Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Financial Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Financial Markets by University of Geneva

4.7
stars
4,133 ratings
861 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn what the main financial markets and their characteristics are as well as how they are linked to the economy. Our very diversified team of experts will start by teaching you how the price of stocks and bonds are computed and why they move while you will become increasingly aware of the notion of risk and why it matters when measuring an investment's performance. The focus will then move to less popular markets such as gold, emerging markets, real estate, hedge funds and private markets. These will be analyzed with an emphasis on their particular risks and return opportunities as well as how they can help in building efficient portfolios. Finally, the policies of central banks and their impact on financial markets will be presented to you along with the link between the economy and the price of financial assets. All along these different steps, experts from UBS, our corporate partner, will show you how the concepts you just acquired are effectively applied in a leading global bank. This focus on practicality means you will not only understand what is going on in global financial markets but also start to figure out how you can use them to achieve financial goals, be it a client's or your own. Course Director and main teaching contributor: Dr. Michel Girardin, Lecturer in Macro-Finance, University of Geneva...

Top reviews

MC

Jul 17, 2017

Mr. Michel is really an amazing teacher! His lectures are vivic and greatly attracts my attention. I hope to take more of his classes because I've Learned more than I nomally can do in a short class

SA

Feb 01, 2020

All the instructors were very knowledgeable and used lots of real life examples to explain the theory. They were also kind of funny and turned a "stiff" topic into a lively and fascinating story.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 842 Reviews for Understanding Financial Markets

By Ramanand G

Feb 08, 2020

This is the best course on financial market and also somehow difficult and easy but apart from it i enjoyed it.

By Andre v B K

May 22, 2020

Great! Thanks for sharing all this knowledge. Great teaching methods, very useful charts and lots of insights.

By Selin Ş

Jun 12, 2020

Amazing demonstrations of economical theories by Michel Girardin! Thanks for the course, absolutely loved it.

By Santiago R R

Aug 26, 2020

Amazing course. I think it's the best i've taken out of the 15+ courses I have experienced here in Coursera.

By Eberto

Jun 30, 2020

Highly recommended course! The instructors explain very difficult concepts in a very easy way to understand.

By Masutano M

May 30, 2018

Brilliantly put out! well composed courses! rich with information and great insight to the world of finance!

By Bilal A L

Nov 26, 2016

one of the best courses available for those who are keen to learn and understand how financial markets work.

By Mario I

Mar 01, 2016

Excellent course, covering an ample field in finance and economics. Most importantly, top quality educators.

By Alex B

Feb 27, 2016

Educative content. Very good for people who want to have a better understanding about the financial markets.

By Rodolfo J H

Jun 30, 2020

Thanks for the general overview to financial markets it will be very helpfull for my career. Merci beaucoup

By Elly M

Apr 04, 2018

The course content was easy to follow and the instructors were very good at explaining the concepts clearly

By DR I C

Mar 28, 2017

I found this to be a very well put together Course. If I do not offend may I comment on the verbal delivery

By Ayasha A

Jul 07, 2019

This course me helped me a lot to learn new aspects related with financial market term. Thank you courser.

By Ana L C d M

May 05, 2016

Superb course! The topics are beautifully explained. Very pragmatic and systematic approach to the issues.

By Gustavo B F

Sep 07, 2020

Curso sensacional. Dá uma visão sensacional do mercado financeiro, não deixa passar nada, super completo.

By Sabine K

Oct 31, 2017

good course on basics of bond and equity markets, incl link with monetary policy and macroeconomic state.

By Solomon A

Oct 05, 2017

Great course. Very practical with many guest lectures who give great insights in their respective fields.

By ANIBAL H B

Oct 03, 2017

EXCELENTE CURSO, MUY BUENA DIDÁCTICA Y MUY COMPLETOS LOS MATERIALES. ME GUSTO MUCHO EL ABORDAJE DE TEMAS

By Brandon R

Nov 13, 2016

Learned a lot in this course. Will definitely review it a second time to fully understand all concepts!

By Leonardo C d J

Sep 18, 2020

An incredible course taught by excellent professors from a fantastic university! I highly recommend it!

By Apurv s

May 17, 2020

The course is really helpful in learning the financial market with great content and engaging questions

By Eric L

Apr 30, 2020

Very well done. No complaints. I recommend this to anyone looking to educate themselves on this topic.

By Michael H

Feb 29, 2020

This course gives a great baseline insight into how financial markets work alongside government policy.

By Ricardo B M

Oct 18, 2019

Good complete view of the financial market for beginners, with an easy to understand and fun approach.

By Jeronimo

Dec 01, 2017

Excelente curso. Recomendado para todo aquel interesado en aprender sobre el mundo de las inversiones.