Chevron Left
Back to Anatomy of the Chest, Neck, Abdomen, and Pelvis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Anatomy of the Chest, Neck, Abdomen, and Pelvis by Yale University

4.8
stars
1,307 ratings
305 reviews

About the Course

WARNING: THESE VIDEOS CONTAIN IMAGES OF HUMAN DISSECTION. MAY BE DISTURBING TO SOME. Human structure is important to all of us as it has been for millennia. Artists, teachers, health care providers, scientists and most children try to understand the human form from stick figure drawings to electron microscopy. Learning the form of people is of great interest to us – physicians, nurses, physician assistants, emergency medical services personnel and many, many others. Learning anatomy classically involved dissection of the deceased whether directly in the laboratory or from texts, drawings, photographs or videos. There are many wonderful resources for the study of anatomy. Developing an understanding of the human form requires significant work and a wide range of resources. In this course, we have attempted to present succinct videos of human anatomy. Some will find these images to be disturbing and these images carry a need to respect the individual who decided to donate their remains to benefit our teaching and learning. All of the dissections depicted in the following videos are from individuals who gave their remains to be used in the advancement of medical education and research after death to the Yale School of Medicine. The sequence of videos is divided into classic anatomic sections. Each video has a set of learning objectives and a brief quiz at the end. Following each section there is another quiz covering the entire section in order for you to test your knowledge. We hope these videos will help you better understand the human form, make time that you may have in the laboratory more worthwhile if you have that opportunity and help you develop an appreciation of the wonderful intricacies of people. ANATOMY OF THE CHEST, NECK, ABDOMEN, AND PELVIS WAS PRODUCED IN PART DUE TO THE GENEROUS FUNDING OF THE DAVID F. SWENSEN FUND FOR INNOVATION IN TEACHING. This work was supported in part by the Kaplow Family Fund, Yale School of Medicine. COURSE CURRICULUM: ANATOMY OF THE THORAX, HEART, ABDOMEN AND PELVIS RECOMMENDED TEXT GRAY’S ANATOMY FOR STUDENTS, RICHARD L DRAKE, ELSEVIER. ONLINE AND PRINT EDITIONS ADDITIONAL RESOURCE ATLAS OF HUMAN ANATOMY, FRANK H NETTER, ELSEVIER. ONLINE AND PRINT EDITIONS. We would like to thank all of those who have contributed to the creation of this course: Charles C Duncan, MD, Producer & Director, Professor of Neurosurgery, Pediatrics and Surgery (Anatomy), Yale School of Medicine William B Stewart, PhD, Associate Producer, Narration, Anatomist, Chief Section of Human Anatomy, Department of Surgery, Yale School of Medicine Shanta E Kapadia, MBBS, Anatomist, Lecturer in Anatomy, Section of Human Anatomy, Department of Surgery, Yale School of Medicine Linda Honan, PhD, Professor, Yale School of Nursing Harry R Aslanian, MD, Associate Professor, Department of Medicine (Gastroenterology) Yale School of Medicine Jonathan Puchalski, MD, Associate Professor of Internal Medicine (Pulmonary), Yale School of Medicine Michael K. O’Brien, MD, PhD, Assistant Clinical Professor of Surgery, Yale School of Medicine Mahan Mathur, MD, Assistant Professor of Radiology and Bio-Medical Imaging, Yale School of Medicine Lei Wang, MLS & Kelly Perry, Technical, Yale Medical Library Anna Nasonova, Artist, Yale School of Architecture Rachel Hill, Artist and Technical, Yale College Philip Lapre, Technical, Section of Anatomy, Department of Surgery, Yale School of Medicine...

Top reviews

AL
May 2, 2020

I attained so much knowledge from this course moreso than a whole semester of structure and function. The cadaver videos were the most helpful.You truly cannot learn anatomy from just a text book.

DP
Jul 7, 2020

IT IS AMAZING COURSE. IT IS DESIGNED SO PERFECTLY SO AS TO MAKE LEARNING EASY AND COVERS ALL ASPECTS OF SUBJECT.THE CONTENT IS INTERESTING AND SUFFICIENT.A MUST DO COURSE FOR ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 304 Reviews for Anatomy of the Chest, Neck, Abdomen, and Pelvis

By Shuchen H

May 18, 2020

Very inspiring online course. Many detailed dissection on donors and surgery/examination videos on real patients. Very dedicated and professional instructors. Highly recommended to learners who has basic Anatomy and Physiology knowledge to learn.

By Margarita K

Apr 26, 2020

I am so happy that I took this course. I like dissection classes because in my uni we didn't have so many dissection classes and I refresh all information. But I had some technical problems, the site didn't mark some of my classes as completed.

By Dhanya P

May 17, 2018

Great course! If you are looking to refresh your memory on abdominal, chest, and pelvic anatomy, this is the right course. Also if you want to learn it for the first time. Great instructors too! Hopefully they do another course sometime soon.

By Legrand S

Aug 21, 2021

One of the best courses that I've attended here in Coursera! Really enjoyed it! The dissection videos was one of the highlights of this course! Highly recommended for medical students and to those who are preparing to enter medical schools!

By Jessica L

Feb 14, 2021

An excellent course for healthcare workers who wish to revise the anatomy of the thorax, abdomen and pelvis.

An indepth review of these regions for students who wish to learn, and understand the anatomy of the thorax, abdomen and pelvis.

By Raymond L N R

Mar 30, 2020

This course allowed me to better visualize the chest, abdomen, and pelvis. It also helped me think more like a surgeon. I especially liked their correlations with procedures and operations that are usually done in these areas.

By Lam P C

May 20, 2018

My first medical course in Coursera and is the most interesting one I have ever taken. Thanks a million to all who contributed to the context, structure and fruitful materials to bring this course a lively and practical one.

By Rachel v R

Aug 20, 2020

Excellent, interesting, and thorough explanation of the anatomy of the thorax, abdomen, and pelvis. The videos of imaging, and scopes I found very helpful in deepening my understanding of the anatomy in each area.

By André L S V

Jul 14, 2021

Yale University is excellent, and the human anatomy course was taught by expert professors. I wonder, "what will it be like, studying in person in an institution like this?! ... would have a significant weight."

By Talia L

Aug 4, 2020

This course was easy to comprehend and informative at every moment. As this was my first true anatomy course, I feel I have been set on a good foundation for continued intrigue and learning about the human body!

By Renata A B d L

May 8, 2020

Eu amei esse curso, me deu um outro entendimento e olhar sobre a anatomia de uma forma que eu não tinha aprendido antes. Os professores são incríveis e sabem passar o conhecimento deles de uma forma majestosa.

By Chrysanthi K

Jul 13, 2019

Great dissection videos and useful clinical examination videos. Easy to moderate level for a foreign junior surgical resident. Would recommend if you need to acquire knowledge of anatomical terms in English.

By dice m

Jun 28, 2020

The course was informative and student-friendly. Everything was explained thoroughly and the visuals were a great help. The mini-quizzes right after every videos were helpful guides in answering the exams.

By Natalie G

Apr 13, 2020

When I started this course I knew very little terminology, now I feel confident in medical terminology and how to reason in three dimensions. This will be a very helpful resource when I start university.

By Marìa F M I

Dec 26, 2020

Honestly, I´ve learned a lot. This is an amazing course, very useful and practical with many options in time and space, you can totally learn and enjoy every assignment without pressure. I love it.

By Amanda L

May 3, 2020

I attained so much knowledge from this course moreso than a whole semester of structure and function. The cadaver videos were the most helpful.You truly cannot learn anatomy from just a text book.

By Kamilya S

Apr 16, 2018

This is an amazing course with great attention to details and superb dissection tutorials which help in understanding the 3D regional anatomy of the human chest, abdomen, and pelvis.

By Gabriel C

Apr 1, 2020

Excellent course! It brings a comprehensive view of anatomy and is important for those who wish to go deeper into the study of the human body. It will help with my academic goals.

By Ceyda G

Dec 28, 2020

I love this course! Thank you to everyone who prepared the course and contributed! It was very useful in completing my shortcomings in anatomy and reinforcing my old knowledge.

By Nyauyoe D B

Sep 29, 2021

This course is very educational and informative. It has given me a better understanding of the anatomy of the chest, abdomen, and pelvis. I would highly recommend this course.

By Naila A A A

May 6, 2020

منحة كورسيرا منحة جميلة جدا ورائعة لقد افادتني كثيرا في التعلم عن بعد حيث تمكنت من الدراسة في اي وقت وتساعد جميع الناس بالذات طلبة الطب والعلوم الصحية شكرا من القلب كورسيرا

By Maria L M

Apr 11, 2021

Really detailed course, with a lot of pertinent information regarding the human body anatomy. The professors were great at explaining the terms and showing the body parts.

By Stephen D V d R

Dec 5, 2020

A very good anatomy review course with important clinical correlates. There are also basic imaging lectures which are very nice and easy to comprehend. Thank you Yale.

By Vinicius E M

Aug 15, 2020

Amazing!! Incredible opportunity to improve the anatomy knowledge. The course is very well structured. Congratulations to everyone who helped producing this content.

By Harish G

Jun 24, 2020

It's been a great course. They taught everything very thoroughly. I want that Yale should provide many more courses on anatomy like this. And we can learn much more.