Chevron Left
Back to The Unix Workbench

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Unix Workbench by Johns Hopkins University

4.7
stars
1,152 ratings
355 reviews

About the Course

Unix forms a foundation that is often very helpful for accomplishing other goals you might have for you and your computer, whether that goal is running a business, writing a book, curing disease, or creating the next great app. The means to these goals are sometimes carried out by writing software. Software can’t be mined out of the ground, nor can software seeds be planted in spring to harvest by autumn. Software isn’t produced in factories on an assembly line. Software is a hand-made, often bespoke good. If a software developer is an artisan, then Unix is their workbench. Unix provides an essential and simple set of tools in a distraction-free environment. Even if you’re not a software developer learning Unix can open you up to new methods of thinking and novel ways to scale your ideas. This course is intended for folks who are new to programming and new to Unix-like operating systems like macOS and Linux distributions like Ubuntu. Most of the technologies discussed in this course will be accessed via a command line interface. Command line interfaces can seem alien at first, so this course attempts to draw parallels between using the command line and actions that you would normally take while using your mouse and keyboard. You’ll also learn how to write little pieces of software in a programming language called Bash, which allows you to connect together the tools we’ll discuss. My hope is that by the end of this course you be able to use different Unix tools as if they’re interconnecting Lego bricks....

Top reviews

RW
Apr 29, 2020

This is a very friendly step-by-step guide to Unix for beginners, it helps to build a solid foundation, and the exercises are designed to explore more about what has been introduced in the course.

KS
Jan 28, 2018

A wonderful course! Answered so many questions I had and gave me a solid background in Git, Bash, makefiles, and working from the cloud. I will definitely be using these skills in my job search!

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 350 Reviews for The Unix Workbench

By Kyösti P

Mar 10, 2019

Excellent introductory course in to Unix and utilizing some of the basic command line functions as well as some of the progarmming structure basics.

By Kirulkar R B

Feb 20, 2018

I learn so many new commands from this course.

and one more important thing is basic standard skeleton of bash programming as well as git-hub basic.

By Roger C

Oct 29, 2017

It's very simple bash (my attention part!) tutorials, and I suggest the video teaching is much better than boring plain text.

By bikarna p

Apr 12, 2020

I enjoyed the course. However, I would have enjoyed still more, if there were demos using videos rather than mere texts.

By thejas

Aug 30, 2020

A great course that is easy to understand and implement it. A good start for beginners with little experience.

By Sai K G B

Aug 12, 2020

Could have been little crisp and more live demos if possible...Overall a very good course for the beginners

By Abhishek k

Jan 31, 2019

This course good for beginners...and helpful for learning git, linux bash shell and git.Thanks

By Francisco A d A e L

Oct 16, 2017

Excelent course! I am very fluent in R but never tried Unix. This was the perfect opportunity.

By Dharmesh S

Mar 3, 2018

The course is good for anyone trying to learn basics of UNIX and especially the GIT command

By Sajjad B S

Feb 27, 2018

The Bash Programming Sections Could Have Been More Detailed.

Everything Else Is All Right.

By Miguel F

Sep 7, 2017

Very good introduction to the command line i wish that could have more demanding exercises.

By محمد أ

Jun 4, 2019

Course is easy and straightforward, no excessive effort is needed to complete it.

By Prakash C

May 14, 2020

A goto course if required concise and fast understanding of unix command line.

By Tyler S

Jan 27, 2020

Strong logical progression in teaching and well-developed training exercises.

By Jiazhi G

Sep 8, 2017

Simple and clear materials for self-learning basic Unix and Bash programming.

By Dhruvak

May 20, 2019

Material was great. However, last assignment instructions were not clear.

By Dmitry B

Nov 6, 2018

Good and well-paced course. I'd like to see more Unix and less clouds.

By Deleted A

May 21, 2018

All very good. Week 4 is too much work compared to other weeks

By Sharad K

Feb 25, 2018

It is the best online course with effective assignments !

By Ashkan R

Dec 29, 2017

Easy to cope and very enjoyable hands-on style course.

By Arunagiri S

Jun 25, 2020

Code review comments should be in specific.

By Surinder R

Dec 19, 2017

This is a good course for a level2 beginner

By Hareesh S G

May 25, 2020

Very good course for the beginners.

By Kathi R R

Feb 16, 2019

One word "SeanKross is awesome."

By peeyush s

Feb 11, 2018

A very nice and compact course.