Chevron Left
Back to Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments by Duke University

4.6
stars
2,252 ratings
611 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn what an argument is. The definition of argument will enable you to identify when speakers are giving arguments and when they are not. Next, you will learn how to break an argument into its essential parts, how to put them in order to reveal their connections, and how to fill in gaps in an argument by adding suppressed premises. By the end of this course, you will be better able to understand and appreciate arguments that you and other people present. Suggested Readings: Students who want more detailed explanations or additional exercises or who want to explore these topics in more depth should consult Understanding Arguments: An Introduction to Informal Logic, Ninth Edition, Concise, Chapters 1-5, by Walter Sinnott-Armstrong and Robert Fogelin. Course Format: Each week will be divided into multiple video segments that can be viewed separately or in groups. There will be short ungraded quizzes after each segment (to check comprehension) and a longer graded quiz at the end of the course....

Top reviews

FY

Jul 06, 2018

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

SM

Jun 11, 2020

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

Filter by:

576 - 600 of 606 Reviews for Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

By Daniel

Jun 30, 2020

I thought it was overall a helpful class that underlined very important, lifelong skills to arguing, but, at times, it struggled to keep my interest, as much of it was redundant. However, I loved the enthusiasm from the professor and the colorful examples.

By Sophie P K

Jun 03, 2018

There was a lot of new information, I learned a lot. A bit too long for me, since I'm only 9 years old. I'm happy I accomplished it, though! The reason why I gave three stars is because the due dates on the quizzes did not show. It made me rush at the end.

By MAHMOUD M A E

Oct 15, 2020

it is a good course .. thanks to the author .. i don't deny that i expected better than this, but thank you sir for your effort, appreciated.. (I think time could be better managed to half that time probably!).. thanks again :)

By Dorothy H

Aug 17, 2016

Hoping that the next sections won't be so laborious and focussed on analyzing texts in detail. If you want to know how to do such things, then this would be a 5-star course for you.

By Wong H Z

May 07, 2020

Some of the examples are useful/helpful in illustrating the concepts, but there are too much time spent on elaborating the unnecessary or repeating the points.

By Ana I R M

Apr 26, 2020

Se ofrece el curso traducido a varios idiomas pero sólo los videos están traducidos. Los cuestionarios y las preguntas emergentes no están traducidas.

By Joanna C

Apr 19, 2020

There should be more written resources available given the volume of content covered. It was a little hard to retain it all by watching the videos.

By Chandana P

Sep 26, 2020

It was interesting but later i found it boring .But it was a good experience.

Walton sir you were very good.Thank you for giving this class.

By Kseniia L

Mar 06, 2018

First part is quite intresting, but then lectures are too long and repetitive. I suppose previous course was much better.

By Charles E D

Feb 17, 2018

One of the questions I got wrong on the final quiz suggest all birds fly as a correct answer, wrong ALL BIRDS do not fly.

By Regina C

Aug 05, 2020

This course was a struggle for me. The quizzes were sometimes hard to follow when it came to breaking down arguments

By Aijaz A

Jun 23, 2020

The course is overly theoretical with little real world application. This is the reason I lost interest.

By KatieD

Oct 24, 2017

Videos cut off before the end and would instantly start replaying from the beginning

By Gloria L

Aug 06, 2020

I am not too fond of the examples used

By Marilyn M

May 27, 2020

A lot of "okays?' Interesting class

By Charmaine

Aug 05, 2020

A bit boring, sometimes confusing.

By Roger K

Jul 09, 2020

Pretty heavy on the linguistics

By Emil

Jul 11, 2020

This was a strange course.

By Nicole R

May 22, 2018

Somewhat outdated videos.

By Ricardo S

Jul 13, 2020

No es lo que esperaba

By Deepali

May 17, 2020

Super

By Stella O

Sep 15, 2020

I learned a lot about arguments. However, I feel that it was at times very confusing and difficult to understand. There was not enough practice to learn how to apply the theories and concepts of arguments. It was as difficult as taking a Math course without tools for practicing the problems of the concepts and theories. Also, the instructors should refer to other Cousera MOOCs that make learning material easy to recall and fun such as Mindshift (from McMaster University) ; Learning How to Learn (from several partners); Positive Psychology: Resilience Skills (from the University of Pennsylvania); Psychological First Aid (from Johns Hopkins University); and the Science of Success (from the University of Michigan). The professors who teach these courses make it so easy to understand the material and remember it. I have even gone back to review these courses and recommended them to my family members. I will not recommend this course. This MOOC was the first MOOC that I had problems with. I had to take the final quiz more than once in other to pass it. The presentation of the material needs to be improved. This explains why lots of people are not taking the course.

By Eric D

Aug 18, 2020

Not what I was expecting at all... Rather than being called "How to understand arguments" this should be called "How to understand what IS an argument and what parts it is made of. This "course is very theoretical and doesn't really explain how to spot fallacies, shortcuts etc, or how to construct a good, clear argument, which is what I expected from this course. So maybe I just took the wrong class, but to be honest I am disappointed with the time spent and what I've actually learnt.

By Paola S

Jul 06, 2020

In my view, this Course is meaningless. I could pass the final test after completing 1,5 weeks instead of 4. I still can't understand which is the aim of this program. Nevertheless, the teacher is very smart.

By Manisha K

Jul 11, 2020

So difficult. why it has been developed, when persons are not getting achieving it? the course should be not so difficult either not too easy.