Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Financial Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Financial Markets by University of Geneva

4.7
2,643 ratings
515 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn what the main financial markets and their characteristics are as well as how they are linked to the economy. Our very diversified team of experts will start by teaching you how the price of stocks and bonds are computed and why they move while you will become increasingly aware of the notion of risk and why it matters when measuring an investment's performance. The focus will then move to less popular markets such as gold, emerging markets, real estate, hedge funds and private markets. These will be analyzed with an emphasis on their particular risks and return opportunities as well as how they can help in building efficient portfolios. Finally, the policies of central banks and their impact on financial markets will be presented to you along with the link between the economy and the price of financial assets. All along these different steps, experts from UBS, our corporate partner, will show you how the concepts you just acquired are effectively applied in a leading global bank. This focus on practicality means you will not only understand what is going on in global financial markets but also start to figure out how you can use them to achieve financial goals, be it a client's or your own. Course Director and main teaching contributor: Dr. Michel Girardin, Lecturer in Macro-Finance, University of Geneva...

Top reviews

MC

Jul 17, 2017

Mr. Michel is really an amazing teacher! His lectures are vivic and greatly attracts my attention. I hope to take more of his classes because I've Learned more than I nomally can do in a short class

AF

Mar 15, 2016

This course excellent provides all the basic information which is important and necessary would recommend the course to all the newbies in financial markets\n\nP.S:The professors are AMAZING!

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 497 Reviews for Understanding Financial Markets

By wafula c

Aug 24, 2017

very nice course

By Richard E B

Nov 27, 2017

Excellent subjects, really good content, valuable information.

By Alex K

Sep 20, 2016

A very comprehensive, informative, and engaging course.

By alice m

Jun 24, 2018

Professors and invited lecturers were excellent in delivering message. There is a difference in how we approach finance and quizzes in Usa vs. Europe. I was challenged by that but very happy to learn this new perspective. It makes me want more.

By 许佳靖

Dec 12, 2016

great!

By Yuvraj H

Feb 09, 2017

Great learning! The way the proffessor taught is commendable.

Even a novice can benefit and learn alot in finance through this course!

Thanks to the whole team.

By Teodora B

Sep 25, 2016

This course is an excellent introduction to financial markets. Everything is explained clearly and concisely. Though it would be nice if foreign exchange markets could also be covered. All in all, excellent course. Thank you!

By Соколов А В

Nov 09, 2017

It was interesting, but it is the first time i have studied something in English. I liked the examples and illustrations and I loved the teachers as well. I think I will have another look at the course in the future.

By David S

Aug 19, 2017

Great for understanding or refreshing the basics.

By Alexander B

Jul 24, 2017

The lecturers are very engaged and try to explain the course content in detail and understandable. The short questions during the videos help to keep you focused on the essential parts of the content and make the concepts clear on a more practical level again.

By Harry L

Sep 03, 2017

fantanstic course.

By Francisco L

Nov 11, 2016

I

By mustafa h

Jul 16, 2017

amazing

By Schubert K

Sep 25, 2016

Excellent course

By Brandon R

Nov 13, 2016

Learned a lot in this course. Will definitely review it a second time to fully understand all concepts!

By Jamie L

Oct 03, 2016

Very enjoyable.

By Costin T

Dec 02, 2016

Outstanding teachers, excellent explanations with real-life examples, making complex topics understandable quite easily. Congratulations

By Ghassen M

Aug 24, 2016

I found this course very informative especially after the first week.

Great thanks to Mr. Michel who made this course easy to understand, a great teacher indeed.

By Dishyant

Jun 03, 2017

The course material is described pretty well.

By Junqing L

Jan 29, 2018

A very helpful introductory course. Michel is really good!

By Shirokov B

Apr 14, 2017

This course has been an amazing experience that broadened my understanding of financial markets! I recommend it to anyone interested in this area and wants to pursue it.

By Mihai T

Nov 13, 2016

a lot of usefull information, presented in an intuitive manner. Thank You!

By Richard S N D

Sep 06, 2017

Extremely good, content, teachers, levels of information and accuracy, I recommend it for any novice or experienced person who wishes to strengthen knowledge and understanding of the financial markets and the management of investment portfolios

By Antriksh P

Aug 20, 2017

Learned a lot of new things.

By Pablo S

Jun 24, 2018

Amazing course and very well summerized all the concepts