Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Typography

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Typography by California Institute of the Arts

4.8
stars
5,056 ratings
1,096 reviews

About the Course

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Top reviews

BG

Aug 3, 2020

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

AS

Apr 12, 2021

This was an excellent course. I learned a whole lot about typography. The videos and assignments were interesting and challenging. I'm happy I was able to complete this course and highly recommend it!

Filter by:

1051 - 1075 of 1,083 Reviews for Introduction to Typography

By arshla j

Sep 24, 2016

Enjoyable experience.

By Manisha

Sep 11, 2020

interesting and good

By Boula N S

Mar 8, 2019

It is a great course

By rwaa h

Jun 19, 2019

i think it is good

By NATASHA F

Jun 8, 2016

really good intro.

By Reeha K

Aug 14, 2020

Fun & Informative

By Matt A

Mar 28, 2016

Very informative.

By Megan W

Nov 5, 2021

I learned a lot!

By Linda W

Jul 6, 2021

Good foundation

By Artem T

Apr 7, 2019

A bit too basic

By Cutey C

Feb 22, 2022

cool but short

By Syahrul R

Jul 31, 2020

Sangat mantab

By prajakta a

Jun 10, 2020

good course!

By Hugo A R G

Apr 12, 2020

Buen curso

By Muhammad F K

Jul 10, 2020

Good.

By Mufizul I

Jan 28, 2017

Good!

By LEELASAIKRISHNAVAMSHI K

Oct 28, 2021

good

By Leela s

Oct 28, 2021

good

By Nagaraja G

Oct 7, 2020

good

By DINESH K K

Jun 14, 2020

good

By Nayama R

Jun 20, 2022

The videos are objective, clear and interesting, I liked the extra sources too. The assignments have a good level for a introduction course. The peer reviews process are the only bad thing in fact about not only this course but in all coursera courses. Due the large number of people who doing the assignments, some people don't take it serious. While I was reading carefully my coleagues assigments and giving good an construtive feedback, I received poor qualitity reviews with short comentaries like "good", "no", "I like". I also got 0 in every single criteria in my last assignment from a study that clearly even did not opened my PDF. The peer reviews are definetily the most frustating part of the course.

By Sergio G F

Jul 24, 2020

I learn that typography is much deeper than I thought but some of the theoretical explanations about how readable some typefaces are are subjective and it depends on each individual or what they are used to.

By E. C C

Jan 24, 2017

Basic overview of Typographical ideas, terms and so forth. A bit short and not very technical, but playing with Type as an integral part of design was really fun and inspirational.

By ANUSHA C

Aug 26, 2020

peer grade review takes a lot of time and even when i have submitted the assignment before time its not being reviewed.

By Adrienn B

Jun 27, 2020

In the first 2 weeks there was no hands-on project, literally nothing exciting just dry material.