Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to UI Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to UI Design by University of Minnesota

4.7
stars
1,103 ratings
251 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will gain an understanding of the critical importance of user interface design. You will also learn industry-standard methods for how to approach the design of a user interface and key theories and frameworks that underlie the design of most interfaces you use today. Through a series of case studies on commercial systems - many of which you likely use on a regular basis - we will illustrate the benefits of good design. We will also demonstrate how the costs of bad design can often be severe (in user experience, money, and even human lives). You will then gain a high-level understanding of the user-interface design process. You will be introduced to common design scenarios - e.g. improving on existing designs and starting a new design from scratch - and the general design processes that tend to be used for each scenario. Finally, we will begin introducing the large body of existing knowledge on design by providing overviews of core user interface design theories and concepts. This key foundational information will help you avoid “reinventing the wheel” when you are designing your interfaces in this specialization....

Top reviews

CA
Jan 20, 2019

Has given valuable insights and new points of view. It extended my horizon, even though I am new on the field and have designed several user interfaces not according to the course principles so far.

MM
Nov 11, 2017

this course is just not about the theory it actually helps you to understand things on practical basis.The test and assignments helps you to apply the disciplines and makes you basic clear.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 247 Reviews for Introduction to UI Design

By Mohamed S

Aug 13, 2019

The course was very good but the video was long and some of them were not clear enough, especially in the third week.

By Robert C S

Feb 18, 2021

Provides good theoretical foundation, with some good reference sources for further study. I liked the instructors.

By Mafia C

May 28, 2020

Awesome course! Really informative info. The videos could use more infographics for engagement but otherwise great.

By Manali H N

Aug 4, 2020

great learning experience , and quick understanding the design of everyday things .

looking forward to learn more.

By Julian R E

Dec 4, 2017

Great introduction. lots of information to asimilate and create a base to start working in human center ux design.

By Milton M

Jan 18, 2021

Thanks to this course now I have a better understatement of what User interface design is and its fundamentals.

By Solomon G

Dec 6, 2020

Very amazing approach of teaching and learning methods. I got a lot knowledge from these course . thanks a lot

By abdul m

Nov 3, 2020

One, who wanna be a successful UI designer, he must have a basic knowledge of design theory. And it's cool

By Behnaz P

Apr 29, 2020

Very useful course material, easy to follow and learn, the structure and content is very well developed

By Nana G

Apr 17, 2017

I learnt a lot! well organised, enough information to continue to the next steps. Thank you very much!

By Shuvro D

Jan 4, 2021

In this course, you will gain an understanding of the critical importance of user interface design.

By Prakash S

Jul 18, 2020

I learned a lot in this first course. All chapters are organised systematically and well defined.

By Liudmila N

Nov 4, 2018

In was helpful couse, easy to understand. Good begginng for continuing development in this field.

By Adam B

Jul 10, 2018

If you're interested in learning about UI/UX design and research then this is the course for you.

By Yasiru L W

Nov 16, 2020

Good course. I get a good idea about UI/UX design and principles. Superb course to the beginner.

By Vinod K

Oct 12, 2019

This UI design course is really helpful for the beginners. Will opt for more UI and UX courses.

By Krista B

Oct 1, 2017

Well organized class format, multiple learning style options. Enjoyed the class thoroughly.

By Tasneem E

Sep 3, 2017

Simple, informative, and sets you to be ready for the coming courses of the specialization.

By Jannet O

May 2, 2019

A great way to start you UI Career to this course. , lots of information that you learn

By Ahmed F

Feb 19, 2020

Rich Content and great staff. Absolutely looking forward to the next course with them.

By Natalia B

Jun 14, 2017

very useful and systematized materials, a lot of examples which makes learning easier

By Javier E G

Nov 17, 2017

Im very happy with the knowledge I got from this course, teachers are great. Thanks!

By Luis A F L

Oct 3, 2018

Wonderful introductory course to the basic concepts and methodologies of UI design.

By PAMELA G

Feb 23, 2021

thankyou for all the knowledge, i am so grateful that i can learnt a lot from here

By Md. A I

Nov 8, 2018

Too many new things learned and their training method is so easy to understand.