Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Typography

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Typography by California Institute of the Arts

4.8
stars
4,840 ratings
1,040 reviews

About the Course

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Top reviews

BG
Aug 3, 2020

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

AS
Apr 12, 2021

This was an excellent course. I learned a whole lot about typography. The videos and assignments were interesting and challenging. I'm happy I was able to complete this course and highly recommend it!

Filter by:

426 - 450 of 1,022 Reviews for Introduction to Typography

By Manash G

Jan 4, 2017

I have learned a lot from the typography lessons, I recommend to all designers

By Hema K

May 22, 2021

A very good course for beginners. Assignments and projects are well designed.

By Md F B

Jun 4, 2020

It's more helpful and beneficial for student who want to learn these courses.

By Urs-Jakob R

Mar 30, 2020

Short and to the point, including time-honored rules and not lacking context.

By Ekaterina I

Aug 15, 2018

Great course! Quite easy, but I've learnt a lot. Also it is very informative.

By Nene W

Feb 5, 2017

loved this course and learning about typography. I would highly recommend it.

By Salem F A

Dec 7, 2018

very very awesome course, you will learn a lot from the

instructor.good luck

By Shilpa R

Oct 15, 2017

This is a amazing course for typography. Assignment consist of good pratice.

By Steven E P

Apr 2, 2021

Great introduction to everything involved with Typography and it's history.

By Yurshevich A O

Jan 4, 2021

Excellent course, lots of useful information. Very suitable for a beginner!

By Carolynn R

Jul 10, 2020

I enjoyed this course. It was neat to learn about the history of typefaces.

By Kostas H

Mar 25, 2017

Just excellent. Very well organised, great narration, interesting homework.

By Arnaud C

Dec 4, 2016

Very good to learn typo, i didn't imagine it was so interesting. Thank you!

By Aurangzeb H

Jul 15, 2020

Wonderful course and Teachers, lecture delivery is so smooth to understand

By Kira S

Jan 10, 2020

I really liked this short course, and it was very informative and helpful.

By Felipe F A

Feb 11, 2019

If you like typography, take the course. If you dont, take the course! =)

By Megan M S

Nov 15, 2016

Interesting to learn the history and rules of typography and very helpful.

By Luke Q

Aug 25, 2016

Very conversational and informative. Glad to spend my time and money here.

By Nakash

Jun 14, 2016

i learn many thing form Introduction to typography.its really good course

By Alice C

Sep 18, 2021

Really good for beginners as it covers all the topic which is necessary.

By SMRITI

Nov 8, 2020

This course is really amazing, you get to learn so much and apply it to.

By Claudio G

Mar 2, 2019

I never thought this topic would trigger such passion in me. I loved it!

By Dionysia A

Oct 3, 2018

Wonderful lesson. Really useful with interesting videos and assignments.

By Chriz P P

Nov 13, 2017

The lesson gave the inspiration to create more designs using typography.

By Laura

May 16, 2016

Real hands-on course! Got to know so much and now it's time to practice!