Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Financial Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Financial Markets by University of Geneva

4.7
2,652 ratings
516 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn what the main financial markets and their characteristics are as well as how they are linked to the economy. Our very diversified team of experts will start by teaching you how the price of stocks and bonds are computed and why they move while you will become increasingly aware of the notion of risk and why it matters when measuring an investment's performance. The focus will then move to less popular markets such as gold, emerging markets, real estate, hedge funds and private markets. These will be analyzed with an emphasis on their particular risks and return opportunities as well as how they can help in building efficient portfolios. Finally, the policies of central banks and their impact on financial markets will be presented to you along with the link between the economy and the price of financial assets. All along these different steps, experts from UBS, our corporate partner, will show you how the concepts you just acquired are effectively applied in a leading global bank. This focus on practicality means you will not only understand what is going on in global financial markets but also start to figure out how you can use them to achieve financial goals, be it a client's or your own. Course Director and main teaching contributor: Dr. Michel Girardin, Lecturer in Macro-Finance, University of Geneva...

Top reviews

MC

Jul 17, 2017

Mr. Michel is really an amazing teacher! His lectures are vivic and greatly attracts my attention. I hope to take more of his classes because I've Learned more than I nomally can do in a short class

AF

Mar 15, 2016

This course excellent provides all the basic information which is important and necessary would recommend the course to all the newbies in financial markets\n\nP.S:The professors are AMAZING!

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 499 Reviews for Understanding Financial Markets

By Andrew K

Jan 21, 2017

Great course!

By Mauricio O

Jun 27, 2017

A great course to understand basic concepts in financial markets. It's very useful for personal finances and also to know how the markets work.

By Thirupathi R J

Nov 02, 2016

Great course for new students, I love to learn. Thank you Coursera

By 卫泓泰

Oct 23, 2017

非常好!很好的打扎实了我的想法,也推荐给了很多人

By M B M

Jun 27, 2018

I enjoyed the clear and basic examination of interactions between bonds. equities, interest rates and inflation. Building a solid logic foundation. Not certain yet how to convert this knowledge into actionable decisions but it forms a great foundation. Many thanks to the excellent instructors.

By Andreas W

Jun 06, 2016

Comprehensive introductory overview. Lecturers are great!

By Jaime A

Jun 03, 2017

Right level of information. Learnt a lot.

By Saswato R

Dec 31, 2016

Great course!

By Ankize L

Jul 25, 2016

very good

By Jeffrey B P

Jun 13, 2017

My view of the course so far is that it's very clear and thorough. I'm excited to see the impact that the course will have in my investing.

By Lenara M

May 11, 2016

Absolutely great course both in terms of content and delivery. A big thank you to the lecturers and course organizers and especially to Michel (loved all his interactive examples)!

By Viktor L

Feb 13, 2016

Excellent Course!

By Robert L

Feb 13, 2016

What sets this course apart from any investing course I've taken elsewhere is the focus on international markets not just the the US or Canada. It is an excellent course for those interested in improving their investing returns

By Alexander T

Jan 26, 2018

Nice teacher, especially Michael

By Maxim S

Sep 05, 2016

Great course! Clear, structured and useful. Very nice instructors make it interesting and enjoyable.

By Hubert Y

Jun 11, 2016

Great! Would like a more mathematical view, though.

By Rajat D

Mar 12, 2017

Great course!

By Erick A A P

Sep 16, 2016

Excellent

By Sean L

Feb 12, 2017

Accessible for learners with close to zero background.

By Phibion M

Mar 29, 2018

interesting as an exposure. Enjoyed learning things that I didn't know and also being able to look at things in a way I had not previously considered

By zineb K

Jul 04, 2017

This course is brilliant- I enjoyed learning new information about the financial market and the instructors made it easy to grasp the information by using easy to understand examples.

Many thanks,

Zineb

By Shafiqul I

Mar 14, 2018

A great course! Finance is a heavy lunch/dinner for the brain, but if you have a cook like Dr. Michel Girardin, you'll love till the end. I urge all to experience it to be the knowledgeable modern person.

By ahmed E a

Mar 06, 2016

I thank all who shares in preparation of this great course.

By Gleb V

Apr 25, 2017

очень крутой курс

By Carolina A

Aug 11, 2016

Excellent. Covers a great range of issues and teaches us the basic but pra