Chevron Left
Back to The Science of Well-Being

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Science of Well-Being by Yale University

4.9
stars
32,780 ratings
11,605 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will engage in a series of challenges designed to increase your own happiness and build more productive habits. As preparation for these tasks, Professor Laurie Santos reveals misconceptions about happiness, annoying features of the mind that lead us to think the way we do, and the research that can help us change. You will ultimately be prepared to successfully incorporate a specific wellness activity into your life. THE SCIENCE OF WELL BEING WAS PRODUCED IN PART DUE TO THE GENEROUS FUNDING OF THE DAVID F. SWENSEN FUND FOR INNOVATION IN TEACHING....

Top reviews

SS

Aug 21, 2020

Amazing course and amazing instructor. The environment and vibes throughout were positive and helped me feel much happier and understand much more about looking at life through different perspectives.

KV

Jun 14, 2020

This course helped me think of news ways to think and new ways to reach certain goals that I would have not thought about. It's kind of long but I was interested and completed the course feeling good.

Filter by:

476 - 500 of 10,000 Reviews for The Science of Well-Being

By Vandana S

Jul 8, 2020

I found this course highly engaging. I would recommend it to anyone who is looking to make concrete changes in their lifestyle along with a permanent shift in routine & habits. This course gave me the space to take a step back & re-evaluate my life to see how exactly I am spending my days. I was able to identify dysfunctional patterns of behaviour & I know I am on the right path to improving my overall well-being. The video content was planned & executed meticulously over ten weeks without being overwhelming or information overload. Thank you for making this course accessible to people all over the world.

By Marguerite V

Jun 6, 2020

The Science of Well-Being was an interesting, enlightening course not only for the young students attending Yale and other universities just entering the world of career and life choices but for those who have been traversing in that world for quite some time.

This course has the necessary information to guide us through what beliefs are thought to be what is wanted, to what beliefs we really should have to live a happier life and improve its well-being.

Thank you to Dr. Santos for providing an informative and illuminating course about a topic that is very healthy and very common sense. Very enjoyable.

By Esme A

Apr 30, 2020

Fantastic course! This has been a great experience for me and I’ve really enjoyed this course. Having a psychology degree (obtained a long time ago), I found the experiments fascinating and it took me back to my uni days! I think understanding the science behind the ideas really cements my own thoughts and beliefs about the value of positive psychology and further encourages me to adopt focused and intentional life strategies. This ties in naturally with my other studies in therapy and I aim to share much of what I’ve learned here with clients, friends and family to help them feel happier. Thank you!

By Mónica G C S

Jan 20, 2022

Ha sido un curso estupendo, aprendí mucho a aterrizar y ver mi día a día con otros ojos, pensar en mi, cuidarme y aplicar las herramientas que nos enseñaron y aprendimos en el curso, mi vida se ha ido transformando cada día, lo que me ha permitido sentirme mejor y mucho más contenta porque he creado objetivos nuevos a corto plazo que son para mi buen vivir personal, y es algo que proyectamos; además al dedicarme al ámbito de la educación, me otorga mas formas, maneras y técnicas para transmitir. Gracias por éste magnífico curso!! Gracias Laurie Santos, Gracias Yale y a todos quienes lo hicieron posible.

By Jeanne D

May 31, 2020

This course was excellent in terms of information and format. Prof. Santos was an excellent lecturer, the videos were very helpful and informative and backed by grounded research. For me, it reinforced my upbringing and what is important to me in life. Happiness, health, gratitude are key to savoring every little moment in your life. The course was also non-threatening and I didn't feel pressured to "just get the assignment done-I wanted to do it. I took the course as an audit, and that may have made it less "pressured", however, I treated it as a graded class because the material was fascinating.

By Jess d B

Jun 26, 2020

Absolutely loved this course. Very engaging professor, who knows her stuff is enthusiastic about her field. Loved how we saw some interacting between her and her students as in that way we were are part of the class in a way too. Well worked out material, fun if you like scientific data of psychology and overall an asset to your own Well-Being. TheRewirement Challenges in this course give you something to think about and work on and really let you pause your life for a moment and revalue your life choices. Interesting to see the input of peers thu the discussion platform. Overall can really recommend!

By Julie Q

Dec 16, 2020

Fantastic content! Learn what research shows makes a positive difference in your feelings of happiness and well-being. The first thing you learn is what you THINK you know, and what your intuition tells you, is not correct. That's proven convincingly, leaving you open to absorb what really DOES work. A simple, effective strategy is presented for creating new habits (WOOP) and the last 4 weeks of the class are dedicated to allowing you to focus on that new habit. This class made a measurable difference in my "happiness score" and I feel confident I can continue to add new, healthy habits to my life.

By Suzanne P

May 20, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed taking this course. It was my first "online" extended learning experience. At first, I thought it would be difficult to manage incorporating the rewirements into my daily routine. However, through the data and showing us how to start simple and then keep working on them each day, made the process more managable. I also believe this was a perfect time to take a course like this given the current events of the COVID-19 pandemic. A way to not only think more positively, but to also realize you can create you own happiness with moments and experience not necessarily material items.

By Margareth V R

Sep 5, 2020

I am so grateful to Coursera, Yale University and the Doctor Laurie Santos for this opportunity. For sure I have acquainted better life quality through all the classes along this pleasant and essential course to all of us. The classes are so far more interesting than I could expect. This course should be attended by everyone, any age, any profession. This is about our happiness. And there is no subject more important than this. It is up to me and it is up to everyone. I am also committed to take the knowledge i have received here to all my friends, family and clients. Excellent! Congratulations!

By mary B

Aug 24, 2020

Loved this course and watched many of the lectures multiple times. It was the motivator that I needed to fulfill my happiness and let go of the ideas of what "really" makes me happy. I was able to value the important things that were making me happy this entire time, but I was taking them for granted and putting my focus on things that really couldn't make me happy. This was my first class with coursera and I wish there was a part two to this class because I would take it immediately. When I took my happiness scores and saw how much they improved..it was proof that this course really changed me.

By Kris O

May 21, 2020

I really appreciated this course. I have many pokers in the fire right now and it was a luxury to have to STOP multitasking and take time to learn something new. The benefit I received from this course is more than I expected. I really signed up because it was free, had YALE associated with it, and COVID-19 lockdown had just begun. I have already recommended this course to many others and feel that we would all live in a much happier state of being if more people would take the course seriously- myself included. Thank you for the course. I gained so much and hope to share that with others.

By Sanju R

Aug 29, 2020

I started the course in an effort to keep myself busy during quarantine, what I got was so much more. Lauri the professor is both engaging and lovable and I will miss her virtually!! The course is informative and there is a fair amount of reading and extra tools which are interesting. I learned about the WOOP method which i will now integrate into my life. I came away with more knowledge and I am grateful for the course. The course is only as good as the hard work you put in and what you hope to achieve from it. In a certain way it was life changing for me. Excellent use of my time. Thank you.

By Louise H

Dec 2, 2020

LOVED the course teachings of gratitude, kindness, being thankful and overall positivity/optimism as a way to live life appreciating what we have and savor it. The rewirement exercise was a great individual pursuit to improve our lives and be in charge of our own happiness and well-being. The instructor has a great way of delivering the message and encouraging all to engage to whatever amount possible to improve their lives. The self-set pace of taking the course helps fit it into your life around everything else. Highly recommend taking class to gain a healthy perspective on your own life. :)

By Anna F

Apr 23, 2020

This course was rich with different points of views to each concept, the professor was amazing at presenting the course and the entire way I found out something new which changed my perspective! My professor keeps bugging me that in order to change the world, I must first change mine - or I'll be waiting forever! This course served as a deeper meaning to this idea. Now, I've quit Instagram, Snapchat and Facebook (I was a heavy user), My studies are more efficient and I've remembered more, I'm ahead in all my classes by about a month...I could go on!

This Course has changed my life.

Thank you.

By Aryan R J

Jul 30, 2020

1) The empirical science (including the cited case studies, journals)

2) Cited applications of neuroscience in investigating some outcomes of meditation

3) Highly customizable experience (techniques to become happy), specifically, the final 'rewirement challenge'.

4) Perhaps the best part of this course was reviewing the peer submissions for the final assignment. It felt a privilege to experience, second-hand, their obstacles and outcomes.

I am usually a happy person but I became even happier after doing this course. (the co urse also introduces pre-course and post-course happiness surveys).

By Eleanor W

Jun 24, 2020

SO GOOD! Everything I learned were things that I knew were good for me, but I often forget or don't prioritize. By learning everything from a Yale professor it really validates the importance of taking care of yourself and living a healthy life. Good things to keep in mind especially when you work a stressful job in a culture that doesn't prioritize these things.

I also appreciated Lauri's sincerity and honesty. It takes courage to share your struggles with others. But because she did this, I took what she said more seriously and connected with the class on a deeper level. THANK YOU LAURI!

By Joy C

May 17, 2020

I loved this course and am grateful I had the opportunity to participate. It really helped me threw the Covid19 pandemic. Right now I am dealing with unemployment fraud. Someone decided to use my name and social security to draw unemployment while I worked threw the pandemic. I am grateful my career gives me purpose and I get to use my strong suits and strengths to help my community and society. I feel sad for others that they have to resort to behaviors that hurt others. This course gave me the resilience to work threw these obstacles and to keep a positive mindset during this time.

By Joe M

Jun 10, 2019

I read about the course (somewhere) and I just so happen to be in a funk and felt miserable. I decided to give it a shot. When I was taking the test, I realized that I was unhappy. I could feel and see a noticeable difference in my attitude as the weeks went on. I was understanding more about my self and my choices, decisions, and outlook. I understood what it takes to actually be happy. It has been 6 weeks since I finished the course and I am still applying the techniques and information to make my life better and happier. I recommend this course highly. It really does make a difference.

By Michelle M

May 3, 2022

I absolutely LOVED this course and I am so surprised (and delighted) at how much value I received from it. I celebrate my success, including in holding myself accountable to give it my best shot - which I found much easier to do than I thought I would. I also realised and akcnowledged so much of what I am already doing that was listed which enable me to "stop beating myself up".

I wished I had of selected the option to get a certificate as I now feel it would have been a great way to celebrate my achievement.

Thank you to Laurie and the team - it has been positively life changing for me.

By Vivek K

May 8, 2020

Highly recommended for anyone looking to learn the science of positive psychology. But if you're actually looking forward to being happy there's going to be a lot of intentional effort you need to put in. You won't be getting magically happy after you watch all the videos, like is the case with a good heartwarming movie. That said, this will provide an excellent framework to help you to change your lifestyle and concentrate on the most important things in life (sorry it's not what you think it is) and actually 'nudge' you to be more happier after this course. Seems to be working for me.

By Courtney V B

May 25, 2020

So good. This course truly made me happier. I knew (in theory) most everything that was presented but never had the push to incorporate it in my own life. I finished the final 4 week challenge, even though I was skeptical, and it CHANGED MY LIFE. I am happier and healthier than I ever have been, and I've decided to change focus in my career from being an employee to becoming an entrepreneur. Thank you so much for putting this course out there. If whoever is reading this review is doubting themselves on whether they should take this course - just do it - it might just change your life.

By Devika D

Sep 24, 2019

This is a brilliant course to understand both the theory and the practical tools behind the science of well-being. Professor Santos has constructed it in a way that helps you link both and helps you actually put the tools to practice and also measure over time the difference it has made to your happiness. What more can one ask for, in any learning programme: the knowledge, the tools to put the knowledge into action, the measures to see the change and the ability to do it on your own once the programme is done. Congratulations to Professor Santos for designing this exceptional course.

By Bruno T

Sep 25, 2020

I started this course firstly because I heard recommendations about it and secondly because I was interested in the scientific studies behind human well-being (and, of course, how to apply it to my everyday life). It absolutely lived up to the hype and taught me a lot of things I had not heard about, always providing reliable sources to support the information. The weekly lessons are plausible and can be done by anyone, I don't see why would you not do it and try them yourself. I would definitely recommend it to anyone seeking greater being in their lives and to apply those lessons.

By Michaela S

May 23, 2020

I thought this class was wonderful. It should be required for every senior in high school. If everyone knew what really makes one happy, what a better world we would live. Being older, I knew a lot of this content but I love the app. I feel it is necessary to not just have gratitude in your life, but to really take a moment to celebrate things. We all know when we get to the top of another mountain, there will be another one. I think it would be less of a grind if we take time to savor the accomplishment, the moment, the victory before allowing us to be push into "what's next?".