Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Typography

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Typography by California Institute of the Arts

4.8
stars
4,840 ratings
1,040 reviews

About the Course

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Top reviews

BG
Aug 3, 2020

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

AS
Apr 12, 2021

This was an excellent course. I learned a whole lot about typography. The videos and assignments were interesting and challenging. I'm happy I was able to complete this course and highly recommend it!

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 1,023 Reviews for Introduction to Typography

By SYED A H

May 29, 2018

Really opened my mind to the different perspectives in text

By Flávia G

Mar 6, 2018

The course is very rich in content and the teacher is great

By Muhammad A I

Oct 5, 2021

It was a fantastic learning experience! Really enjoyed it!

By MPEARSALL

Aug 11, 2021

Excellent material, resources, and instruction. Thank you.

By Lisa L

Sep 21, 2020

I enjoyed this course immensely. Well constructed and fun.

By Chathrapathi N K

Aug 10, 2020

Everything is positive about this course I really liked it

By Kent T

Sep 20, 2019

Course offers practical instruction in a condensed format.

By Sazedul I

Sep 15, 2019

Excellent course with lot of information about Typography.

By Geraldine D

Apr 19, 2017

Nice course : good explanation and interesting assignement

By Thiruvikraman S

Sep 14, 2019

A highly experimentation based, exploration based course.

By João C d A N

Nov 28, 2020

You really have a nice overview of what means Typography

By Avinash B

Aug 21, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. specially the assignments.

By Viktoriya F

Apr 11, 2020

Thanks a lot. I've learned a lot and want to learn more.

By Andrea O A

Sep 12, 2018

i have done things that i never imagined myself doing <3

By Vinit K S

Aug 2, 2018

I would certainly recommend this for every new designer.

By Ampol A

Dec 24, 2017

W1 - Completed

W2 - Completed

W3 - Completed

W4 - Completed

By Priscila G

Nov 17, 2017

Really liked the course, a lot of the great information!

By Erhan D

Mar 22, 2016

All basics of typography. More advanced topics are next.

By Pedro D B

Mar 21, 2018

Very good course!, easy to undestand and very flexible.

By G G

Oct 5, 2016

Very good explanation and interesting and useful course

By AC

Jul 3, 2016

liked the course, quite in-depth, but also interesting!

By Jaycee T

May 11, 2021

I learned a lot from this course. Thank you so much!!!

By Stanislav

Jan 10, 2017

It was very interesting course with great assignments!

By Sadaf T

Jan 8, 2021

Very great course, It help me in polishing my skills.

By Oleksandra S

Jun 14, 2019

Love it. It can improve your skills in graphic design