Chevron Left
Back to Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice by Universiteit Leiden

4.8
stars
3,001 ratings

About the Course

Delve into the research behind terrorism as you unpack the assumptions and impacts of both terrorism and counterterrorism. Terrorism has arguably been one of the defining factors of our age. It frequently makes headlines, threatening or attacking governments, private businesses, and ordinary citizens. In many parts of the world, it has been one of the most important threats to peace, security, and stability – but what does this mean exactly? On this six-week course from Leiden University, you’ll explore the essence of terrorism and discover why it is so difficult to define. Unpacking its history and the theory of the waves of terrorism, you’ll analyse both the theoretical approaches and practical applications of terrorism and counterterrorism in the real world. There are many assumptions that cloud the subjects of terrorism and counterterrorism. These myths are often created and intensified by individual bias, the government, and the media. On this course, you’ll discover different assumptions about terrorist identities and motivations, as well as the efficiencies of various counterterrorism efforts. You’ll then compare this with academic research to investigate the truth behind these assumptions. In your exploration of the impact of terrorism, you’ll delve into the culture of fear created by terrorism, as well as the success of counterterrorism policies to limit and manage its impact on society. In the final stage of this course, you’ll reflect on trends and developments in terrorism and counterterrorism. You’ll assess current academic research as well as what could be studied in the future to help....

Top reviews

PR

Aug 28, 2021

Not all the reading materials are opening. The course content is old . There is a need for new and latest issues to be included in the course. There is also a need for advance level of another course.

JM

Nov 29, 2022

Very informative and thorough overview of the Terrorism-Counterterrorism literature. The literature is presented in a well organized manner making it easy to follow from the assigned readings.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 714 Reviews for Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

By Valentina P S C

Oct 3, 2017

Excelente curso, te da las nociones basicas que se deben tener sobre el terrorismo tanto en la actualidad como en su historia.

By Margaux T

Sep 19, 2021

Very interesting & insightful, and the course went far more into depth than I expected from an online course, which is great!

By Stanica E

Nov 8, 2020

It sets a solid ground for further research and motivates practicians to come closer and better communicate with researchers.

By Diean I D R

Aug 12, 2016

This is a wonderful course. I obtained all the knowledge necessary to start working in this field of International Relations.

By Derek T

Sep 15, 2020

A good introductory course for beginners, and a refresher and knowledge enhancement course for experienced CT practitioners.

By Daniil B

Apr 7, 2020

Very interesting and deep course. It dramaticly changed my view on terrorism and the study of terrorism. Strongly recommend!

By Henrik B

Aug 21, 2018

Super introduction to modern terrorism, with explanations to how LE and other institutions perceive and mitigate terrorists.

By Josh G

Jun 16, 2017

Excellent course, incredibly interesting and really a very useful insight particularly with the way our world is currently

By Marietjie J

Oct 23, 2015

A most interesting and insightful course. The quizzes challenge the student, and give opportunity for individual thinking.

By Judy R

Oct 21, 2020

The course is really difficult but I learned a lot. I hope to take more courses with such profound research. Thank you!

By Miriam E G

Feb 13, 2018

Muy buen curso. Aclara todos los preconceptos. Muy buen material y lecturas sugeridas para seguir aprendiendo. Gracias

By Veritatem C

Jul 1, 2021

Muito bom. O Curso nos oferece uma oportunidade para conhecer o assunto e esclarecer muitos pontos obscuros do tema.

By Jeff W

Mar 27, 2020

I learned a great deal during this course and really appreciate all the hard work/time that went into creating it.

By Josefina G

Nov 24, 2019

Excelente curso, lo recomiendo totalmente a aquellos que estudian ciencias políticas o relaciones internacionales.

By Alexandru M G

Dec 6, 2018

Very professionally taught, a great variety of topics, not easy to pass, lean for life ! I strongly recommend it !

By Lorenzo A

Feb 11, 2016

The lectures are very clear and the readings extremely interesting, including many articles written by top experts

By R B

Jan 18, 2021

Excellent course that opens your mind to the word of counterterrorism and the terrorist groups that are in play.

By Lucio A M

Sep 26, 2020

Excellent course! Professors Edwin Bakker and Jeanine de Roy van Zuijdewijn conducted the subject in superb way.

By Tulika K

Jul 7, 2020

I really enjoyed doing this course and i learnt a lot of things. Im sure this is going to help me in the future.

By Rodolfo Q

Sep 1, 2019

Fantastic course. I learned incredible concepts. Incredible content. Great instructor, extremely well qualified.

By William

Nov 10, 2022

I really liked this one - the reading material was very intresting, do put in the effort of reading everything.

By ABHIJEET S

Jun 22, 2020

THIS COURSE IS SO INFORMATIVE AND HELPS TO LEARN A LOT ABOUT THE BASICS OF THE TERRORISM AND COUNTER-TERRORISM.

By Jacob K

Dec 28, 2018

Great theoretical foundation for everyone interested in the field of terrorism and counterterrorism! Excellent.

By Amine D

Sep 18, 2017

Very interesting course, I have a new vision of terrorism and counter-terrorism after completing this course.

By Hareesh H

Jul 1, 2020

I enjoyed this course thoroughly. It gave me new insights into this domain which is comparatively new to me.