Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Financial Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Financial Markets by University of Geneva

4.7
stars
4,407 ratings
920 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn what the main financial markets and their characteristics are as well as how they are linked to the economy. Our very diversified team of experts will start by teaching you how the price of stocks and bonds are computed and why they move while you will become increasingly aware of the notion of risk and why it matters when measuring an investment's performance. The focus will then move to less popular markets such as gold, emerging markets, real estate, hedge funds and private markets. These will be analyzed with an emphasis on their particular risks and return opportunities as well as how they can help in building efficient portfolios. Finally, the policies of central banks and their impact on financial markets will be presented to you along with the link between the economy and the price of financial assets. All along these different steps, experts from UBS, our corporate partner, will show you how the concepts you just acquired are effectively applied in a leading global bank. This focus on practicality means you will not only understand what is going on in global financial markets but also start to figure out how you can use them to achieve financial goals, be it a client's or your own. Course Director and main teaching contributor: Dr. Michel Girardin, Lecturer in Macro-Finance, University of Geneva...

Top reviews

MC
Jul 16, 2017

Mr. Michel is really an amazing teacher! His lectures are vivic and greatly attracts my attention. I hope to take more of his classes because I've Learned more than I nomally can do in a short class

RC
Oct 5, 2020

Thank you! Coursera for providing me the platform for boosting my knowledge in Financial Markets, as i have learned various financial parts in this subject and this will help me in my carrier too.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 900 Reviews for Understanding Financial Markets

By Mykola P

Sep 28, 2020

Logical structure, useful practical knowledge, friendly interface, welcome intructors!

Strongly recommend this course for better view of financial markets and our(participants) role in it.

By Cédric J

May 2, 2020

Good course to understand the basics of Financial market. I will recommend to everyone before starting any financial investment. You will have the basic to understand the financial world

By saloni j

Nov 2, 2019

This course is a guide and a beginning to the path towards finance and investment banking. This course will deal with the macroeconomic concepts. It also deals with the basics of finance.

By Shivam S

Oct 5, 2019

This course helped me to understand financial markets, instruments used in the financial market. I believe that after this course my understanding of the financial market improved a lot.

By Stephen v d T

Jun 30, 2018

A great course for somebody who wants an introductory understanding to financial markets and what makes them tick. Also great for accounting and finance professionals who need a refresh.

By SOURAV S

Jul 4, 2020

this course is really helpful for the finance beginners. Though I am from commerce and finance background, I have learned a lot in reading and following the financial markets in-depth.

By CHIRAG M

Jun 1, 2019

This course is phenomenal and easy to understand. The only difficult part is the Module 4. All the knowledge provided under this course is practical and can be implemented immediately.

By Johry L

Mar 4, 2019

This course provided me a thorough understanding of Financial Market. I would recommend all of those wish to get thorough financial market understanding, should enroll for this course.

By Neeraj J

Sep 18, 2016

I am very happy that I took the course and completed it. It was very insightful and the Michel was amazing in his lectures. I look forward to taking few more courses Thank you to all.

By JUAN C R C

Jun 12, 2016

Incredible Course! Thumbs up! Finance is a fundamental aspect of our lives and we would all do well understanding how we can use the markets to improve our future. Thank You very much

By Venkatesh A

Jan 15, 2018

As a beginner into world of finance, find this module completely intriguing, informative and a peek through of what generally is what. Moving onto to module two for more learning :)

By Lenara M

May 11, 2016

Absolutely great course both in terms of content and delivery. A big thank you to the lecturers and course organizers and especially to Michel (loved all his interactive examples)!

By LUIS G

Nov 16, 2020

This course is really amazing and funny. Made it easier to understand complex concepts that I struggled at University. Once I started the lessons I could not stop. Just amazing.

By Jason E

Nov 8, 2020

It was the perfect combination of lecture, real life examples, and testing of knowledge. I love the self paced approach and the readings that accompany the course. Very well done!

By SUMAN K

May 7, 2019

Fantastic course on the basics of financial markets. Concepts have been explained in a very interesting manner, keeping the interest of the participant high throughout the course.

By Erjon

May 1, 2019

I enjoyed every minute of this course. The course is structured perfectly and the professors are very professional and the best i have ever had the pleaser to listen to.

Thank you

By Wilson D J

Mar 25, 2018

I like this course as it is perfect for beginners like me. I was able to learn a lot of concepts. It helps that I can retake the course again and again so that I would not forget

By Ralph H

Mar 29, 2020

I am very happy with the course material and the presentations by Michel, in particular for the practical examples which help a lot to understand the underlying concepts better.

By Liya C

Nov 5, 2017

This class review Essential concepts of investment- risk & return, within the framework of Macroeconomic. It's the first listen teaching what to put in a diversified portfolio.

By Parth D

Nov 9, 2020

Got to learn a lot about Finance in this course , seemingly complicated topics related to investment management were made very easy in this course . I love Professor Michele .

By Evan B

May 20, 2019

The instructors present many concrete examples for highly conceptual material. This approach makes learning and extrapolating easy. I recommend the course without reservation.

By Syed A

Oct 21, 2020

Very Informative Course. Contained practical information which is applicable in modern day scenario. Faculty we explained the concepts crisp and clean with suitable examples.

By Doris R T

Mar 11, 2020

Awesome lecturers and contents. Lively presentation with many examples. I find it useful for a beginner like myself to understand the financial baisics. Highly recommended!

By Mukesh A

Dec 24, 2018

Dr. Michel has an extremely intuitive and easy way to explain complex topics. Highly recommend even if you have been working in financial industry for a number of years.

By SUTHAKHAR P

Dec 10, 2018

It was a great course for beginners like me. Professor Michel was fabulous with his explanations and examples. Looking forward for the second part of the specialization.