Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Typography

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Typography by California Institute of the Arts

4.8
stars
4,663 ratings
991 reviews

About the Course

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Top reviews

AS
Apr 12, 2021

This was an excellent course. I learned a whole lot about typography. The videos and assignments were interesting and challenging. I'm happy I was able to complete this course and highly recommend it!

BG
Aug 3, 2020

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

Filter by:

926 - 950 of 965 Reviews for Introduction to Typography

By Brooke K

Aug 6, 2018

great course, i learnt a lot

By Bruce R

Feb 5, 2017

Fascinating and organized!

By Abhishek T

Oct 25, 2020

Kind of basic of basic

By Vani C

Jul 9, 2020

It was very insightful

By Tatiana D

Dec 30, 2019

Loved the instructor!

By arshla j

Sep 24, 2016

Enjoyable experience.

By Manisha

Sep 11, 2020

interesting and good

By Boula N S

Mar 8, 2019

It is a great course

By rwaa h

Jun 19, 2019

i think it is good

By NATASHA F

Jun 8, 2016

really good intro.

By Reeha F K

Aug 14, 2020

Fun & Informative

By Matt A

Mar 28, 2016

Very informative.

By Artem T

Apr 7, 2019

A bit too basic

By Syahrul R

Jul 31, 2020

Sangat mantab

By prajakta a

Jun 10, 2020

good course!

By Hugo A R G

Apr 12, 2020

Buen curso

By Muhammad F K

Jul 10, 2020

Good.

By Mufizul I

Jan 28, 2017

Good!

By Nagaraja G

Oct 7, 2020

good

By DINESH K K

Jun 14, 2020

good

By Chloe S

Jan 8, 2021

This is a nice intro, but it is very historically based, and as I'm more of a `maker`, I felt that I would have rather made more, instead of learning about the past of multiple typefaces. I felt a bit unprepared for the last assignment, which required much more composition practice than what had been taught during the class. The last week could use some more studies of the process to create a typographic poster (the same way Fundamentals of Graphic design focused on the iterative process to build a poster, showing all parameters that could be played with). I find that showing the process is more instructive than showing the final piece and studying it. A good course still, but it could be improved !

By Markus R

Apr 21, 2016

Very interesting topic, but even for an introductory course not nearly enough to justify a full 4 week course for € 71!

The first course, Fundamentals of Graphic Design, had more content, more (optional) assignments, and covered Typography, too.

By Rania M S M

Oct 27, 2017

i think some point in the course need more explanation , too much information in little time

i wish that the instructor give his feed back about all the assignments , this will be very helpful and useful , but the course is good and useful

By shubhangi g

Aug 5, 2020

The overall course was nice and helpful. I just feel like the last assignment should have more parts. Like the course should at least one example video on how to design the poster, before giving an assignment on designing a poster.

By Sergio G F

Jul 24, 2020

I learn that typography is much deeper than I thought but some of the theoretical explanations about how readable some typefaces are are subjective and it depends on each individual or what they are used to.