Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Typography

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Typography by California Institute of the Arts

4.8
stars
5,282 ratings

About the Course

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Top reviews

BG

Aug 3, 2020

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

AS

Apr 12, 2021

This was an excellent course. I learned a whole lot about typography. The videos and assignments were interesting and challenging. I'm happy I was able to complete this course and highly recommend it!

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 1,130 Reviews for Introduction to Typography

By Maria F

Jul 20, 2020

An awesome introduction to working with typography. Learning the basic rules, history and putting it into practice has really helped my overall design look!

By Deleted A

May 29, 2019

Great Course I learned so many things! In fact I do not hink that I would be able to set up my design master Thesis if not for this course 💪🏻☝🏻 great job

By Saeed A

Dec 18, 2020

This course is the best course in typography, it gives you a good insight about the typography starting from its history all the way to the best practices.

By Kushal S

Feb 11, 2018

A must course for anyone who wants to start using fonts/typefaces wisely. The course content is very well curated - covering all the basics of typography.

By Zulhaj R

Sep 21, 2020

The course give many insight about designing related to the typefaces; selecting different typefaces and its impact, modifying its properties, and so on.

By Malak M

Jun 18, 2020

I loved this course and it will for sure help me with my further education and help me identify any sort of typefaces and their uses in different places.

By Alejandro P G

Nov 8, 2021

I think this course is so well structured. Each week and their topics are full compacted and understandable for the huge range of the typographic world.

By Saba A

Jul 10, 2020

really loved this course. it made me realize how just mere curves or thinning the lines could make a whole lot of difference to the way your text looks.

By Magdalena P

Jun 14, 2019

This course is very interesting. Includes both theory and practice and changes your mind about things you thought you already knew regarding typography.

By Bonnie K

Sep 30, 2021

This was such a fantastic class. I learned A LOT and definitely was my weakest area. I feel much more confident now as I continue to learn. Thank you!!

By MD. Z H

Jul 25, 2020

I like how the videos were created. I like the teachers speaking style. Also it was a fun course indeed. I enjoyed it very much. Thanks for the course

By Franklin C O

Jan 7, 2019

I have learned how important the connotative part is typography, I have learned to express feeling by the Type. This course has been very useful for me

By Junsong L

Apr 10, 2016

I think the most important thing of an online course is to arouse the curiosity so I can continue my exploration on the topic. This course has made it.

By Yana a

Nov 7, 2022

This helped me get an idea of typography and basic terms used in it. I really loved the assignment, helped me understand designing typography posters.

By Harika s .

Sep 3, 2020

I had a great learning experience, thanks to the friendly instructors. And appreciate the course structure and not to forget, interesting assignments.

By Nathanael W B W

May 12, 2020

informative, offers quite the range of contextual information. Some repetitive elements, but overall really helps newcomers in the world of designing!

By namrata d

May 24, 2019

It has been very interesting to build patience & learning in this course. Typography has made me look beyond the four walls and built my own typeface.

By Luka t

Apr 6, 2016

Excellent course as a graphic design practitioner and avid reader of typography books i still found plenty of new facts. Its very well thought through

By Aashish P

Dec 7, 2021

Course content was great, would love to have worked on more assignments and done more research on different typefaces. Assignments were also perfect.

By Mine I

Aug 9, 2020

This course is very beneficial for beginners to typography. If you are interested do not miss it. Assignments can be improved to be more challenging.

By SYED Q

Jun 19, 2017

one of the important course for every graphic designer who wants to do some thing new and play with there art should choose this.

very helpful for me.

By GAVVALA N

Feb 3, 2022

It was a pleasure to be part of this course and learn a quality content from it. This course gave me a great boost of confidence for future learnig.

By Alex H

Feb 11, 2021

Great foundation and good selection of topics even for people with existing typography knowledge. Good assignments to put the knowledge to practice.

By Anu M

Oct 30, 2022

really interesting to discover the visual effect that typeface has to the composition. I suggest watch the movie helvetica to that course as well.

By Nick P

Oct 31, 2020

Gives a really nice background in typography to give you a nice base. Really just focus on one typeface, but a nice way to dive in and play with it