Chevron Left
Back to The Science of Well-Being

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Science of Well-Being by Yale University

4.9
stars
37,468 ratings

About the Course

NEW TEEN VERSION AVAILABLE HERE: https://www.coursera.org/learn/the-science-of-well-being-for-teens In this course you will engage in a series of challenges designed to increase your own happiness and build more productive habits. As preparation for these tasks, Professor Laurie Santos reveals misconceptions about happiness, annoying features of the mind that lead us to think the way we do, and the research that can help us change. You will ultimately be prepared to successfully incorporate a specific wellness activity into your life. THE SCIENCE OF WELL BEING WAS PRODUCED IN PART DUE TO THE GENEROUS FUNDING OF THE DAVID F. SWENSEN FUND FOR INNOVATION IN TEACHING....

Top reviews

EN

May 30, 2019

I absolutely enjoyed and learned a lot about happiness from this course. I will definitely recommend it to my peers, as it gets me to the core from my misconceptions to developing the right practices.

BT

Nov 26, 2019

Loved the practical "rewiring" assignments that helped me with understanding what really makes us happy. Not only this course changed my life perspective but enriched the lives of the people around me

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 10,000 Reviews for The Science of Well-Being

By Katherine T

Feb 19, 2021

This course has changed my life in a positive way. I am grateful that I got the opportunity to participate and learn from Dr. Laurie Santos and my peers.

By Pradeep K D

Mar 29, 2020

A very good course with ample amount of empirical research and scientific strategy and rewirements to make happiness part of life of an individual.

By Ha T H F P H

Aug 15, 2020

Cảm ơn khóa học rất nhiều! Tôi đã học được nhiều chủ sở hữu và thú vị. Tôi đã thay đổi và sẽ tiếp tục thay đổi bản thân để trở nên hạnh phúc hơn.

By Ann M

Jun 19, 2020

Thank you Yale and Coursera for an amazingly uplifting and practical course where I have been able to apply what I have learnt to my real life.

By Desiree G

Sep 28, 2018

I loved taking this course, I feel better having completed it, knowing I have a few more tools in my box and new hope for the future!

By Chris s

Jun 19, 2020

I learned a lot. Great material and presentation style. Practical info that I can share with my clients!

Thanks,

Chris

By Andrew D M

May 20, 2019

Fascinating insights into subconscious vulnerabilities around happiness, and ways to recognizing and overcome them.

By Deleted A

Jul 2, 2020

Successful course to learn all happiness skills and improvement. You learn both theory but most of all practice!

By Shankha S P

Jun 19, 2020

You will feel great to know the techniques of keeping yourself mentally healthier after taking this course.

By Nisha C

Jun 18, 2020

A very valuable course if self improvement & happiness are what you're after. Excellent lectures& guidance.

By Mac M

Feb 22, 2019

A lot of "WOW"-Moments, insights into the science of happiness and how to put it in your day-to-day life.

By Robert Y

Mar 26, 2020

Excellent course. Worth every minute. I think the instructor is fantastic. She gets an A+ in my book!

By Delphine R

May 19, 2019

I've learned tones and it helped me trough hard times and for my pratice as a spychotherapist outdoor

By Natalie T W

Jul 2, 2020

I truly enjoyed this course! It helped me see things differently regarding how is happiness defined.

By Abdelrahman M

Mar 25, 2020

amazing course and an amazing honest instructor and very well documented and science backed up ideas

By Otto C

Jul 2, 2020

Definitely made me rethink about what I though would make me happy. I highly recommend this course

By Mónica M

Aug 15, 2020

Appropriate course for all people who need to reconnect habits and improve well-being in general.

By Sabrina A

Jun 19, 2020

Great course. Easily accessible, good pace and very engaging and down to earth content. Loved it!

By Andy S

Mar 26, 2020

It was very satisfying course in the right timing! Thank you for this amazing study.

By Shaun H

Mar 28, 2020

Clearly presented and a good level of challenge.

By Nomared F

Feb 20, 2021

Amazingly informative and well explained.

By Anastasia S T

Oct 1, 2019

The last 4 weeks where we implemented our choice action was anti-climactic..especially for me and maybe others who, except for one rewirement, specifically, meditation, had already implemented the other rewirements into our lives. I was disappointed. This was really a 4 week ish kind of course and without followup. I read most of my fellow-student musings and many were floundering. I know that one on one is not possible but brief Q and A's might have helped OR lectures from other experts (like me) who help people to accomplish their goals. The initial lectures were excellent, really and gave us researched-back knowledge and tools and that is where the real value lay. (as an aside, putting Yale on a pedestal and Yalies on it, did nothing for this online course but we took it with a grain of salt)

Nice job professor.. nice lecture delivery. thank you

By Megan L

Nov 25, 2018

Really interesting and useful information. Since this course is now hosted on coursera for a global audience though I would suggest the professor re-film the course with that audience in mind. We aren't all privileged college students. It would be greatly appreciated for examples to be framed with a diverse audience in mind.

By Douglas O

May 10, 2021

Frankly, I was underwhelmed. There was way too little discussion about the intensity of the conflict between the things that make humans happy and the real world context of our lives. Without this, there seems to be too little acknowledgement of the challenge facing those who want to be happy in today's world and therefore the recommendations in the course come across as rather pollyannaish. Yes, you can empty a cup of water with a spoon - but if you're confronting a tidal wave, a spoon isn't going to be all that helpful.

Much of the data and literature used in the course is quite dated. As such, I didn't have a high level of confidence that the conclusions were really supported by a wide and continuing body of literature or whether they were simply cherry-picked to support the professor's views. (I also wondered how many of the referenced social science experiments were replicable.)

The software was a bit glitchy at times. Delays in elements being marked completed, etc. Could use some improvement.

I also thought the professor waffled more than a bit on the issue of social media. If social media is really making people intensely unhappy, say so - and then ask yourself how easy it would be to attend an modern academic institution without access to social media. (And, BTW, what's Yale doing about it?)

On the upside, the price is right for this online course. If you were going to spend money, however, I would suggest purchasing "Excellent Sheep" and then really talking about the main topics in the book with a group of friends.