s data and know how to recover your IT infrastructure in the case of a disaster ● utilize systems administration knowledge to plan and improve processes for IT environments...

Top reviews

CS
Aug 1, 2020

The best course so far. I feel like this course actually showed us things we would be doing day to day in the workplace. It's nice to problem solve since that will probably be a big chunk of the job.

OQ
Jan 15, 2020

This chapter is very interesting since describes a lot of the things that we have at the office running on the background but we never understood well. The material is well put together, congrats.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 3,168 Reviews for System Administration and IT Infrastructure Services

By A A

Aug 28, 2021

this is interesting and hard course in the same time. it is not like last courses in IT Support specialization. you will have final exam in week 6 . you have to revise all things you learn in last 6 week . when you study this course make sure you take note for everything because you will need them for final exam ( 3 real world cases ) in week 6

By SD

Mar 6, 2021

This was a very informative course. I do wish there were more hands on aspects (I tend to learn better that way). I especially am enjoying the Linux practice and learning ways of providing support for both systems. There was a lot to go through with this section, but knowing I can go back and read the transcripts or watch the videos is helpful.

By Andria

Oct 21, 2020

Lots of material in this course! I got a little bogged down with the directory services stuff and decided the easiest way to understand and remember it was to install it and use it, which worked like a charm. There is quite a lot covered in this section of the course and I feel like I learned a lot of new stuff without it getting repetitive.

By Jackson S

Jun 12, 2018

Was a great course, really covered Active Directory and the basics of Group Policy Objects well. Would have liked to see some more depth on server operating systems and managing these services--it is a course on system administration after all. Overall a great crash course on keeping a small company or organization's IT systems up and running.

By Gayle L W

Jan 16, 2020

Wow! This course was really both challenging and informative... it covered so much about today's IT infrastructure services. I feel like I really learned a lot more in depth about the most current IT business processes and practices I previously only had a general understanding of because I haven't actually done hands-on IT for many years.

By Chan S C

Sep 30, 2020

I did not think that I was able to get through the Active Directory tests and was pleasantly surprised that I managed to get 80% and 100% respectively. Quite difficult to understand but somehow do-able. This course allows me to see the importance of having a competent system administrator within an organisation for it to function optimally.

By MARVIN J E E

Nov 2, 2021

Ha sido una gran experiencia haber cursado Administración de Sistemas, ha sido para mi un reto, un paso, que me lleve a continuar aprendiendo, sin duda es área del saber que esta en constante cambio. Gracias a todos los que hacen posible el aprendizaje en con esta plataforma de Coursera. Espero tener la oportunidad de continuar adelante.

By Akinlolu M

Feb 3, 2021

I learnt a lot in this course especially the Directory services. This course has given me confidence to apply for System Administration job because the closing assignment made me to dig deeper to answer the real life experience of a System Administrator. Thanks to Google Management for offering this valuable course to IT newbies like me.

By Rhenado S B

Aug 22, 2020

This course gives a step by step guide in using a directory service such as Active directory for centralized management, It also went though the implementation of using group policies to control access for both users and computers. Finally using a backup solution to effectively back up critical servers and files for business continuity.

By syeham s

Sep 4, 2021

Overall I really like this class because all lectures, assignments, and tests are straight forward. A couple things I dislike about the class are that there should be more opportunities for extra credit and it would be awesome if the final was an objective essay about what we have learned in this class or what we like about the class.

By Nishant K G

Apr 29, 2020

When I started this course I just had a basic knowledge about System Administration, but after completing this course I feel like I know about System Administration now, obviously, there's a lot to learn about, its a very vast field, but this course helped me build my foundations on System Administration.

Thanks, Coursera and Google!

:)

By Andrew L

Dec 7, 2020

This course really digs deep into some high-level topics; the information is laid out clearly and is broken down into digestible chunks. The Qwiklabs portion of the course is a beneficial hands-on experience with simulated work environments. This is a wonderful course that will really help deepen your knowledge of IT infrastructure.

By Mario E

Feb 27, 2020

Curso muy interesante para saber el alcance de un administrador de sistemas y todas sus funciones, desde elegir el tipo de almacenamiento de ficheros, configurar el servidor de correo electrónico, mantener el directorio activo o ser capaz de generar las copias de seguridad y los métodos de recuperación de datos en caso de desastre.

By Neirit M

Aug 18, 2021

I would rate this course pretty high in terms of what other courses I have done so far. I consider the topic of concern to be very important to my life and I am very happy with the accomplishments that I have made. This course was really good at combining fun with the labs to the hard work of the actual material itself. Well done.

By SOURAV D S

Oct 1, 2020

The instructor was so nice to learn. its our good opportunity to learn this course & heartiest thanks to the instructor for providing your valuable times. thank you

To learn about basic things of the course. This course helped me a lot.

Yeah, i love this course and the instructors also, without them we could not make it. Thank you

By Thomas M

Sep 16, 2020

This was the most theoretical course in this Professional Certificate, but beside a deep dive in services, I felt it brought everything from the previous courses together very nicely. Overall this is as good as it gets when it comes to online courses, just as well structured, informative and well delivered as the previous ones.

By Lloyd W

Jun 13, 2020

This was a great opportunity for me to learn about system Administration in two weeks. Since I am at home because of pandemic , it was a good time for me to learn a new skill, and brush up my old skills. Google System Administration course was a great course and I highly recommended to everyone at home because of pandemic.

By Brock A

May 7, 2019

So much content, it was difficult to dissect it all. However, the information was great, and I loved the labs that gave good hands on practice. I would have liked to learn how to set up servers from scratch, and to build an infrastructure from the ground up, but most of those pieces were certainly present in this course.

By Kevin L

Apr 15, 2021

This section definitely had some denser material going into Active Directory, but, I think it was presented in a way that made it seem less daunting. I am not sure if my career will take me into this type of deployment, but, I am prepared with a good foundation to continue learning if I choose to go that way! Thank you!

By glen j

Jan 20, 2021

My favorite course so far, the Final Exam is stressful, but so rewarding. It allowed me to be so creative in finding solutions to complex problems which will arise everyday, wherever you choose to work. Problems will always change so our solutions will need new creative approaches in order to adapt to newer technologies

By Joseph R G

Apr 20, 2019

The QwikLABS need better documentation in the screenshots. There is a lot of supplemental reading which makes this module the longest so far. It covered a great deal of material. Just keep pushing and you'll get through it. The labs were great once you figure out all the replications/nuances as you will learn a lot.

By Caleb M

Jun 23, 2020

A good balance of instruction and practical application, though the latter half of the course becomes a bit heavy on the instruction. Regardless, I feel I walked in to the course with a mostly ephemeral knowledge of the concepts therein and walked out with a knowledge I would now consider foundational. That's a win.

By Ahmed S

Oct 27, 2020

I really enjoyed the AD sections, I wish there was more hands-on exercises in this course. I think the value of having the VM environment (qwiklab or however you spell it) would have been a good way to teach the AD lessons. I think I have a hard time with hours of videos and then some quizzes. Where’s the hands-on?

By Brett B

May 24, 2018

This was one of the more challenging courses for me for whatever reason. I probably feel that way because the final assignment took me awhile. Everything was explained and presented in a way that was easy for me to understand. I really feel like a more confident I.T. Support Specialist where I work currently.

By Ratna M G

Oct 7, 2020

Very glad to have your companies certificate as system Administration and IT IS. it is my pleasure to learn new adventure and explore in IT field. Very much to Bhutan Government for providing as opportunist to learn and explore in IT field. and special thank goes to google team for providing as your course.