Chevron Left
Back to The Science of Well-Being

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Science of Well-Being by Yale University

4.9
stars
32,785 ratings
11,607 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will engage in a series of challenges designed to increase your own happiness and build more productive habits. As preparation for these tasks, Professor Laurie Santos reveals misconceptions about happiness, annoying features of the mind that lead us to think the way we do, and the research that can help us change. You will ultimately be prepared to successfully incorporate a specific wellness activity into your life. THE SCIENCE OF WELL BEING WAS PRODUCED IN PART DUE TO THE GENEROUS FUNDING OF THE DAVID F. SWENSEN FUND FOR INNOVATION IN TEACHING....

Top reviews

AA

Jan 12, 2021

This course really helped me a lot, I am grateful with Laurie Santos and her team, the people involved into this great project. The oriented me into understanding valuable states of being and actions.

GK

Jun 2, 2019

I have taken a dozen courses online. This is the most challenging and fulfilling course I have taken so far. And I believe that the course shall be beneficial to all people in different walks of life.

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 10,000 Reviews for The Science of Well-Being

By fr s

Jun 1, 2020

I am extremly happy today and feel really grateful to coursera for having such courses online. it has really helped me or i would put it an eye-opener whereby i learnt to express my gratitude to others. In appreciating others and acknowledging their small or big service done to me makes me within greater and stronger to commit myself socially united with openness and sincerity without any relectance and hesitation. the gratitude journal enabled me to make it as my attitude and behaviour to become better and authentic human person in word and deed byand boundaries and time period.

By SALEHA L

May 31, 2020

IT IS VERY BENEFICIAL TO TAKE THIS COURSE ESPECIALLY IN THIS PANIC, PANDEMIC AND LOCK DOWN CONDITIONS. IT CHANGES YOUR THOUGHTS, MOOD , MENTAL AND PHYSICAL HEALTH IN A POSITIVE WAY. I ENJOYED THE WHOLE COURSE VERY MUCH ESPECIALLY THE LECTURES FROM INSTRUCTOR'S LIVING ROOM :). I RECOMMEND EVERYONE TO TAKE THIS COURSE NO MATTER EITHER YOU ARE A STUDENT OR A TEACHER. OR YOU MAY BELONG TO ANY AREA OR ANY FILED, BUT HAPPINESS IS AN INNATE EMOTION. SO INCREASE YOUR HAPPINESS BY TAKING THIS COURSE. AND USE YOUR FEELINGS IN A MORE POSITIVE WAY. SO, ENROLL QUICKLY.

GOOD LUCK

HAPPY LEARNING

By Earl S

Feb 1, 2021

My happiness score actually did go up but I forgot to compare. The rewirements helped me examine sleep properly and figure out what I need to change. I didn't really know myself according to the science. I didn't know I was miswanting. I feel like the data on marriage was new to me. I will try to work on my social connections. I think before the course I missed a lot of nuances staring at me in everyday life, but now I have an idea what to look for. I'm not saying the course was perfect because we are striving towards relative perfection, but I have to say Thank You, Dr. Santos.

By Sophie H

Sep 8, 2020

Laurie presents a course full of scientifically-backed lectures outlining the misconceptions we have around what we think will make us happy. We learnt about the theory of miswanting, and how we want things because we think they'll make us happy, but they don't. It was refreshing to find out about the things that really make us happy and how we can improve our lives in simple ways.

Thank you, Laurie. Your delivery and evidence-based lectures were really motivating and inspiring. I would highly recommend this course to anyone wanting to better their lives and the lives of others!

By Sunil T T

Jul 8, 2020

The advantages of doing this course in my opinion includes improving my self-learning & deeper understanding of the subject backed by latest research along with most relevant case studies. One Big thing for me is about rethinking the defaults of constant busyness and distraction I can focus on what matters every day. After weeks of hard work & multiple iterations in my routines, it was all worth the focus and efforts. Special thanks to Prof. Laurie Santos. Hope that wherever you are, you have a chance to relax and spend quality time with your loved ones. And above all - Be Well

By Sofia N

Jun 6, 2020

Absolutely loved the course and got so much out of it - thank you! It was comprehensive, well thought out, assessments enhanced the learning and ultimately resulted in a habit for well-being. The only minor comment I would make is on the marking rubric - there should be more scope in marking eg: instead of only giving the option of 0 or 2, give the option for 0,1,2 because the range and quality of answers even within those scoring 7/7 is quite marked - some answers are so comprehensive while others simply answer the question. Again thank you for the opportunity, very valuable!

By Cheryl T

May 5, 2020

The course offers students an opportunity to "stop and smell the roses," and to take the time to evaluate and appreciate the good things in one's life. In other words, it makes "counting blessings" a daily event. Professor Santos is a wonderful instructor, and although the course is taught online, her warmth and kindness shine through. I recommend this class to anyone in search of more meaning, in life. But, beware -- it is just a start. The real work of creating a happier life begins when the class is over, but Professor Santos offers enough tools to set you on your way.

By Nelly M C S

Mar 6, 2019

EXCELENTE CURSO, EXCELENTE FACILTADORA ESTOY FELIZZZ MUY FELIZZZ DE HABERLO CULMINADO Y DE HABER ADQUIRIDO EL HABITO DE MEDITAR QUE ME COSTABA HACERLO POR MAS DE 4 SEMANAS ESTUVE AQUI EN ESTE CURSO QUE ME DEJO UNA EXPERIENCIA SUMAMENTE MARAVILLOSA APRTE DE DARME LAS HERRAMIENTAS NECESARIAS PARA TRANSMITIR LO APRENDIDO Y PODER AYUDAR A OTROS EN LA BUSQUEDA DE LA FELICIDAD Y BIENESTAR. gRACIAS INFONITAS A LA PROFESORA LAURIE SANTOS A SU EQUIPO Y POR SU PUESTO A COURSERA POR LA OPORTUNIDAD DE PERMITIRME INGRESAR AL CURSO CULMINARLO CON EXITO Y ENTREGARME TAN VALIOSO CERTIFICADO

By My L

Jul 16, 2021

Thank you for the course "The science of well-being" that allows us to delve into some concepts that positive psychology contributes to increase the well-being of people. Putting what you have learned into practice is a great challenge on a personal level, working to have a meaningful life, the importance of gratitude, connecting with others, savoring, taking care of sleeping habits, exercising, practicing meditation; experience it to pass it on to others. It has been a great experience to be part of this new way of learning and more in times like the ones we live in today.

By Joan P

May 4, 2021

Laurie Santos is AMAZING! Although I did have high hopes for this course--after all, it's Yale!--I feared it might be just a tad too touchy feely. Instead, I was inundated with scientific research backing up the feel good recommendations. I learned so much and was able to adapt my own behavior to the extent that my happiness level increased over the 10 week period. I've told so many people about the course, sharing tidbits from week to week on the amazing scientific studies. I would give more stars if I could:

*****************************************************************

By Sir T P

Jul 26, 2020

I have to say I almost unrolled after the first test because my score was so low. I almost gave up.But I hung in there and listened to Lauri discuss thing like miswanting ,good grades . I took some of those principles and applied them and saw myself not just wanting to pass, but to enjoy the experience of learning and savoring. ...along with learning and passing.

Thanks for the opportunity to study here." I came out of this a better person,not better than anyone else,but better than I used to be ...yet not as good as Im going to get."

Again thank you.

Respectfully Tod A Parker

By JAGANATH P M

Jun 15, 2020

The Science of well being course is a whole new thing for researchers like us who are attached to evidence based work and theory. Through the attributed set in this course, we learned amazing aspects of our lives and designing it in a new way. Rewirement challenges are attributes I intend to prolong for time to come, as it indeed assists us in looking at our current lifestyle in a totally different outlook and on a larger scale of perception. I thank the whole team for guiding us through these wonderful sessions and look forward to gain more insights in future from them.

By Rini H

Jun 13, 2020

This course impacted the quality of my own personal and professional life beyond my expectation. I was initially joining this course to help me add more depth into my professional practice as wellbeing coach. Yet somehow I found myself having more enhancement on my quality of life, physically and mentally. Things that I thought I have gain enough but apparently still have large space to grow. It takes longer for me to complete this course as I savor each progress. Thank you Professor Laurie Santos and all the discussion peers that helped me throughout pandemic isolation.

By PRAKASAM M

Sep 21, 2020

I am very HAPPY and GRATEFUL now to my organization, Coursera and Yale University and the Professor Dr. Laurie Santos and the other Visiting Professors who are all given the opportunity to not only to learn and apply in my life. Now i understood very the science behind Happiness and Well being and all the rewiring with fully supported with the research data to increase my beliefs. Now i believe strongly and continuing almost all the rewiring and making my life better on every day and all become not only habits and became the life style. Thank you very much once again.

By Jennifer F

Sep 23, 2020

The amount of research that Dr. Santos presented in a short amount of time was amazing! I feel that I have gained real life skills and information that can be easily implemented into every day life. I have shared so many jewels of knowledge with others around me since starting this course. Thank you is not enough for offering such a life changing outlook on happiness! As a widow, I am constantly struggling with finding my place since losing my husband and being solely responsible for my boys. I firmly believe this has helped me to grasp my own happiness possibilities.

By Tanaisha P

Jul 2, 2020

I am really happy how far I have come in terms of being positive in life as a whole. I have also started to love my body the way it is. This is such a life-changing course gives you insight into how our brain tricks us into believing things that lead to unhappiness, and most importantly how we can change or rewire our brain to think the right way & boost our happiness. I am going to miss this course so much and the instructor as well, her inviting and warm personality are what makes this course AMAZING. Someone who likes psychology & experiments will love this course!

By Ma. C S

Jun 2, 2020

This is my very first course under Coursera and I am beyond grateful to this community for offering this course. I thank Prof. Laurie Santos for facilitating this course. I never realized that this will have a=such a great impact in my life - personally and professionally. The Science of Well-Being helped me realized what happiness truly is. The different strategies I learned from the course guided me as I accomplished all my rewirements. My first online learning experience is truly memorable. This motivated me to enroll in other courses. I am now a life-long learner.

By Marian E

Aug 18, 2019

I loved this course Laurie !😊

I always love to uplevel my skills for improving my own happiness and well-being as it fits in with what i believe and know is my mission to help raise the happiness level on the planet.

This course has renewed my desire to get my book published and to grow this movement and mission.

Thank you for showing up at the right time in my life. I would love to connect with you outside of this course (i live in CT) and see how i can contribute more toward this movement.

This was a great course and very life affirming.

Thank you.

Marian Edvardsen

By Rhya

May 12, 2018

I like this course. I plan to implement these tips to improve the overall quality of my life. Packed with content, this course is easy to follow, understand and is relevant to the overall goal. The instructor does not just focus on happiness as a whole but on what happiness means to you as a individual. Its incredibly insightful while at the same time not offering cliche, one size fits all information. If nothing else, you will walk away from this course knowing a little more about yourself than you did before, and anything that points you towards your soul is a gift.

By Paul L S I

Dec 31, 2020

YES, I AM WRITING IN CAPS ON PURPOSE AND I WANT TO SAY THIS LOUDLY. THIS COURSE IS VITAL AND SO IMPORTANT TO OUR CULTURE GLOBALLY AND LAURIE IS A WONDERFUL INCLUSIVE NURTURING HONEST MENTOR AND INSTRUCTOR WHO ALLOWS FOR YOUR INDIVIDUALITY AND PERSONAL APPROACH & UNIQUE STRENGTHS AND TALENTS WHILE MAINTAINING HIGH-QUALITY STANDARDS AND CHALLENGING FRESH DATA THAT HELPS YOU IN YOUR ACTUAL CONTEMPORARY LIFE. TO SAY THAT I RECOMMEND THE COURSE WOULD BE AN UNDERSTATEMENT. I FEEL IT SHOULD BE A CORE REQUIREMENT IN OUR SYSTEM AND PART OF THE NATIONAL AND GLOBAL CURRICULUM.

By Rachna S

Aug 23, 2020

Ms. Laurie Santos is an amazing teacher who has explained each and every concept wonderfully with scientific evidences. Whether it was savoring, random acts of kindness, preparing the gratitude journal or doing a gratitude visit, strengthening our signature strengths, which were unknown to me before joining this course, making social connections, exercising, taking adequate sleep, meditation, a week of time affluence to enjoy and the final rewirement challenge, I have cherished each and every thing.

I owe my gratitude to Ms. Laurie Santos for this incredible course.

By Victoria F

Jul 4, 2020

Highly recommend this course to anyone. Informative and well rounded. No matter your background, this course will help you to acquire tools for progress, unlearning traits that hold you back (we all have them- apparent or not). Rewire is a great tool that I will always carry with me (and on my phone app). I now have increased my happiness, execute daily practices to combat my depression and anxiety and maintain a better relationship with friends and family.

Dr Santos and the team at YALE/COURSERA have done a stellar job in providing this course to the world! Thankyou

By Sharon C

Jul 4, 2020

This course has brought about some serious act to put in place if we want to witness happiness within us. Many of times, we say we're going to do but never do it. Going through this course helps break down the impact we see in ourselves or on others when we take that certain action. Happiness is not achieved overnight but our incremental actions will eventually lead us to the realm of happiness, and sometimes eternal happiness. (But it does take a lot of work!). And people surrounding us will benefit from it, too.

There is no easy ticket to happiness destination. :D

By Charles D Q

Jun 11, 2020

I suffer from PTSD and anxiety following several military deployments to Iraq and Afghanistan. I was looking for a way to learn how to achieve and sustain an improved state of mental health. This course helped guide me down a path to begin that journey. Using the rewirement of meditation I ventured that we all breath and using the practice of observing the breath to place the mind in the body is the closest natural process of anxiety reduction that I could imagine. It seems as though it was a good guess as I am feeling better and enjoy the control of helping myself.