Chevron Left
Back to Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice by Universiteit Leiden

4.8
stars
2,813 ratings
678 reviews

About the Course

Terrorism has arguably been one of the defining factors of our age. It frequently makes headlines, threatening or attacking governments, private business and ordinary citizens. And in many parts of the world, it has been one of the most important threats to peace, security and stability. But what does this exactly mean? What is the nature of this threat? Who or what is threatened, how, by whom and why? What can be done about it or how can we at least limit the impact of terrorism and make sure that terrorists do not make headlines and manage to scare us? These are just a handful of questions that will be addressed in this course that consists of three parts. First it focuses on the essence of terrorism as an instrument to achieve certain goals, in addition to an exploration of this phenomenon and the difficulties in defining it. The second part provides an overview of the state of the art in (counter) terrorism studies. Since ‘9/11’ terrorism studies have grown exponentially, reflecting the rise in perceived threats. But what has academia come up with? What theories, assumptions and conventional wisdom has it produced that could be of help in understanding terrorism and dealing with it? The most interesting results are examined and compared with empirical evidence with the aim to either stress their importance or to debunk them as myths. The final part looks into the implications and possibilities for policy making. The course ends with a module specifically designed to address one of today's most topical issue: the foreign fighter phenomenon....

Top reviews

PR
Aug 28, 2021

Not all the reading materials are opening. The course content is old . There is a need for new and latest issues to be included in the course. There is also a need for advance level of another course.

WM
Feb 24, 2021

Among the most informative courses i have taken, the material and videos provided are so detailed and specific to this field. I would recommend it to anyone with an interest matters terrorism.

Filter by:

576 - 600 of 660 Reviews for Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

By Philippe B

Sep 5, 2016

Very good courses for someone who want to understand the basics of

Terrorism and Counterterrorism. Only thing I would suggest to improve the course will be to be more up date with the latest event on terrorist attack in Europe.

By Daniel d M B

Oct 30, 2016

Muy buen curso para los que quieran conocer más y aprender a analizar correctamente el fenómeno del terrorismo. Mi única pega es que no haya un certificado de haber superado el curso gratuito, como otros cursos que sí lo tienen

By Kevin T

Apr 4, 2019

Excellent Very Focused on the academic research perspective and utilizes the most reading of any terrorism MOOC courses out there. Well worth the time especially for those who enjoy learning from a European perspective.

By Luis J S H

Oct 1, 2017

Muy interesante. Visión general sobre el estado del arte en investigación y práctica y revisión de las principales ideas preestablecidas por la sociedad. Aporta una visión rigurosa a la situación actual al respecto.

By Ludmila V d R

Sep 12, 2016

Due to the new wave of attacks in Europe, I believe the subject of this course is pretty important. Therefore, it would be great if Prof. Bakker could review some of the lessons given that are out of date.

By Diego A C v

Apr 12, 2017

es un curso excelente y muy entretenido para realizarse, el único inconveniente es que mejoren la cuestión de los subtítulos que acompañan los videos ya que no todos se encuentran disponibles en Español.

By Octavian C

Nov 8, 2015

The course is good and offers some interesting insights into the current state of things regarding terrorism, as well as a glimpse in the mindset of the terrorists and terrorist organizations.

By Kenzie C

Aug 19, 2015

A lot of reading is needed which, on one hand, is beneficial to the students but on the other can be exhausting as well. Anyway, I had a great time and gain a better perspective on terrorism.

By Nilesh W

Oct 4, 2016

Wonderful course especially for beginners. Very much informative easy to understand. Videos are very interactive and keeps one engaged. Would like to do further courses in this area.

By Alejandro L E

Sep 29, 2015

Very objective, theoretical and empirical point of view of terrorism. Very clear explanations and very interesting lectures added about the subject. Very recommendable

By Mohammed A T

Aug 20, 2015

Very interesting. May need permanent updates, for instance through short addition video lectures.

Course transcripts are really useful, in particular when translated!

By Jaures I W

Jun 30, 2020

Great course material. It is comprehensive even to beginners such as me. the only problem is the dynamic nature of the subject that may render it obsolete.

By Johann D

Dec 6, 2020

Quelques soucis de traduction , néanmoins la formation demande bcp de travail et donc n'est pas volé

réactualiser les liens des lectures serait intéressant

By Jonathan T

Apr 25, 2020

Good course. But some of the reading material is not available online. Also, after 4 or 5 years, it probably needs an update to tackle more recent events.

By Ngomo Y

Sep 24, 2016

Ce cours m'a permis d'avoir une meilleure perspective en ce qui concerne les concepts de terrorisme et de contre-terrorisme.

Je le recommande vivement!

By Sarah S

Jul 16, 2016

A lot of information and very well presented. May need some updating to reflect the quickly changing landscape of terrorism. Thanks for a great course!

By Agnès L

Jan 31, 2018

Great course, really clear en interesting. Mostly research centered.

I liked the last added courses with examples and i would have like more of those.

By Wellington R

Oct 31, 2015

Excellent course, give us a great idea what is the studies about terrorism and show us how many we are far from a scholar research here in Brazil.

By Kam L

Jul 10, 2021

It provides a workable definition of terrorism and counterterrorism with an in depth study of myths, truths, and future research/policy options.

By Aren F

Jun 19, 2017

Another excellent course. My hope in the future is a follow up be done with greater focus on counter terrorism training tactics and procedures

By Robson C S

Feb 21, 2019

The course is five star, but the fact that terrorism does not yet have a global definition make the chance to learn more about it very harder.

By Ray C

Oct 5, 2015

While making the case that theory and practice do not much up, more could be said about current practices, both effective, and non-effective.

By Sean W

Mar 22, 2020

I never really thought about causes and reasons behind terrorism and these sorts of activities. Certainly gave me something to think about.

By Clara M V L

Oct 7, 2016

Excelente curso, con fundamento histórico. La única crítica es que deberían actualizar ciertos contenidos con la realidad mundial al 2016

By Merete H

Sep 14, 2015

Fantastic course. Though the message is clear, some statistic numbers are a lot of out date.

It's been an eyeopener for me in many ways.