Chevron Left
Back to Trading Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Trading Basics by Indian School of Business

4.0
stars
1,525 ratings
400 reviews

About the Course

The purpose of this course is to equip you with the knowledge required to comprehend the financial statements of a company and understand the various transactions that take place in the stock market so that you can replicate the strategies discovered by the extant academic literature. The first part of the course provides a brief introduction to financial statements and various common filings of firms. You will learn how to obtain information regarding a company's performance from them and use the information to build trading strategies. Next, you are taught basic asset pricing theories so that you will be able to calculate the expected returns of a stock or a portfolio. Finally, you will be introduced to the actual functioning of asset markets, type of players in the market, different types of orders and the efficient ways and opportune time to execute them, trading costs and ways of minimizing them, the concept of liquidity .etc. This knowledge is required to develop efficient algorithm to execute various trading strategies....

Top reviews

UP
Jun 19, 2020

The tutor has clearly explained various concept of trading, investment and risk with examples. I have learned about finance ratio, cost, financial statement and trading.

SV
May 16, 2020

The course was taught in a really nice way with all the math presented clearly. The professor made sure that the topics were easy and at the same time relevant.

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 394 Reviews for Trading Basics

By Rengan X

Apr 5, 2020

There are many errors in this course, and many math formula was not explained clearly.

By Viivi S

May 23, 2020

The instructor reads from the slides which is not very helpful with the calculations.

By Ioannis M

Dec 25, 2018

Not inspiring teaching methods,no good handouts,presentation skills.

By Sreeroop s U

Aug 2, 2020

Not explaining properly, instead going for calculations

By Manthan P

May 30, 2020

Some of the topics are not at all explained

By Vrishan

May 30, 2020

Lots of missing lectures and wrong data

By Kimberly C M

Dec 13, 2016

Kind of hard to follow. Explanation is

By Shrey S

Oct 13, 2020

The teaching was quite boring.

By Tiago S

Apr 30, 2020

Only some videos of week 1 and videos 1 to 8 of week 4 were worth it for me.

Course was badly produced.

First, Professor only limits to read slides, with little explanation and examples. The worst of all is professor reading complete formulas that no value has, unless he is reading formulas for blind people.

A lot of slides have different information from what Professor says (especially numbers).

Almost all in-video quiz/prompts are placed while professor is still speaking, which makes me losing focus of what he was saying. Also, some quiz/prompts are empty, or have no answer to give.

Part of week 1, and the entire week 2 and week 3 were worthless, with only meaningless formulas with no link to any other part of the course.

Some links, like Adicional reading from week 4 gives a "page not found" result.

I hope you can improve it.

By Mohamed M

Apr 20, 2020

material has many errors, the professor is just reading the slide and many times his words are different than the slides because of the errors. he is just spitting out the words he isn't really teachin.

there is no answers to the quizzes which led to many hours being wasted redoing them to find the right answers and many questions are just answered wrong. The learning is just bad and you get lost because he is not just teaching but reading the slides.

the course just needs improvement, i wish for the professor to put himself in the shoe of a student.

By Alexandra G V

Mar 22, 2021

To be honest the content is useful but that does not matter because is super difficult and boring to learn it. The professor only reads number after number and the formulas are not explained at all. The course is super monotonous and by the end of the week I really struggled with every quiz, so I only finished the course to take ir away from my "in-progress" section. I was really excited to learn bout trading but this wasn´t what I expected.

I didn´t learn anything.

By Michael G L

Aug 6, 2020

Sorry. Avoid this course. The quizzes are set up where it does not tell you which questions you got right or wrong. I think i did the problems right. But I didn't pass. Where are my mistakes I can work on to correct? Not a conductive course for learning. It is more like a course in college where professors weed students out from majoring in their department. Not playing this game. I just want to learn.

By Carlos C

Jun 8, 2021

Seems like good material, but the course overall is very monotonous and basic in its structure making it very hard to learn. Much better courses elsewhere. I learned more from trial and error of the quizzes than I did of the instructor reading his teleprompter.

By Nisarg J

Jul 12, 2020

This course is not at all recommended because the explanation of some of the very important topics is not at all up to the mark ! the quizzes are tough from the content that is explained in the videos.

By Daniele P

May 17, 2020

The quality of the course, in my view, is poor. Many errors in the shared data and even in the texts of exams. Too superficial on some important steps. I think the course needs a deep revision. Thanks.

By Rahul S

Nov 30, 2020

Lat week of the course was not explained well. So because of it i couldn't clear the quiz.If examples were added in the last week then it could have been much better.

By Guntashsingh S A

May 12, 2020

The prof needs to explain properly, merely speaking from the slides doesnot help in online lecture. White board could have been used to explain calculations.

By Peter M

Feb 14, 2021

No explanations, very few examples and incredibly difficult to follow. It is merely reading an autocue. Monotonous, uninspiring and full of errors. Avoid.

By CAMILA M B

Jul 5, 2020

Curso travou, faço a prova respondo aleatoriamente diversas vezes e a nota não muda, já relatei o problema e até o momento não tive nenhuma resposta.

By Dr A S

Jun 15, 2020

WORST COURSE EVER. THEY HAVE WRONG QUIZ AND THE WORST PART IS NO ONE WILL REPLY TO YOUR QUERY.

TOTAL WASTE OF TIME..

PLEASE DONT DO THIS COURSE

By Pundrikaksh S

Aug 3, 2020

Extremely unresponsive instructing staff, which glosses over explaining all the mathematical calculations that were necessary to be made.

By ANUJ T

May 2, 2020

Typical Teaching methodology. The professor is just reading the slides. Not at all satisfied with this course.

Needs to work on course.

By Pavitra A

May 15, 2020

Lessons are taught in a boring way. in the end I have to google the topics to understand it better. will not recommend thus course.

By CRISTIAN G S

Jan 15, 2021

There is no material as a pdf or ppt used in the course. Also traductións aren't correct and week 3 of the course was awful

By Piyush r

Jul 12, 2020

the lecturer is not good . bad teaching quality only read the text that will shown in ppt.