Chevron Left
Back to Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments by Duke University

4.6
stars
2,602 ratings
706 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn what an argument is. The definition of argument will enable you to identify when speakers are giving arguments and when they are not. Next, you will learn how to break an argument into its essential parts, how to put them in order to reveal their connections, and how to fill in gaps in an argument by adding suppressed premises. By the end of this course, you will be better able to understand and appreciate arguments that you and other people present. Suggested Readings: Students who want more detailed explanations or additional exercises or who want to explore these topics in more depth should consult Understanding Arguments: An Introduction to Informal Logic, Ninth Edition, Concise, Chapters 1-5, by Walter Sinnott-Armstrong and Robert Fogelin. Course Format: Each week will be divided into multiple video segments that can be viewed separately or in groups. There will be short ungraded quizzes after each segment (to check comprehension) and a longer graded quiz at the end of the course....

Top reviews

AA
Oct 10, 2016

Very good course, made me really think again. The professor is very clear on his explanations and he also made the course smooth and funny, which helped on the learning process. Highly recommended!

FY
Jul 5, 2018

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 698 Reviews for Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

By Paul H

Oct 18, 2020

The lecturer was excellent. He is great fun and his explanations and examples built the learning very well.

By Amy W

Jul 18, 2020

Very well presented! Helpful and fun :D Thanks very much for the course! I look forward to the next one :)

By Vitalii S

Nov 25, 2019

Was interesting to me and make me think in more details after getting knowledge from the course.

Thank you!

By Mardohar B B S

Jul 5, 2020

This is just the first part of the whole course and I have been completely excited by logic -how is that!

By Leyla M

Jan 20, 2021

It is so interesting and with so many examples and explanations, like I wanted!!! Thank you professor!!!

By PJ G

Jan 18, 2021

Logic is tough for me, but this online course made it easier for me to understand it better. Thank you!

By Heba M

May 21, 2019

wonderful experience course is taught in a good manner making it easy for the students to understand it

By Dr. R K V

Jul 17, 2017

This course is very interesting, relevant and useful for all the research scholars as well as teachers.

By haileemiller

Aug 30, 2016

A wonderful lesson that many of us should take a look and learn it! It's a lesson to understanding why.

By Archana R

Sep 24, 2021

Excellent course. Gives practical insights on how to deal with situations and people on a daily basis.

By Susan M

Jun 22, 2017

This entire series was informative, engaging, and fun, and the thinking skills taught are so valuable.

By Golam S T

Jun 29, 2020

It was really a great experience. I hope I can use the knowledge for the betterment of my daily life.

By Douglas D

Sep 15, 2019

Great fun and it really makes you think, as well as change how you view arguments in your daily life.

By Viet D Q

Aug 11, 2021

The course has given useful knowledge and how to think critically. The instructor was also hilarious

By Ayesha I

May 1, 2020

This was an easy course for me. And my first ever online course and Im soooo happy to complete it :)

By Aaron S

Apr 3, 2020

Excellent lectures and lessons. Each quiz does a great job at reviewing the material in each lecture

By Janice L D

Jul 16, 2020

What I thought was simple is more complex! I learned quite a bit on this course. Time well spent.

By Daniel S P

Feb 17, 2021

Really detailed and informative course. Plenty of practice material and well-thought-of lectures.

By Mohammad J Z

Jun 11, 2020

I learned a lot from this course, I think it is best for those who are interested in philosophy.

By Petr L

Jun 4, 2020

Very clear and nice course. Useful - it should be a part all education esp. on university level.

By Cristian N

Mar 26, 2017

Great course for people trying to excels themselves in critical analysis of arguments and debate

By Erika M

Nov 17, 2020

This is a really good course and all the materials are amazing and the prof is really engaging!

By Sevdenur Ç

May 16, 2020

It is a wonderful course! I have learned so many things, the professor is great in every sense.

By Yan L

Sep 13, 2018

The professor is hilarious and knows how to explain very complicated issues with simple words.

By Santiago G

Mar 16, 2018

Excellent delivery; entertaining, concise, clear and well structured. Very useful information.