Chevron Left
Back to Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments by Duke University

4.6
stars
2,467 ratings
667 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn what an argument is. The definition of argument will enable you to identify when speakers are giving arguments and when they are not. Next, you will learn how to break an argument into its essential parts, how to put them in order to reveal their connections, and how to fill in gaps in an argument by adding suppressed premises. By the end of this course, you will be better able to understand and appreciate arguments that you and other people present. Suggested Readings: Students who want more detailed explanations or additional exercises or who want to explore these topics in more depth should consult Understanding Arguments: An Introduction to Informal Logic, Ninth Edition, Concise, Chapters 1-5, by Walter Sinnott-Armstrong and Robert Fogelin. Course Format: Each week will be divided into multiple video segments that can be viewed separately or in groups. There will be short ungraded quizzes after each segment (to check comprehension) and a longer graded quiz at the end of the course....

Top reviews

SM
Jun 10, 2020

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

FY
Jul 5, 2018

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

Filter by:

551 - 575 of 657 Reviews for Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

By Fabio C S

Apr 20, 2020

This is a wonderful basis to understand how can the arguments are made and what are the most basic element to take into account !!

By Delamon R

Jul 9, 2017

great course! but would have been fun if every example throughout had been from a real historical argument (no made up examples).

By Jacquelyn C M

Oct 19, 2020

Much more difficult than I anticipated. Confusing. But I did learn a lot and took tons of notes, so I will review. Thank you.

By 李保燃

May 1, 2017

The course is related with language and logical analysis , so it's a little hard to learn because my English is very poor.

By Fabio D B

May 19, 2020

It's very well-thought. The examples are clear and the explanations are simple.

It lacks more practice exercises, though.

By Karen M

May 18, 2020

An exciting course. This one focusses on the importance and impact of interpretation and language in a conversation.

By Joe B

Apr 17, 2020

I learned a lot about making concise, effective arguments and how to dissect others. Very informative. Thank you.

By Bilal M S

Jun 5, 2020

A well-rounded course. Got bored during some lectures due to the monotonous delivery by the instructor.

By Sarah D

Feb 5, 2019

Interesting and helpful in becoming more analytical. Also helped to raise awareness of language usage

By CHEN Y

Aug 27, 2018

Basic knowledge and theory for logic, useful if you want to learn deeper about logic reasoning.

By ajay s

Oct 29, 2016

One splendid course ! I thoroughly enjoyed taking it and look forward to the next part of it.

By Sean F

Apr 30, 2020

Enjoyed the instructor's personality, examples and approach to explaining the topics covered.

By Christabell O

Dec 29, 2020

The course was very easy to follow, fun and the instructor was very engaging and humorous!

By George E

Feb 28, 2017

Very engaging lecturer for what could be a very dry subject.

In depth analysis and examples

By Flavia O S d S L

May 4, 2018

Excellent explanations and excellent instructor. Only the subject that is very difficult.

By Preethy A M

May 18, 2019

I found the validity portion to be confusing. Other parts of the class were interesting.

By Yingrui X

Sep 3, 2017

it is interesting, and if the process of the whole class be more efficient will be nice.

By Ayden H

Dec 15, 2020

Entertaining to watch and learned a lot, wish it was a little more challenging though.

By Adan R V

Apr 29, 2018

I would have a formal test every week to pass the whole course instead of a final quiz

By Aslam R

Aug 7, 2017

The lectures were excellent with a touch of humor. All the quiz were nice but tough.

By حمود ب س ب ح ا

Aug 30, 2020

great class with great professors

I have learned a lot and never felt bored about it

By Justin G

Oct 16, 2018

I recommend to pretty much all audiences who are interested in these kinds of things

By Sandra L M P

Feb 23, 2019

Excelente curso para mejorar redacción, comprensión y hasta escritura de un texto.

By Antoine K

Oct 19, 2017

Interesting course and the material was clearly explained by the professor.

By Igor B

Jun 3, 2020

A great course, although it gets quite complicated during the third week.