Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Typography

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Typography by California Institute of the Arts

4.8
stars
4,790 ratings
1,023 reviews

About the Course

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Top reviews

MB
Jul 25, 2020

The course is very interesting and well presented, the assignments are really helpful for the learning process. I would recommend to anyone interested in design, art, web design or just for curiosity.

AS
Apr 12, 2021

This was an excellent course. I learned a whole lot about typography. The videos and assignments were interesting and challenging. I'm happy I was able to complete this course and highly recommend it!

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 1,005 Reviews for Introduction to Typography

By Assel N

Jul 11, 2016

This course is very informative and interesting! I will definitely recommend it to my friends.

By Sarah A

Dec 28, 2020

Wonderful class - just enough to learn the basics and I'm excited to learn more on the topic.

By Jia M

May 19, 2020

This course gives me a deeper understanding of Typography and better use fonts in the poster.

By Ahsan A

Oct 5, 2018

Perfectly Covered the content. I'll definitely enroll in another course by CALARTS. Loved it!

By Anusha

Oct 15, 2017

I literally love this subject. It has given me a lot a of information from basic to advanced.

By Lynn K

Jan 25, 2017

This course is good to understand basic typography. Teacher had detail and good explanations.

By Mingtao W

May 15, 2019

Very good intro class. Learned a lot of practical skills when applying typography to design.

By Evelyn L

Oct 18, 2021

I learned deep about typography. I didnt know the importance of it. I loved it. Thank you.

By Fer G

May 20, 2020

This course gave a good perspective to what it takes to shape a text by manipulating types.

By Julie L

Aug 5, 2016

Very interesting, you have to always push your limit and experiment to benefit this course!

By Jashtelle E

Nov 23, 2020

Wonderful! I never knew typography was so interesting. I had fun. It was very informative!

By The S O S

Aug 22, 2020

Now that is exactly what I was looking for when I began searching for a typography course.

By Efren A

Jan 24, 2019

Amazing course! Very well explained, full of useful information and nice to do. Thank you!

By Dinithi w

Feb 28, 2021

This was a great course and the assignments were so cool that I really liked them alot!!!

By Luke F

Jan 22, 2021

I learned a lot about typography that I didn't know and had never considered before this.

By barry m

Oct 12, 2020

Loved this course, in fact am taking 2 more courses to increase my knowledge, thank you.

By Yinuo X

Feb 5, 2021

It was fullfiling to both my intellectual and creative curiosity to finish this course!

By Rossana M V B

Sep 14, 2020

AMAZING LEARNED A LOT IN SUCH SN EASY WAY LOVED IT, WOULD RECOMMEND IN FACT ALREADY DID.

By Alice B

Mar 16, 2020

Extremely engaging, very informative, and creative assignments! I thoroughly enjoyed it.

By Nicholas S H

May 2, 2019

So far, the most helpful course out of this specialization. Taking the last course soon.

By Lorenzo F

Jul 5, 2017

Amazing course! I love typography and these lectures were very well done and insightful.

By Eugenia S

Aug 8, 2016

I like this course! It realy helps me to understand typography and its usage. Thank you!

By Carmen A

Aug 4, 2020

Is an excellent course, great content, instructor and activities. Thanks you for do it.

By Jaspal S R

Aug 7, 2016

Great, how they started the course and finished it, got all the info i was looking for!

By Yulonda S

Aug 12, 2021

​The information and exercises given in the course really helped to improve my skills.