Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Financial Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Financial Markets by University of Geneva

4.8
stars
4,929 ratings
1,044 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn what the main financial markets and their characteristics are as well as how they are linked to the economy. Our very diversified team of experts will start by teaching you how the price of stocks and bonds are computed and why they move while you will become increasingly aware of the notion of risk and why it matters when measuring an investment's performance. The focus will then move to less popular markets such as gold, emerging markets, real estate, hedge funds and private markets. These will be analyzed with an emphasis on their particular risks and return opportunities as well as how they can help in building efficient portfolios. Finally, the policies of central banks and their impact on financial markets will be presented to you along with the link between the economy and the price of financial assets. All along these different steps, experts from UBS, our corporate partner, will show you how the concepts you just acquired are effectively applied in a leading global bank. This focus on practicality means you will not only understand what is going on in global financial markets but also start to figure out how you can use them to achieve financial goals, be it a client's or your own. Course Director and main teaching contributor: Dr. Michel Girardin, Lecturer in Macro-Finance, University of Geneva...

Top reviews

MC
Jul 16, 2017

Mr. Michel is really an amazing teacher! His lectures are vivic and greatly attracts my attention. I hope to take more of his classes because I've Learned more than I nomally can do in a short class

RC
Oct 5, 2020

Thank you! Coursera for providing me the platform for boosting my knowledge in Financial Markets, as i have learned various financial parts in this subject and this will help me in my carrier too.

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 1,030 Reviews for Understanding Financial Markets

By Gerard J C N

Dec 10, 2020

For the first time I can evaluate bonds & stocks ! Wow ! Thank you ! Hopefully no more losses on indicators & spread betting !

By Dirk R

May 24, 2020

Excellent course. Lot of very illustrative examples as well as a very well-structured curriculum make it easy and fun to learn

By Christoforos C

Mar 30, 2020

Well structured course. All presenters were very good in explaining the various concepts. One of the best courses in Coursera.

By Minas-Marios V

Aug 7, 2016

Excellent course for beginners with small or zero background on Finance. Really passionate teachers and solid course material.

By Tatiana D

May 6, 2021

Very nice foundations course! Wish the concept of duration was explained a little better but other than that, rest was great!

By Apoorv K

Jun 14, 2020

Absolutely fantastic job done by professors and guest lecturers. Great style of explaining the difficult bits of the content!

By Koruprolu S

Sep 17, 2020

This course is great, indeed the best. I believe a student must have basic knowledge of finance before starting this course.

By Viraat S

Jul 11, 2020

Amazing course. Demonstrations, historical data and analogies used make this financial markets course easy and fun to learn.

By Alvaro G

Apr 10, 2020

Really well-paced course with clear and fun examples. I loved the lectures with Michel, you can see that he enjoys teaching!

By Nkemjika U

Jun 17, 2017

The lecturers did a fine job breaking down the course and making it really easy to understand. I totally enjoyed the course.

By Praneeth K

May 17, 2017

Thanks very much for the course. Would've been more challenging if there were new questions in the graded quiz during retake

By Elton F K W

Mar 14, 2016

Lively demonstration of concepts and excellent, knowledgeable professors. Would strongly recommend to my friends and family!

By VISHAL P M

Jul 15, 2018

I followed this course in order to developed my professional skills.And It was great experience learning with these course.

By IOANNIS A

Jan 1, 2021

The Course was very very interesting and useful. Thanks a lot for giving us the opportunity to get this kind of knowledge.

By JARUBOOT A

Jan 23, 2017

Good course. However, the language used in this course was a bit tough for a foreigner (non-english speaking participant).

By Andrew G

Jun 26, 2016

Very well delivered, clearly a lot of effort went into it on behalf of the excellent lecturers and the quality production

By Alberto G L

Jul 26, 2020

A very interesting course that has helped mi a lot to understand the financial english and markets that englobe finance.

By Ekaterina C

Jan 15, 2019

Simple, direct, and geared at beginners. I understood more taking this course than I did after a semester in university.

By Ashlin G

Sep 15, 2016

Great course with amazing lecturers and insightful content. The lecture style was fun interactive and really engaged me.

By Priya A M

Mar 31, 2019

This was a well-planned well-delivered course. I really enjoyed all the lectures, especially Prof. Girardin's lectures.

By Messias U

Dec 26, 2016

It was my first glimpse inside the strange world of making money by being patient. Rushing takes us nowhere. Thank you.

By Akshat T

Mar 13, 2021

Just loved the course. Thanks to the instructors for explaining each and every detailed information in a clear manner.

By Dan M

Sep 20, 2020

Very interesting course so far, explains some relationships in financial markets that I previously did not understand.

By Emilio S G

Jul 19, 2020

Summarized and to the point. Excellent introductory course. Includes the basics of everything you need as an investor.

By Valentina L d C

May 16, 2020

Connects the theory with practical examples that help illustrate what is happening in the world today! Amazing course!