Chevron Left
Back to Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments by Duke University

4.6
stars
2,319 ratings
633 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn what an argument is. The definition of argument will enable you to identify when speakers are giving arguments and when they are not. Next, you will learn how to break an argument into its essential parts, how to put them in order to reveal their connections, and how to fill in gaps in an argument by adding suppressed premises. By the end of this course, you will be better able to understand and appreciate arguments that you and other people present. Suggested Readings: Students who want more detailed explanations or additional exercises or who want to explore these topics in more depth should consult Understanding Arguments: An Introduction to Informal Logic, Ninth Edition, Concise, Chapters 1-5, by Walter Sinnott-Armstrong and Robert Fogelin. Course Format: Each week will be divided into multiple video segments that can be viewed separately or in groups. There will be short ungraded quizzes after each segment (to check comprehension) and a longer graded quiz at the end of the course....

Top reviews

FY
Jul 5, 2018

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

SM
Jun 10, 2020

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

Filter by:

451 - 475 of 623 Reviews for Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

By Husseinzaiter

Sep 5, 2018

الخامس ج

By Breno B B

Jul 12, 2017

Superb!

By Mauricio F G

Aug 26, 2020

thanks

By Ryan L

Jun 3, 2020

Great!

By Рахметулла О

May 9, 2020

Great!

By KENNEDY O

Jan 18, 2019

Superb

By Stanislas R

Dec 9, 2018

supern

By �ADITI P

Sep 8, 2020

great

By Joseane S

Aug 26, 2020

Great

By Felix P

Jul 3, 2020

Great

By Xilu Z

Aug 18, 2019

Great

By king

Apr 7, 2019

great

By 赵晨

Oct 5, 2016

great

By Xashimova S A

Aug 3, 2020

good

By Asma A

Jul 9, 2020

شكرا

By Sriskantharajah V

Jun 6, 2020

good

By Polina K

Apr 24, 2020

Cool

By Nguyễn N Ý

Nov 5, 2019

NICE

By Jay G P

Nov 16, 2017

nice

By Winnifred J

Aug 28, 2020

w

a

By David R

Sep 16, 2020

G

By Yelizaveta K

Mar 27, 2017

5

By Puni P

Mar 13, 2018

I loved to take this course.

The professor is clever, funny and clear.

However, maybe because of being English my second language, I found difficult to get some issues ( i.e. "speech act" ) or understand the nuances in some exercises regarding "speech act" and" suppressed premises" (particularly in the final quiz, the more difficult questions to me were about the "suppressed premises").

So I would have liked that these harder issues have had found a clearer explanation during the lectures. Also in the final quizzes, it would have been useful giving the reason for the wrong answer (besides explaining the right one).

In fact, the quizzes are useful both for testing our understanding the matter and for learning from our mistakes too. In fact, we learn in a different and deeper way from our mistakes. To explain the reason for the mistakes is a good way to teaching and learning.

Although these notes, the course give enough awareness about our logical and linguistic skill and I'm going to take another one: "Think Again II: How to Reason Deductively". See you soon!

By Lion F P d S

Aug 18, 2017

This course is funny, and it is really good to introduce people on how arguments are made. It shows a lot of features that makes an anrgument, and also that makes an argument valid and sound (both terms described inside the course). And it teaches how to reconstruct and deep analyse arguments, so you can understand positions, and better argue about all of them. Also, it teaches the abuses of some terms in arguing, in the way you can spot them, and immediately can start to dismiss with knowledge foundations. Tis course is part of a set of courses that go deep inside more content, so what out if you want to go through all of them. The teacher is funny and it is kind stereotype, at the way he looks, to a mad scientist, besides the fact that he is a phylosofer. That also makes the course interesting.