Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Typography

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Typography by California Institute of the Arts

4.8
stars
4,849 ratings
1,042 reviews

About the Course

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Top reviews

MB
Jul 25, 2020

The course is very interesting and well presented, the assignments are really helpful for the learning process. I would recommend to anyone interested in design, art, web design or just for curiosity.

BG
Aug 3, 2020

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

Filter by:

451 - 475 of 1,026 Reviews for Introduction to Typography

By Laura

May 16, 2016

Real hands-on course! Got to know so much and now it's time to practice!

By VAN T T

Mar 22, 2021

A realistic course, i have learnt so much in this course as a beginner.

By AMAN S

Aug 19, 2018

A must do course, if you want to get hands on experience in Typography.

By Viorel-Daniel S

Sep 12, 2017

Well presented with relevant assignments and very interesting material.

By Ferd V

Apr 4, 2016

What an Excellent option for studing outside home....Thanks Coursera!!!

By Stephanie B

May 11, 2020

Great course, very complete and interesting. Do not hesitate to enrol!

By Chi C

Feb 1, 2018

Great instructor. The assignment is challenging but useful. Thank you.

By Renee T

Nov 5, 2017

Excellent course for beginners in typography and typographical design,

By Ta R

Apr 4, 2021

All information is very helpful. I'm thankful to you for this course.

By Gunvir M

Feb 25, 2020

I learned some stuff I didn't know yet.

Short but concise—I recommend!

By Katerina R

Mar 11, 2017

Very well presented, lots of information and very helpful! Thank you!

By Essam F

Sep 20, 2021

The information was abundant and very useful, but the time was short

By Abdelrahman H

Feb 11, 2020

Light, yet very informational course. I enjoyed it and learnt a lot!

By Anna V

Apr 28, 2019

Made me think in new ways and I still use what I learned in my work!

By Shiela O

Jul 15, 2016

I was able to learn a lot about Typography and apply it on my works!

By Navjot S

Jun 1, 2020

Really excellent course! Thanks to the Prof. and coursera mentors!

By Penny

Oct 29, 2018

I learned a lot!!! Hope I can remember to put it all in to practise

By Kevin W

Aug 21, 2018

Great intro! Lots of great examples that gets the imagination going

By Naomi M H

Oct 12, 2019

Great information reading the history of type, structure and uses.

By Tatsiana T

Oct 17, 2016

Thank you so much!

One of the best online courses I've had before.

By Anna M

May 5, 2021

I loved this course. I got a new perspective of using typefaces.

By Yogesh K

Jun 28, 2020

This is the most detailed course on Typography that I could find.

By Ivan C

May 19, 2020

Informative but not overweighted course. Excellent for beginners!

By Dominique V

Jul 20, 2019

My favourite of the courses in the Graphic Design specialization.

By Anastasia O

Jun 17, 2018

Loved learning the history of Typography. Very interesting class.