Chevron Left
Back to Transmedia Storytelling: Narrative worlds, emerging technologies, and global audiences

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Transmedia Storytelling: Narrative worlds, emerging technologies, and global audiences by UNSW Sydney (The University of New South Wales)

4.7
stars
696 ratings
243 reviews

About the Course

Transmedia storytelling is the practice of designing, sharing, and participating in a cohesive story experience across multiple traditional and digital delivery platforms - for entertainment, advertising and marketing, or social change. Have you ever read a book, seen a movie, watched a television show, or played a game that centred around different aspects of a larger story or universe? You may be familiar with popular examples of such universes like Star Wars, Marvel, and The Walking Dead (to name a few). How do the professionals develop such expansive narratives? How do they ensure that each element stays true to the original story? How do they innovatively use different technologies to share the stories, grow audiences and create an active and involved community of fans? More and more, we are also engaging with elements or franchises of larger and more complex stories across a much more diverse range of platforms like interactive web experiences, social media communities, mobile devices, theme parks, and even augmented and virtual reality. A major challenge that current and future storytellers face is being able to engage different audiences in a story that is seamlessly told across all of these different platforms. WHAT WILL I LEARN? This course will help you to design a strategy for developing and telling your own transmedia story. You will learn about what it takes to: • Shape your ideas into compelling and well structured narratives and complex story worlds • Identify, understand, and engage different audiences in your stories • Create cohesive user experiences across different platforms • Evaluate existing and emerging technologies to share your story with the world, and help your audience participate in the larger storyworld you create The course provides you with a unique, authentic, and industry relevant learning opportunity. You will have access to current theory, industry examples and advice and undertake learning activities that will equip you with the tools you need to start developing your own ideas. WHO WILL MY INSTRUCTORS BE? You will learn effective transmedia design strategies from leading UNSW Australia Art & Design academics. You will also examine case studies that demonstrate how amazing ideas, technology and audience contributions can be brought together to create dynamic storyworlds. You'll see examples of major, successful transmedia storytelling projects involving movies, digital entertainment, gaming, virtual reality and more. In collaboration with our industry partner X Media Lab, the course will give you inside access to the personal stories, insight and advice of the following innovative transmedia storytelling professionals from Hollywood USA, Canada and Australia. • Susan Bonds, 42 Entertainment, Los Angeles, USA • Flint Dille, Screenwriter, Game Designer and Novelist, Los Angeles, USA • Cindi Drennan, Illuminart, Australia • Tom Ellard, UNSW Art & Design, Sydney, Australia • Catherine Fargher, Dr Egg Digital, Sydney, Australia • Hal Hefner, 3AM Creative, USA • Brian Seth Hurst, StoryTech, Los Angeles, USA • Henry Jenkins, School for Communication and Journalism, University of Southern California, USA • Mikey Leung, Digital Storytellers, Sydney, Australia • Alex Lieu, 42 Entertainment, Los Angeles, USA • Geoffrey Long, Annenberg Innovation Lab, University of Southern California, USA • John McGhee, UNSW Art & Design, Sydney, Australia • Joseph Narai, Transmedia Entertainment, Sydney, Australia • Jeff Nicholas, The Uprising Creative, Los Angeles, USA • Sergio Paez, Graphic Artist working in animation, TV, video games, and film. Co Founder, StoryboardArt, California, USA • Steve Peters, No Mimes Media, Los Angeles, USA • Stuart Samuels, Stuart Samuels Productions, Toronto, Canada • Charles Santoso, Concept Artist, Sydney, Australia • Seth Shapiro, New Amsterdam Media, Los Angeles, USA • Scott Snibbe, Eyegroove, San Francisco, USA • Tracey Taylor, The Pulse, Sydney, Australia • Robert Tercek, Public Speaker, Digital Media Strategist, and Executive Leader for Creative Ventures and Business Innovation, • University of Southern California, USA • Kevin Williams, Founder & Director of KWP Ltd and DNA Association, UK • Brent Young, Super 78, Los Angeles, USA • Maya Zuckerman, Transmedia SF, San Francisco, USA COURSE CONTENT DEVELOPMENT Karin Watson, Iman Irannejad, and Dr. Simon McIntyre....

Top reviews

NN

Aug 15, 2021

Being someone who loves movies, this course has provided me deep knowledge about storytelling . the lectures were very understandable for a beginner. Hope to use this knowledge in future. :)

MP

May 23, 2021

I definitely recommend this course to all those who want to improve their creativity, their storytelling skills and learn to use different technologies to engage all types of audiences.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 240 Reviews for Transmedia Storytelling: Narrative worlds, emerging technologies, and global audiences

By Alexander

May 25, 2020

A very complete course, with a lot of focus on Australian and US companies, but with great content and very well structured. What there are too many videos that some do not add value. And it would have been great if you had incorporated a map with the best transmedia studios by country. Still, I highly recommend it. I have been very surprised that the creation of content is so linked to USER RESEARCH, which is my profession, which opens up new and very interesting career paths for me. Greetings.

By Deborah S

Oct 27, 2016

This course offers a comprehensive introduction to transmedia studies and practices. The framework of the course is well structured and it's easy to follow. The resources are fantastic with lots of advice and content provided by industry professionals. If you've heard of transmedia, but don't know what it is or how it's going to change storytelling in the future, take this course and find out.

By Stuart M

Jul 13, 2020

It was a very good course introduction with the right intensity and knowledge tools to make a good start to building a transmedia project from your storyworld.

There is a vast amount of industry expert input and many, many resource materials for further development of your knowledge base and self-exploration.

By David B

Oct 28, 2020

You'll gain valuable insight. Extensive set of course interviews and lectures. You're asked to create your story, share it and refine it. Includes insights to i.d. your audience, local and global. Collaborate with them and consider all touch points on the journey to your story.

By Shreya M

Aug 12, 2020

Very interesting course with perspectives on transmedia storytelling from the best in the business.

The videos, the resources, the assignments were all extremely well designed and helped learn and understand easily.

Thanks to the instructors for putting together this course.

By Xósem A

May 16, 2019

Un curso de especial interés para mí, ya que soy creador de contenido y storyteller. Muy interesante todo el contenido; sólo siento que falla un poco a la hora de interactuar con los compañeros, pues hay muy diversos niveles de interés e involucramiento.

By Cristina C

Dec 22, 2017

The course provides a good and broad overview of what transmedia storytelling is, where the "industry" is heading and how it can be used across any kind of communication. Plenty of resources and insights to dig further and start experimenting. Thank you!

By Stephanie B

Mar 23, 2019

Very interesting, briliant contributors. Full of concerte examples to discover and get a clear understanding of the transmedia world. A very good introduction to it.

My only regret is that there is little intersaction with other students.

By Aparna R

Jul 8, 2020

The course was engaging and opened my eyes to a lot of new technologies in use, and how experiences are designed keeping in view the audience at the other end. Relevant in any context we choose to tell a story in.

By Enrico M M

May 30, 2020

Excellent course for beginners of theories and practices on storytelling and digital communication. For practitioners, in some parts it is a bit too vague and theoretical. Overall, a good experience. Good job.

By Neumann L

Nov 29, 2020

It was really good but too much informations for a beginner. And too repetitive some times. I really appreciate the exercises and the assignments even sometimes the questions of assignments were too similar.

By Jami S

Jan 21, 2019

This course was very helpful in providing an in-depth look into transmedia in both the academic sphere and that of Hollywood. I'm looking forward to putting these skills to use in the not too distant future!

By James S

Jul 15, 2017

Thought provoking and great evidence presented about the evolving story of the merging of content delivery systems, globally to promote and preserve late capitalism in the first part of the 21st century.

By Reda A

Nov 26, 2020

I liked the tasks and the teaching material. There were a lot of interview videos with industry professionals that weren't so helpful or it was just too many of them. Overall, it was a good experience.

By Paul C

Oct 28, 2018

Felt this was a well structured course that opened me up to a lot of good ideas. Instructors give clear instructions and the interviews are very helpful. Turnaround on assignment reviews was good.

By Jonathan S

Dec 18, 2018

Great course content-wise. I think more concrete and practical assignments would be helpful - part of the course is to think iterative and in prototypes, yet you never have to produce one.

By Lukas H

Dec 8, 2021

The content was pretty good. I think the quality of video from some tutors were just horrible. Also it would be nive having more graphic visualizations.

By Jordi R

Feb 7, 2021

A great overview on how to approach a transmedia project, with rich content that balances theoretical concepts and industry testimonials.

By Puspita K

Feb 28, 2019

The only thing that I don't really like is too many speakers in each lesson. Hard for me to grab consistent points from one to another.

By Jorel E

Apr 7, 2021

It starts amazing and ends amazing but the structure gets about 5% a little sloppy gradually.

recommended 10/10 will do again.

By Jade R

Aug 11, 2021

Great course. A little less focus on creation techniques than I thought but still complete and interesting.

By Jyothsna

Jun 3, 2020

Excellent course with fresh insights and lots of space for iterations in our own storytelling.

By Mohd I B M Y

Aug 16, 2021

This course is most useful and the arrangement of the chapter is well done structured.

By Chiara S

Mar 27, 2017

The additional links and research material were really interesting and insightful.

By Shreya G

Jun 15, 2020

Great course, except for the last teacher who in my opinion did not teach well.