Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Typography

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Typography by California Institute of the Arts

4.8
stars
4,051 ratings
830 reviews

About the Course

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Top reviews

BG

Aug 04, 2020

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

SZ

Aug 28, 2020

i really enjoyed this course and i liked the part where we interact with other artists around the world. i learned a lot about typography and i think it'm ready to continue in my journey with art.

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 803 Reviews for Introduction to Typography

By Ampol A

Dec 24, 2017

W1 - Completed

W2 - Completed

W3 - Completed

W4 - Completed

By Priscila G

Nov 17, 2017

Really liked the course, a lot of the great information!

By erhan d

Mar 23, 2016

All basics of typography. More advanced topics are next.

By Pedro D B

Mar 21, 2018

Very good course!, easy to undestand and very flexible.

By Gayathri C R

Oct 06, 2016

Very good explanation and interesting and useful course

By AC

Jul 03, 2016

liked the course, quite in-depth, but also interesting!

By Stanislav

Jan 10, 2017

It was very interesting course with great assignments!

By Oleksandra S

Jun 14, 2019

Love it. It can improve your skills in graphic design

By Kolya K

Jan 26, 2018

Loved this course, would love to dog dipper after it.

By Alexander K

Oct 04, 2016

Very informative, interesting and helpful! Thank you!

By Elizabeth H

Sep 21, 2020

Excellent Course. Very well designed and conducted!

By Eric S

Apr 22, 2020

This was a fun and educational foundational course.

By Muhammad M H

Jun 15, 2019

Great Course for Learning Typography with insights.

By Francisco C C

Dec 30, 2016

Basic and functional, informative and good techers.

By Alicja S

May 06, 2016

It was really interesting and inspiring. Thank you!

By Adrián A

Sep 14, 2020

For an introductory course this is an amazing one.

By Chetana C

Jul 16, 2020

i learnt so much from this course.

thankyou so much

By Omkar B

Jun 20, 2020

This course is really helpful for me In my carrier

By Efosa O

Jan 29, 2020

It was a very straightforward course that I liked!

By Alvin B

Jan 22, 2020

I love this class it help me so much with my work.

By Ana L F M

Dec 16, 2019

I learned a lot in this course, it was very useful

By osita e

Dec 14, 2019

great course. beginner level but very challenging.

By Jorge H H R

Sep 14, 2020

Well designed course for beginners in typography.

By Aldo C A M

Jun 20, 2020

This course teaches basic but really useful stuff

By Dung N

Nov 09, 2019

Excellent course for beginners in graphic design!