Chevron Left
Back to Trading Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Trading Basics by Indian School of Business

4.0
stars
1,529 ratings
402 reviews

About the Course

The purpose of this course is to equip you with the knowledge required to comprehend the financial statements of a company and understand the various transactions that take place in the stock market so that you can replicate the strategies discovered by the extant academic literature. The first part of the course provides a brief introduction to financial statements and various common filings of firms. You will learn how to obtain information regarding a company's performance from them and use the information to build trading strategies. Next, you are taught basic asset pricing theories so that you will be able to calculate the expected returns of a stock or a portfolio. Finally, you will be introduced to the actual functioning of asset markets, type of players in the market, different types of orders and the efficient ways and opportune time to execute them, trading costs and ways of minimizing them, the concept of liquidity .etc. This knowledge is required to develop efficient algorithm to execute various trading strategies....

Top reviews

UP
Jun 19, 2020

The tutor has clearly explained various concept of trading, investment and risk with examples. I have learned about finance ratio, cost, financial statement and trading.

SV
May 16, 2020

The course was taught in a really nice way with all the math presented clearly. The professor made sure that the topics were easy and at the same time relevant.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 396 Reviews for Trading Basics

By Suryansh C

Dec 3, 2020

Multiple topics have not been explained in the depth required by the quizes. Numericals that should have been available through excel are being narrated by the instructor which is the most ridiculous thing I have ever seen. I feel like this even demeans my country.the way things are taught in my country. It's just sad.

By Noor A

Jul 31, 2020

the course content is great and so are the instructors but the course is so poorly designed and poorly maintained and without any updates it is just a bad course I struggled a lot and thought if I was dumb to pass this course but I was wrong finally I made it through the discussion forum thanks to them!

By SASWAT P

Jul 23, 2020

Although the videos are very informative, the quiz has a lot of bugs. Even if I mark all answers right, the score is stuck at 60%. There are a lot of complaints in the forum but there has been no response from the team. Even after you attempt a quiz, you will not be able to see the feedback.

By Saurabh P

May 18, 2020

The course is not about trading at all. In 3 chapters teacher taught us to read financial statements and ratios which is not a part of technical analysis. In the last chapter teaching about types of order is very bad. No introduction to technical analysis at all.

By Vaibhav K

Jun 15, 2020

In Week 4 a lot of things were covered but the quiz was from last 2 videos completely when there were a total of 11-12 videos. Also, this course looks more of an investment course in first 2 weeks, then it looks like a trading course in last 2 weeks.

By Joel J

Mar 12, 2020

The material was interesting, but I found the lack of feedback on quizzes, the lack of a downloadable spreadsheet, and the apparent error on the bid-ask values on quiz 4 to be frustrating.

By Gagandeep s

Jun 19, 2020

Week 2 quiz contain many faluse, and week 3 study material is not proper in manner and there is poor understanding of week 3. And overall this course is good but contains to muny faluse.

By Yerra V S N S S

Jun 20, 2020

Content is good but the presenter (/teacher) was just reading the content from seeing it on a screen or something.It was not at all good.But the content kept me going.

By senthil M

Apr 15, 2020

The slides and the content read out do not match few times and the learner needs to listen and follow the instructor closely to avoid misinterpretation of information.

By Deleted A

Jul 28, 2020

A rare poor experience from doing a course on Coursera. Easily the worst instructor I've ever had here in my many years of using this platform. Not recommended.

By Subham K

Nov 15, 2019

The quiz questions were very difficult and different as taught in the videos.The topics should be taught with good examples not the bookish language.

By Gagan M

Jul 18, 2020

The coach read the slides and did not explain the reasoning behind the calculations. The quiz were also not very interesting except the last one.

By Humberto J G G

May 25, 2020

Weeks three and four lack explanations! Very hard to understand unless you have previous knowledge of the subject. Quizzes lack feedback!

By Traveler e

Jun 6, 2021

they never bother to answer student inquiries and from week three the course is not well explained and i tell now couldn't understand it

By Nitish G

Jul 16, 2020

I felt like I am reading a university textbook that states definitions and formulae without explaining anything or giving insights

By Renil J K

Sep 8, 2020

the first 2 weeks were extremely basic, and the last 2 weeks were quite a huge step up with respect to the level of difficulty

By Rodolfo E G

Nov 1, 2020

I would prefer to have concrete formulas instead of read value per value in a in an specific example. it was a waste of time

By vaibhav k s

May 13, 2020

This feels like a presentation rather than a course, also the slides are unreliable as they show false definitions of terms.

By Vesa M

Dec 9, 2017

Materials are poorly constructed, difficult to follow and no explanations in certain cases for the background of the numbers

By Ajeet K

Jun 10, 2020

Missing data, complex way of teaching, no or little conceptual discussion! Week $ assignment was a mess please fix that

By sharon s a

Aug 26, 2020

Last quiz has its options wrong and many of the numbers on the videos are also wrong from what it is said in the video

By Rex C

Jul 20, 2020

Lots of mistakes in the videos. Many of the concepts were not explained clearly, especially for the calculation stuff.

By EDUARDO B

May 23, 2020

Formulas y formulas pero parece que no saben que existe EXCEL y que ahí se puede hacer todo. Poco práctico el curso.

By VIKRAM K

Jun 24, 2017

Good attempt .. expect more examples and clarity .. reading out slides is not the best teaching method ..