Chevron Left
Back to Tricky American English Pronunciation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Tricky American English Pronunciation by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
2,043 ratings
701 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you’ll practice the sounds of American English that might sometimes be confusing. You'll practice both consonant and vowel sounds. You’ll also learn about the things that give English its special “music,” such as how to stress the right syllable in a word, how to make your voice go up and down in a natural-sounding melody, and how to naturally connect sounds and words. Learning these things will help you speak more clearly and make sure that others can understand what you're saying. This course is useful for English language learners who want to improve pronunciation of American English for better communication. Note that access to all of the lectures and handouts are free to anyone, but the graded assignments and quizzes are only available in the paid version of the course. You will need to submit recordings of your own pronunciation for graded assignments....

Top reviews

FF
Apr 26, 2020

the tutors were explained all subject clearly to us, non boring and easily understood. thankyou for helping us, i'm gonna practice more so i could improve my english pronounciation in the future.

PY
Apr 21, 2020

They helped and taught me about American Englsih Pronunciation correctly which made me improves myself and encourage to speak out much more.\n\nThank you so much for a good course from Coursera.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 700 Reviews for Tricky American English Pronunciation

By Siriwan W

May 8, 2020

Love it. I don’t know what to say since I can’t find the word to describe this course.

Your lessons are amazing. Thank you so much😭👍🏼🥰

By Samridhi A

Jun 4, 2020

really helpful. just one request that the peers should not be able to add any sort of comments on our assignments which are not relevant

By Karthiga S

Apr 30, 2020

This course really helped me in speaking proper consonant and vowel sounds.And the tone ,connection words etc.Really very useful course.

By Charu M

May 7, 2020

Course was very good . I really appreciate I have learnt many things which I didn't know and will try to do other course from coursera

By Solanki A

Dec 10, 2020

Amazing experience. lots of thing , I learned through course. All task are so good which improve our pronunciation skills. Thank you.

By Helni T L

Jun 1, 2020

the course is very good and the material learned is also very easy to understand and helps you to speak English well and correctly :)

By MATURIN P

Apr 26, 2020

I advise this course. You can improve yourself about pronunciation, sound and the way you speak clearly with your confidence. Love it

By Wipada J

Apr 25, 2020

This course gives me an opportunity to practicce more in terms of consonant and vowel sounds, as well as intonation and linking words

By Kunal c

Jun 4, 2020

This is really a very nice course on which you can learn pronouncing the words correctly and more confidently. I loved this session.

By Arthur T

Oct 24, 2019

I corrected my pronunciation, began to speak more confidently and clearly. Great course. I am very grateful for such an opportunity.

By Gemi S

May 22, 2020

The course has given me new insights into how American pronunciation is defined. Clear instruction and explanation! Thank you UCI!

By Soraya y

Apr 24, 2020

It is an absolutely interesting course . I love how they explained each part in a very clear way. Tutors are amazing and helpful.

By shizhen ( J

Apr 8, 2020

Helps me figure out some tricky pronunciation issues, such as intonation, consonants. I learned a lot from this course! Thank you!

By Marianne L

Jun 4, 2020

The course indeed helped my listening and speaking skills. This course exposed me to the different tricky English pronunciations.

By Erika Y S S

May 31, 2020

A really excellent course where I could learn in an interactive an easy way. The tutors were really professional and aim to help.

By Luis E R S

Nov 14, 2019

This course is excellent! It helps a lot and gives very good advice to sound more fluid. Thanks for everything! Keep in that way!

By Gabriela C N

Sep 30, 2020

I learned a lot about how to pronounce correctly some difficult word for us non-native speakers. I highly recomend this course.

By 力 張

Mar 3, 2018

This course is nice. I practice my English pronounciation very well. By the way, it can help me understand spoken English easily

By Inga S

Jun 14, 2020

This course is great! It's very useful and contains all the necessary and important information on pronunciation! Thanks a lot!

By Cristopher T

Jun 7, 2020

Good course, the professors were very clear. The pensum was ideal for non native English speakers to improve our pronunciation.

By Rewadee N

May 31, 2020

It's a very terrific online course. It made me develop myself a lot. Thank you to all the teachers who taught me this skill.😊

By Mohammad N S K

May 22, 2020

This course is very good. If you really practice regularly with the following instruction, You can improve your pronunciation.

By Javeria R

May 9, 2020

It's a fantastic course. I am an ESL tutor from Pakistan and it really helped me in understanding the American Pronunciation.

By Yingke Y

Sep 4, 2017

Excellent course. I found so many subtle mistakes when speaking English, which I hardly recognized before taking this course.

By Pavan P

Dec 6, 2020

It was overall a good , I learnt quite new things which I didn't knew as I'm from India and now I'll try to change my accent