Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Typography

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Typography by California Institute of the Arts

4.8
stars
4,245 ratings
865 reviews

About the Course

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Top reviews

BG
Aug 3, 2020

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

SZ
Aug 27, 2020

i really enjoyed this course and i liked the part where we interact with other artists around the world. i learned a lot about typography and i think it'm ready to continue in my journey with art.

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 839 Reviews for Introduction to Typography

By Katerina R

Mar 11, 2017

Very well presented, lots of information and very helpful! Thank you!

By Abdelrahman H

Feb 11, 2020

Light, yet very informational course. I enjoyed it and learnt a lot!

By Anna V

Apr 28, 2019

Made me think in new ways and I still use what I learned in my work!

By Shiela O

Jul 15, 2016

I was able to learn a lot about Typography and apply it on my works!

By Navjot S

Jun 1, 2020

Really excellent course! Thanks to the Prof. and coursera mentors!

By Penny

Oct 29, 2018

I learned a lot!!! Hope I can remember to put it all in to practise

By Kevin W

Aug 21, 2018

Great intro! Lots of great examples that gets the imagination going

By Naomi M H

Oct 12, 2019

Great information reading the history of type, structure and uses.

By Tatsiana T

Oct 17, 2016

Thank you so much!

One of the best online courses I've had before.

By Yogesh K

Jun 28, 2020

This is the most detailed course on Typography that I could find.

By Ivan C

May 19, 2020

Informative but not overweighted course. Excellent for beginners!

By Dominique V

Jul 20, 2019

My favourite of the courses in the Graphic Design specialization.

By Anastasia O

Jun 17, 2018

Loved learning the history of Typography. Very interesting class.

By Matheus A

May 15, 2018

Very Nice, it was very interesting to dive in the typefaces world

By Tianyin L

Feb 21, 2018

An enjoyable experience, good amount of information for a novice.

By Amy H

Apr 17, 2020

Amazing course for everything you need to know about typography.

By Komal R

Mar 30, 2020

It was interesting and many things i have learn about typography

By Gael F

Aug 31, 2020

I loved learning about this branch of graphic design expression

By Tanvir A

Apr 29, 2020

great course! learned a lot about the typography & it's history

By Astria B

Jan 31, 2020

Great subject and lecture. I learned a lot thank you very much.

By Sarah N

Jul 10, 2017

lot's of info .. recommended for anyone in the design industry

By Kevin J

May 21, 2017

Great Course, So enjoyed it. Wish there was a follow up or 2.0

By Francesca D L

Mar 12, 2020

this course is super, interesting and very useful! thank you!

By Shubham Y

Nov 20, 2017

Good Course for beginners. Covers fundamentals of Typography.

By Katherine K

Dec 13, 2016

If you are beginners in typography this course is for you! =)