Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Obesity

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Obesity by The University of Edinburgh

4.6
stars
521 ratings
138 reviews

About the Course

In this course, we’ll look at the facts and misconceptions around obesity and discuss key physiological and psychological concepts around the brain’s control of appetite and body weight. We’ll consider the biological and environmental pressures that make it easy to gain weight (and hard to lose it!). Most importantly, we'll give you the opportunity to reflect on your own knowledge and assumptions around the subject. We deliver course materials as a mixture of videos, audio-only MOOCcasts, and a selection of short readings. There are short weekly quizzes, a peer-reviewed exercise, and discussion activities on the forum. These will help you prepare for the final project. In it, you are invited to demonstrate your evidence-informed understanding and express how you'll develop it beyond the course. The course features Citizen Science projects. We'll collect data from you (anonymously, of course) and use it to drive participant-led discussions of controversial ideas. In this way, we hope to explore ideas around diet and obesity. These projects also give a taste of how scientific evidence is collected and interpreted by scientists, and give some indication how much there still is to discover and understand....

Top reviews

MP

Apr 15, 2022

The course opens the door to a better understanding of obesity, through a simple but evidence-based explanation. It is highly recommended for anyone wishing to learn about obesity without bias.

DA

Apr 26, 2021

Enjoyed every minute of this learning experience. Appreciate the layout of the course, content, relevance to my work, and the global needs of the current day! Thank you.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 139 Reviews for Understanding Obesity

By Montserrat C F

Sep 15, 2020

Great course. It has many interesting information and points of view around the culture of dieting and eating habits.

By Luisa S

May 7, 2018

This course was very helpful for me. I learn a lot and now Im implementing all the things that I learned here.

By Pucci A

Aug 16, 2017

Really interesting course. It explains the complexity of obesity and proposes some ways to treat the problem.

By A B

Aug 21, 2017

Really useful and interesting approach of the psychology and biology of obesity! Thanks a lot!

By Geraldine M

Aug 21, 2017

Excelente curso, información muy interesante.

By Jennifer B

Apr 21, 2017

Very interesting course! Thank you very much!

By Marwa A A E

Jun 21, 2020

This is the beginning and I want to continue

By Mohamed A H

Mar 7, 2021

Very good course

By Aamna A

Sep 14, 2021

​It is very informative about the health problems caused by unhealthy eating and explains in an understandable manner. By the end of this course, you are guaranteed to have the right concepts of obesity and a healthy life in your head. It is also very easy to understand, anyone above the age of 14 could do this course! This is definitely a must-learn!

By Ayub N K

Aug 27, 2021

T​his course is very rich in content and the analysis on obesity is quite deep. I learned a lot from this course and got many new insight on obesity from many experts during this course. It's worth to spend some time to take this course. Special thanks to professor John Menzies.

By Miguel a P

Apr 16, 2022

The course opens the door to a better understanding of obesity, through a simple but evidence-based explanation. It is highly recommended for anyone wishing to learn about obesity without bias.

By Lisa G

Jun 13, 2021

F​antastic! Well laid out and insightful. Can't wait for another Level or Specialization to be added for this course.

By Borislav I

Aug 3, 2021

F​antastic course. A little short but the most important information is inside. Highly recommend it.

By Maria M

Mar 1, 2022

Excelente! Recomendo vivamente pelo insight que fornece num tema tão complexo e escorregadio. AM

By malebogo m R

Dec 6, 2019

THIS WAS VERY INFORMATIVE AND IT WILL HELP ME DEAL WITH OBESITY WHICH IS A PROBLEM TO MANY.

By Flor d l A C H

Aug 26, 2020

Es un curso rápido y explicado de una forma tan sencilla que logras entender todo muy bien.

By Farida A

Sep 22, 2018

I loved how they talk about obesity from global view and epidemic, not just as individuals.

By vaishali s

Dec 26, 2017

Helped me a lot in understanding not just physiological but psychological aspects too.

By Shahriar A

Jan 4, 2018

very much informative , engaging but not enough money to get paid for the certificate

By Qusai B

Jan 11, 2021

Excellent course with great assignments and quizzes to embed knowledge.

Very helpful.

By OSCAR M M G

Jan 24, 2021

Great but we could learn more about hormonal genetical obesity problems thank you

By AS C

Sep 10, 2020

Very informative, only regret is that there weren't any current studies included.

By Maureen W

May 5, 2018

Excellent. The order of content, the stacking of logic, the professor. Thank you!

By Belinda M

Sep 3, 2021

Fantastic Course. I really enjoyed it. felt it was easy to follow and complete

By Luisa F D B

Aug 21, 2020

I think this course was really helpful to understand the complexity of obesity