Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Typography

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Typography by California Institute of the Arts

4.8
stars
4,254 ratings
868 reviews

About the Course

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Top reviews

MB
Jul 25, 2020

The course is very interesting and well presented, the assignments are really helpful for the learning process. I would recommend to anyone interested in design, art, web design or just for curiosity.

BG
Aug 3, 2020

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 843 Reviews for Introduction to Typography

By Katherine K

Dec 13, 2016

If you are beginners in typography this course is for you! =)

By Siya B

Aug 23, 2020

learnt a LOT of things!! definitely keen on learning more!!!

By Akshitha k

Aug 5, 2020

This course is very useful and make us to learn many things.

By Raian A

Aug 5, 2020

Liked it a lot

helped me to increase my typographic knowledge

By Ella H

Apr 7, 2020

Really loved this course, found it insightful and fun to do.

By Darrick C

Jun 30, 2019

challenging, rewarding and i would recommend it to anyone =)

By Justina S

Jan 4, 2018

Great and interesting course, i enjoyed being a part of it !

By Dasha Y

Dec 20, 2017

Lots of useful information! Thanks for creating this course!

By Liliya G

Mar 26, 2016

Deep information, given in easy way, interesting assignments

By SYED A H

May 29, 2018

Really opened my mind to the different perspectives in text

By Flávia G

Mar 6, 2018

The course is very rich in content and the teacher is great

By Lisa L

Sep 21, 2020

I enjoyed this course immensely. Well constructed and fun.

By chathrapathi n k

Aug 10, 2020

Everything is positive about this course I really liked it

By Kent T

Sep 20, 2019

Course offers practical instruction in a condensed format.

By Sazedul I

Sep 14, 2019

Excellent course with lot of information about Typography.

By Geraldine D

Apr 19, 2017

Nice course : good explanation and interesting assignement

By THIRUVIKRAMAN S

Sep 14, 2019

A highly experimentation based, exploration based course.

By João C d A N

Nov 28, 2020

You really have a nice overview of what means Typography

By Avinash B

Aug 21, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. specially the assignments.

By Viktoriya F

Apr 11, 2020

Thanks a lot. I've learned a lot and want to learn more.

By andrea a

Sep 12, 2018

i have done things that i never imagined myself doing <3

By Vinit K S

Aug 2, 2018

I would certainly recommend this for every new designer.

By Ampol A

Dec 24, 2017

W1 - Completed

W2 - Completed

W3 - Completed

W4 - Completed

By Priscila G

Nov 17, 2017

Really liked the course, a lot of the great information!

By Erhan D

Mar 22, 2016

All basics of typography. More advanced topics are next.