Chevron Left
Back to University Teaching

Learner Reviews & Feedback for University Teaching by The University of Hong Kong

4.8
stars
870 ratings
258 reviews

About the Course

University Teaching is an introductory course in teaching and learning in tertiary education, designed by staff at the Centre for the Enhancement of Teaching and Learning at the University of Hong Kong. With input from instructors, guests and interviewees, including teaching award winners, students, and experts in the fields, you will be exposed to research evidence in relation to effective university teaching and practical instructional design strategies. You will also be exposed to multiple examples of effective teaching, and hear the views of teachers whose teaching has been judged to be excellent. More specifically, University Teaching will help you to address the following questions: - What does teaching in higher education involve? - What does research evidence tell us about effective teaching in higher education? - How can we ensure that our instructional design will help our students achieve their intended learning outcomes? - What pedagogic options do we have to make our teaching successful? - What assessment and feedback practices can help our students learn more effectively? After completing the learning tasks in this course, you will be able to: - Discuss the teaching and learning context in higher education and reflect on the potential challenges and opportunities you might encounter. - Explain key teaching and learning concepts and relevant evidence in relation to effective university teaching. - Analyse the relationships between various aspects of teaching and student learning. - Identify a range of instructional strategies to support effective student learning. - Apply key concepts to the structuring of course outlines and lesson plans in order to create learning experiences to support successful student learning. Course trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZJu-dViz3NE Course outline: http://www.cetl.hku.hk/wp-content/uploads/2017/03/CETL-MOOC-course-outline.pdf...

Top reviews

SB
Sep 2, 2020

Dear Instructors and course co-ordinators,\n\nI really enjoyed this course. You explained all concepts very clear and in a simple manner. I wish to attend more courses from you. Keep going. Love you.

IH
Oct 10, 2020

Very well laid out and explained. The short videos are clear and on topic, and the quizzes at the end of each module are well reflective of the content. I feel like I learned a lot!

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 256 Reviews for University Teaching

By Peter H

Apr 28, 2019

This course is a way more effective than I thought. Key-knowledge, easy to sustain attention and high quality in design.

By Abdul A J

Mar 22, 2020

Quite a good and comprehensive foundational teaching course, with great focus on University and its challenges.

By Eric G

Mar 3, 2019

It is amazing to learn the fundamentals about what we use to learn in practice. Thanks a lot for this course!

By Erin S

Oct 21, 2019

Flexible with completion and assignments. Many helpful learning and teaching tools and strategies presented.

By Solange A

Aug 29, 2018

Excelente curso, explican a detalle las buenas prácticas a seguir para tener un buen desempeño como profesor

By Barannik T

Jul 17, 2020

Excellent course, I highly recommend it to both beginning and experienced teachers. Thank you very much.

By Shivani J

Aug 1, 2021

It will give you new insight  for teaching practice. I enjoyed it a lot and more obviously learnt more.

By Venkata N K P

Aug 18, 2020

Wonderful course on teaching and learning activities, very impressed with assessment and feedback etc

By M.K.Kasun D W

Nov 7, 2018

Well designed course to learn basics of pedagogy that is vitally important to be a university teacher

By Kholekile D

Mar 3, 2021

My feedback can be shared by coursera. This was a great course indeed would love taking it further

By Víthor R F

Jan 14, 2020

So great to correct previous bias you had and to validate some things you learned from experience.

By Dr M C R

Sep 2, 2020

Nice programs which gives us different kind of techniques to teach online for university students

By DIEGO F G P

Nov 21, 2020

Magnifico curso, fue una experiencia muy agradable y fortificante para el la formación académica

By Dr. B V

Aug 15, 2020

I am very happy to share to do this course, i learn best practices from this course, Thank you

By Shahjahan A

Aug 6, 2020

Excellent course with very helpful content. Loved it so much. Learned a lot from this course.

By Jenny L

Aug 16, 2020

Very-well designed course. Further examples of teaching approach and methods are expected.

By Kilintari M

Oct 24, 2019

Very well structured and presented; reading material provided extremely useful. Thank you.

By Lakshmi R R L

Aug 18, 2020

The University Teaching course is useful for the beginner as well as the senior teachers.

By Radha R

Aug 9, 2020

Great Course! In detail discussion of University pedagogy and application of technology!

By Rodrigo E P M

Sep 1, 2020

An excellent introductory course to teaching at university levels. Highly recommended.

By Manigandan M

Aug 31, 2020

Learned many interesting topics, I will implement all these in my regular course work

By WangQian

Dec 24, 2017

clear format, important concept, clear and understandable flipped learning materials.

By PODUGU S C

Aug 26, 2020

nice and more effective Methodologies and immensive teaching challenges i learned

By Senada Z

Jul 12, 2020

Excellent course! Very useful and very well planned. I would highly recommend it.

By Ho Y T

May 13, 2020

THANK YOU VERY MUCH. I HAVE GAINED A LOT KNOWLEDGE AND EXPERIENCE IN THIS COURSE.