Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Financial Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Financial Markets by University of Geneva

4.7
2,608 ratings
507 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn what the main financial markets and their characteristics are as well as how they are linked to the economy. Our very diversified team of experts will start by teaching you how the price of stocks and bonds are computed and why they move while you will become increasingly aware of the notion of risk and why it matters when measuring an investment's performance. The focus will then move to less popular markets such as gold, emerging markets, real estate, hedge funds and private markets. These will be analyzed with an emphasis on their particular risks and return opportunities as well as how they can help in building efficient portfolios. Finally, the policies of central banks and their impact on financial markets will be presented to you along with the link between the economy and the price of financial assets. All along these different steps, experts from UBS, our corporate partner, will show you how the concepts you just acquired are effectively applied in a leading global bank. This focus on practicality means you will not only understand what is going on in global financial markets but also start to figure out how you can use them to achieve financial goals, be it a client's or your own. Course Director and main teaching contributor: Dr. Michel Girardin, Lecturer in Macro-Finance, University of Geneva...

Top reviews

MC

Jul 17, 2017

Mr. Michel is really an amazing teacher! His lectures are vivic and greatly attracts my attention. I hope to take more of his classes because I've Learned more than I nomally can do in a short class

AF

Mar 15, 2016

This course excellent provides all the basic information which is important and necessary would recommend the course to all the newbies in financial markets\n\nP.S:The professors are AMAZING!

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 491 Reviews for Understanding Financial Markets

By Juan J B

Feb 03, 2018

It is an excellent course, very easy to understand and the professor Michel Girardin is great.

By Praneeth K

May 17, 2017

Thanks very much for the course. Would've been more challenging if there were new questions in the graded quiz during retake

By Haoran G

Oct 28, 2017

perfect

By WADHAH A M H A

Jan 25, 2018

Good

By Leteshia C

Oct 10, 2017

Excellent! As a beginner this clearly introduced various types of investments and their usages. The only issue I have is all the math equations were not clearly explained but still an excellent course.

By Aaron K

Oct 03, 2017

An excellent overview of the key assets that can be invested in on global financial markets and a thorough grounding in macro-finance from the teaching team at University of Geneva. A fitting introduction for the 4-course MOOC!

By Simone F

Dec 24, 2017

Very useful and interesting course.

By Liya C

Nov 06, 2017

This class review Essential concepts of investment- risk & return, within the framework of Macroeconomic. It's the first listen teaching what to put in a diversified portfolio.

By Jeronimo

Dec 01, 2017

Excelente curso. Recomendado para todo aquel interesado en aprender sobre el mundo de las inversiones.

By Masutano M

May 30, 2018

Brilliantly put out! well composed courses! rich with information and great insight to the world of finance!

By Stefano P

Dec 04, 2017

Great!!

By Scalesse

Apr 18, 2018

Very good course with superb analogies to understand some financial key concepts

By chester b

Aug 17, 2017

loved it and late earn great deal about financial markets

By Khrenkov V

Jan 17, 2018

не плохо

By Akshay G M

Jul 24, 2017

v

By Sylwia D

Oct 25, 2017

I have enjoyed every single lesson a lot! Very interesting course and very well done! Thank you!

By Aron L

Jun 27, 2017

Simply Brilliant. Highly recommended!

By Nidhi j

Jan 24, 2018

well laid out course and extensive yet well explained .understanding and clarity of micro economics more for me.Being already part of the financial industry really feel the connection and the utility of the concepts .

By Barak

Jan 14, 2018

Thank you so much.

By Samathida K

Mar 07, 2016

Very organized. The quizzes in between the videos really help keeping the learner focused and engaged. Lengths of videos are short, which is good for revisiting for a particular topic rather than go through a long video.

By Ankit G

Dec 22, 2016

Well-taught!

By Galia D

Dec 27, 2016

Excellent course for those of you who want to succeed and build their own wealthbeing! Professors (pr Michel Girardin in particular) are handsome people who will make you fall in love with financial world

By Jinglei G

Aug 11, 2016

ver

By Abanob R

Dec 27, 2016

very useful to help you in understanding how financial markets work , and how they react to number of variables especially Economic and monetary variables

By DR I C

Mar 28, 2017

I found this to be a very well put together Course. If I do not offend may I comment on the verbal delivery