Chevron Left
Back to Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice by Universiteit Leiden

4.8
stars
2,748 ratings
660 reviews

About the Course

Terrorism has arguably been one of the defining factors of our age. It frequently makes headlines, threatening or attacking governments, private business and ordinary citizens. And in many parts of the world, it has been one of the most important threats to peace, security and stability. But what does this exactly mean? What is the nature of this threat? Who or what is threatened, how, by whom and why? What can be done about it or how can we at least limit the impact of terrorism and make sure that terrorists do not make headlines and manage to scare us? These are just a handful of questions that will be addressed in this course that consists of three parts. First it focuses on the essence of terrorism as an instrument to achieve certain goals, in addition to an exploration of this phenomenon and the difficulties in defining it. The second part provides an overview of the state of the art in (counter) terrorism studies. Since ‘9/11’ terrorism studies have grown exponentially, reflecting the rise in perceived threats. But what has academia come up with? What theories, assumptions and conventional wisdom has it produced that could be of help in understanding terrorism and dealing with it? The most interesting results are examined and compared with empirical evidence with the aim to either stress their importance or to debunk them as myths. The final part looks into the implications and possibilities for policy making. The course ends with a module specifically designed to address one of today's most topical issue: the foreign fighter phenomenon....

Top reviews

WM
Feb 24, 2021

Among the most informative courses i have taken, the material and videos provided are so detailed and specific to this field. I would recommend it to anyone with an interest matters terrorism.

LZ
May 22, 2016

This excellent, balanced course uses a great combination of concise videos and additional reading. I enrolled hoping to better understand this hot-topic and Prof. Bakker's course was perfect.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 640 Reviews for Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

By Sonia R G

Jan 5, 2021

I found the course very interesting and useful. I really recommend it to everyone interested in terrorism!

By Eric H

Jun 16, 2018

This course is simply AMAZING! Wish they had more and that one could pursue a degree via distance learning.

By Niels G

Nov 6, 2015

Very interesting topic given by an excellent lecturer. Readings and course video's complement one another.

By Jovana B

Oct 21, 2015

My first course here on Coursera and I am completely satisfied with both the lectures and the professor.

By Tomek C

Feb 25, 2016

It's a good introduction. Being green in this subject, it really changes my understanding of terrorism.

By Meghan C

Jun 4, 2020

Very good course. A lot of useful information and a great subject to take in todays globalized world.

By Tomasz M

Dec 1, 2018

Fantastic Fantastyczny kurs! Polecam kazdemu kto chce wiedziec wiecej na temat terroryzmu.

Regards

Tom

By Galen J R

Mar 7, 2016

A very in-depth skim of the beginning of a new trend in study and how we view another uneasy subject.

By Maria A

Oct 22, 2017

Thank you for the course, it was very interesting! Where I can find my certification of this course?

By Romain H

Aug 9, 2015

Extremely clear and well presented course. Congratulations to the team who made such a good course.

By Lucia G

Jul 2, 2020

I highly recommend this course if you are interested in the terrorism and counterterrorism topic.

By Wallace G

May 9, 2019

An excellent course. I would highly recommend it to anyone interested in the counter - terrorism.

By Paul M

Mar 16, 2019

The course is not only an eye opener, full of reflections and knowledge.I recommend this course.

By Kumar R

Jun 6, 2020

very useful and well elaborated core for the individual who are interested in terrorism studies.

By Ivan M

Feb 16, 2019

Great and interesting course for learn more about terrorism, his history and the situation today

By Patrick P T

Sep 7, 2015

A great overview and introduction to the theory and practice of terrorism and counter-terrorism.

By Henk K

May 25, 2020

A really well organised training which I really enjoyed! A big compliment for all contributors!

By Cassio F r

Feb 23, 2018

A very interesting course for anybody who wants to understand the reasons of terrorism nowadays

By Cathy G

Jan 1, 2016

This will answer many questions you have about what is going on these days regarding terrorism.

By JIM B

Nov 20, 2017

Excellent course, well presented somewhat challenging which is exactly what I was looking for.

By Carey J

Aug 31, 2017

Thought provoking and interesting course which was presented exceptionally well. Worth taking

By Christoph J

May 5, 2016

Edwin Bakker did a great course. If you are interested in (Counter-)Terrorism Studies, enroll.

By PRAKASH P

Sep 2, 2015

Thank you! Prof. & TA's .. Awesome Course to give good Foundation to Understand the Concepts.

By Bonny O O

Jun 2, 2020

Great course and the videos and materials were very helpful and will continue to be helpful.

By Nolen J

May 15, 2017

Excellent course, especially for an introduction to scholarly research sources on the topic.