Chevron Left
Back to Foundations of Teaching for Learning: Introduction

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Foundations of Teaching for Learning: Introduction by Commonwealth Education Trust

4.6
stars
687 ratings
209 reviews

About the Course

The Foundations of Teaching for Learning programme is for anyone who is teaching, or who would like to teach, in any subject and any context - be it at school, at home or in the workplace. With dynamic lessons taught by established and respected professionals from across the Commonwealth, this eight course programme will see you develop and strengthen your skills in teaching, professionalism, assessment, and more. As you carry on through the programme, you will find yourself strengthening not only your skills, but your connection with colleagues across the globe. A professional development opportunity not to be missed. This introductory course considers the three domains of being a teacher: Professional Knowledge and Understanding; Professional Practice; and Professional Values, Relationships and Engagement. Enhance your course by joining the Commonwealth teaching community on our website, Facebook and Twitter....

Top reviews

MC
May 17, 2020

Very informative and eye opening. As long as you keep an open mind and fresh perspective, you will definitely learn a lot. In fact, it might even change a person's philosophy and teaching philosophy.

MG
Oct 3, 2015

Thanks a lot Coursera! Appreciation Commonwealth Education Trust. Thank you dear Professor John MacBeath and everybody contributing to the development and running this wonderful experience for us.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 206 Reviews for Foundations of Teaching for Learning: Introduction

By jallu v

Sep 9, 2020

Good work

By VIVEKANAND S

Jun 18, 2020

very nice

By Miriam A B

May 15, 2017

muy bueno

By Diego A P G

Apr 3, 2017

Excellent

By Elizabeth H

Nov 14, 2016

It´s nice

By bak

Feb 7, 2016

Excellent

By Deleted A

Oct 30, 2016

goood!!!

By Luana A F C

Mar 28, 2016

Awesome!

By Raju B

Nov 2, 2015

Its good

By Laura P M L

Jun 22, 2017

Thanks!

By Mohammed K H M

Jan 6, 2021

great

By Susan H

Feb 13, 2019

W

By Catheron R

Aug 28, 2018

A

By Daniel F J

May 14, 2016

The content in this course is a very good introduction to educational theory and practice.

There is just one aspect I philosophically disagree with, yet this is a pivotal point in education. The course assumes that Education is a way to change behaviour (as an external factor)

Yet I am more inclined to the philosophy of: Education is to lift man up from the animal state; and by this uplift man will change his own relationship with the world (internal factor).

The theory and practice given in this course are still valuable though, regardless of this difference in viewpoint.

By Kira

Dec 28, 2015

Many great thought-provoking concepts of learning theory introduced here. The course is easy to follow, although the the quizzes sometimes contained questions that didn't seem connected to anything discussed in the videos - but I could have missed something, I suppose. I recommend listening at x1.25 speed because the professor has a very ponderous style of speaking.

By Yulia D

Oct 28, 2017

The course was really useful. The only thing that I consider necessary to mention is that the criteria for peer-reviewing are a bit vague. Everyone apparently understand them slightly (and sometimes not so slightly) differently and it seems to create significant differences in the ways essays are written and graded by peers.

By heather l

Nov 17, 2015

Certainly for self-teachers, disciplined people who want to go the extra step. Really nice contextualizing, not too difficult in terms of time or content but certainly stimulating. Forms a nice basis for continuous improvement and self -reflection for those of use who were not trained to do so in a more formal setting.

By Sandra G

Apr 22, 2016

Really well put together course, easy to get into, but certainly not to underestimate... the work load of 3-4 hours per week is easily reached, as there's loads of interesting material to go through and the test's at the end are impossible to get through, if you haven't followed the program fully.

By Ritesh G

Apr 28, 2020

This course is really good. It makes a great foundation on thinking , learning , teaching and evolution. Well organised , researched and thoughtful content. I certainly recommend this course for Teaching Profession.

By Chew X Y

Mar 6, 2016

this course is interesting and taught me alot. However, i have finsihed the course and i hope i would be able to attain my certficate as soon as possible or immediately as i need this for my university application

By Nichelle L

Sep 7, 2020

Interesting topics that are helpful for new teachers. The projects help by making you think about the material in relation to your classroom. I found the peer-reviewing process hit-and-miss.

By Ron C

Mar 7, 2020

I learned a lot from the lectures. The essay grades should not be solely based on peer review. There should be instructor input on the essay grade as well.

By Grace J C

Jun 23, 2020

very good course. it focuses more around reflecting on your ideas about education, as opposed to teaching you concrete teaching techniques

By Yiqiao N

Jan 15, 2020

This course was solid grounding for an education industry professional with little formal experience in teaching.

By Farah J

Nov 8, 2016

The fact that the essays was peer reviewed made me skeptical about the credibility of this course.