Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Typography

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Typography by California Institute of the Arts

4.8
stars
4,167 ratings
849 reviews

About the Course

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Top reviews

BG

Aug 04, 2020

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

MB

Jul 26, 2020

The course is very interesting and well presented, the assignments are really helpful for the learning process. I would recommend to anyone interested in design, art, web design or just for curiosity.

Filter by:

751 - 775 of 823 Reviews for Introduction to Typography

By spencer z

Aug 06, 2017

i would prefer more case study or posters comparison! but still, this class is awesome!

By Sandesh S

Feb 22, 2017

The course was really fun and I learned a lot. I wish there was more to this course.

By Andrea S A

Jun 28, 2020

It's very helpful to understand how important is the typography in any composition

By Joly F Z

Jun 14, 2018

A good intro course to Typograph - with basic information and practical skills.

By James H

Apr 01, 2018

A few key snippets here and there have really enhanced my typographic fluency.

By Masahiro S

Dec 01, 2016

I could learn this course in the "step by step" way, by refined assignments.

By Michelle G

Sep 11, 2017

This one really got me thinking about typography in new and different ways.

By Marcella S M S

Jun 01, 2020

Lovely intro to typography! Hands-on, theory-heavy and great explanations.

By Edward G C

Jun 24, 2016

Es un buen curso sobre tipografía... Debería tener subtítulos en Español.

By Ranjit R

Jul 05, 2020

This is a great course to learn about basic typography and it's history.

By Wessam E

Aug 27, 2018

love this course , open mind to realize a typography process in design

By Legs C

Mar 16, 2018

Nice introduction for the typography and some important bases to start

By Vincent P

Sep 28, 2020

Great content, engaging lectures. Disappointing peer review process.

By Lisa H

May 06, 2017

Nice course that will give you a great understanding of typography.

By Chimdiebere A

Oct 08, 2020

Very awesome and timely course for graphic Designers in this era.

By Hamza S

Jan 29, 2020

i will guarantee that this is the best course to learn typography

By Ibrahim K

Dec 19, 2017

I think videos should include more about typography techniques.

By Rachel K

Apr 30, 2018

Very straightforward lessons with good practice techniques!

By Aneri S

Aug 18, 2020

Loved it! but was hoping for a little more experimentation

By caenn

Jun 30, 2016

Fantastic introduction to type, even if it's a tad short.

By Mohini R

Aug 18, 2016

I had fun with this course and learned new things.

By Liran L A

Apr 21, 2020

Great course with a lot of fun during the course.

By Benjamin g

Feb 22, 2019

Great way to learn terms and apply techniques.

By Lily

Mar 24, 2017

somewhat the content is a little bit less

By Oluwaseun O O

Oct 23, 2016

very enlightening and informative course