Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Typography

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Typography by California Institute of the Arts

4.8
stars
4,780 ratings
1,020 reviews

About the Course

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Top reviews

MB
Jul 25, 2020

The course is very interesting and well presented, the assignments are really helpful for the learning process. I would recommend to anyone interested in design, art, web design or just for curiosity.

AS
Apr 12, 2021

This was an excellent course. I learned a whole lot about typography. The videos and assignments were interesting and challenging. I'm happy I was able to complete this course and highly recommend it!

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 1,002 Reviews for Introduction to Typography

By Kent T

Sep 20, 2019

Course offers practical instruction in a condensed format.

By Sazedul I

Sep 15, 2019

Excellent course with lot of information about Typography.

By Geraldine D

Apr 19, 2017

Nice course : good explanation and interesting assignement

By Thiruvikraman S

Sep 14, 2019

A highly experimentation based, exploration based course.

By João C d A N

Nov 28, 2020

You really have a nice overview of what means Typography

By Avinash B

Aug 21, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. specially the assignments.

By Viktoriya F

Apr 11, 2020

Thanks a lot. I've learned a lot and want to learn more.

By Andrea O A

Sep 12, 2018

i have done things that i never imagined myself doing <3

By Vinit K S

Aug 2, 2018

I would certainly recommend this for every new designer.

By Ampol A

Dec 24, 2017

W1 - Completed

W2 - Completed

W3 - Completed

W4 - Completed

By Priscila G

Nov 17, 2017

Really liked the course, a lot of the great information!

By Erhan D

Mar 22, 2016

All basics of typography. More advanced topics are next.

By Pedro D B

Mar 21, 2018

Very good course!, easy to undestand and very flexible.

By G G

Oct 5, 2016

Very good explanation and interesting and useful course

By AC

Jul 3, 2016

liked the course, quite in-depth, but also interesting!

By Jaycee T

May 11, 2021

I learned a lot from this course. Thank you so much!!!

By Stanislav

Jan 10, 2017

It was very interesting course with great assignments!

By Sadaf T

Jan 8, 2021

Very great course, It help me in polishing my skills.

By Oleksandra S

Jun 14, 2019

Love it. It can improve your skills in graphic design

By Kolya K

Jan 26, 2018

Loved this course, would love to dog dipper after it.

By Alexander K

Oct 4, 2016

Very informative, interesting and helpful! Thank you!

By ALEJANDRA A C

Jan 21, 2021

Este curso es muy útil y completo, super recomendado

By Elizabeth H

Sep 21, 2020

Excellent Course. Very well designed and conducted!

By Eric S

Apr 22, 2020

This was a fun and educational foundational course.

By Muhammad M H

Jun 15, 2019

Great Course for Learning Typography with insights.