Chevron Left
Back to Understanding and Visualizing Data with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding and Visualizing Data with Python by University of Michigan

4.7
stars
1,825 ratings
362 reviews

About the Course

In this course, learners will be introduced to the field of statistics, including where data come from, study design, data management, and exploring and visualizing data. Learners will identify different types of data, and learn how to visualize, analyze, and interpret summaries for both univariate and multivariate data. Learners will also be introduced to the differences between probability and non-probability sampling from larger populations, the idea of how sample estimates vary, and how inferences can be made about larger populations based on probability sampling. At the end of each week, learners will apply the statistical concepts they’ve learned using Python within the course environment. During these lab-based sessions, learners will discover the different uses of Python as a tool, including the Numpy, Pandas, Statsmodels, Matplotlib, and Seaborn libraries. Tutorial videos are provided to walk learners through the creation of visualizations and data management, all within Python. This course utilizes the Jupyter Notebook environment within Coursera....

Top reviews

AT
May 21, 2020

Excellent course materials, especially the videos, with content that is thoughtfully composed and carefully edited. Very good python training, great instructors, and overall great learning experience.

VV
Aug 2, 2020

Great course to learn the basics! The supplementary material in Jupyter notebooks is extremely valuable. Really appreciate the PhD students who took the time to explain even the simplest of codes :)

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 361 Reviews for Understanding and Visualizing Data with Python

By Eric M M

Jan 7, 2020

I particularly liked the light introduction of new concepts like methods behind confidence intervals and hypothesis tests. These were then well emphasized via numerous Jupyter Notebooks of varying levels of difficulty. Highly recommendable.

By John P

Apr 5, 2020

Great explanation of statistics! Pretty much exactly what I was looking for, does a great job of explaining sampling theory, and the emphasis is placed more heavily on understanding the nature/theory of statistics than the Python aspect.

By Jafed E G

Jul 6, 2019

I enjoy the lectures. The professor has a good speaking and teaching style which keeps me interested. Lots of concrete math examples which make it easier to understand. Very good slides which are well formulated and easy to understand

By Jeffrey B

Apr 11, 2020

Terrific balance of information and incorporation of Python. I have programmed 40 years BUT am not in any way a programmer... this is my first ever use of Python. It was the perfect level... tough but I could hang enough to get it.

By Kalvin K

Mar 30, 2020

I really enjoyed taking this course. All the teachers did a great job in explaining the information in clear and understandable ways. The layout of the course was also organized which made the whole process easy. I would recommend.

By Aleksandr P

Dec 24, 2019

That is an amazing course for someone, who has at least a little bit of experience with Python under the belt! Definitely recommend it to anyone, who would like to refresh statistical knowledge, learn how to apply it in real life.

By Ashly B

May 21, 2020

This is a great course to start with if you are a beginner to statistics and if you know a little bit of Python. The course material is very good, concepts have been explained very well and the assignments are interesting.

By Purushottam P

Apr 26, 2019

Thanks for everyone involved in preparing the course content. Gained a lot of insights from this course. Really opened my eyes on the basics of statistics. Will definitely complete all the courses of this specialization!

By Jayanth

Aug 10, 2020

Very informative course for beginners and this course motivates the learner to dive into statistics & python code ! jupyter notebooks are very useful which are provided in this course

Thank you for University of Michigan

By DILEEP Y

Jan 6, 2020

I felt pretty good by taking this course. It delves into details of statistics with good hands on python programming. Acts as good foundation course and Will be helpful further gaining knowledge on in depth courses.

By Boinpally H

May 11, 2020

A great course. They example the necessary concepts with the right depth and understanding. Also, love the assignment in python, aids in using them as a template while doing a similar analysis on another dataset.

By Teresita D

Jul 4, 2020

This is an excellent initial course for using python in statistical data processing and analysis of big sets of data, I appreciate the most the lectures on probability and non-probability sampling. Big Thanks.

By MUHAMMAD S

Feb 7, 2021

This course is comprehensively designed and outlined. it's good for the beginner of python and those who want to learn basic statistics. This course explains the concept of statistics with visualization.

By simone z

Jan 17, 2021

Very nice course. You will recap and/or learn a lot of things that are usally not said. Following suggested readings you will find nice material even if some it is not free (please suggest others!).

By May R

Oct 31, 2020

Well organized material. The Discussion forum was the best one I've experienced in my Coursera education. All my questions were answered within one day. The best statistics class I've taken yet!

By Julya

Jan 6, 2021

The course appearance may not as interesting as other courses, but if I have to name a course where my ability increases the most through the learning, I would choose this course. Thank you!

By Siva R K N R

Oct 6, 2020

Very clearly explained each and every topic. Though understanding all the concepts at first is not possible if you got through the videos twice or thrice than you definitely get the concepts

By Sankalp N V

Aug 25, 2020

The course is very well structured. Teaching and links to related articles help us understand the concepts better. Jupyter notebook based python learning is very comfortable and easy to use.

By Deeksha T

May 28, 2020

This course is very good for the people who are not from programming background as everything related to the concepts is very well explained (with programming support) throughout the course

By Vanessa M

Jan 20, 2021

This was a quick way of understanding the basics. I liked how detailed and basic the learning instructions were. Anyone, even those without a statistics background can begin from here

By Janavi G

Jun 11, 2020

The course itself was good. I think I learnt the specific concepts well. However, I would have to go through the general sense of python to actually implement what I learnt here

By Oskar U

Apr 20, 2020

Thanks to this course I have been able to elevate my understanding of research methodology and incorporate a more critical assessment of scientific studies into my daily work.

By Sherwin B

Nov 30, 2020

A really well organized course with plenty of resources to learn how to analyze and visualize data using the suite of Python packages used in statistical analysis. Loved it.

By Samit

Jun 1, 2020

Great course if you want to get a good grasp of intro to statistics. What this course offers is a great content on how to use proper statistical modelling for research.

By Rajesh R

Feb 21, 2019

Very good course instructors ! Excellent balance of basics of statistics and python programming oriented towards data analysis. Thoroughly enjoyed the course material.