Chevron Left
Back to The Unix Workbench

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Unix Workbench by Johns Hopkins University

4.7
stars
1,176 ratings
362 reviews

About the Course

Unix forms a foundation that is often very helpful for accomplishing other goals you might have for you and your computer, whether that goal is running a business, writing a book, curing disease, or creating the next great app. The means to these goals are sometimes carried out by writing software. Software can’t be mined out of the ground, nor can software seeds be planted in spring to harvest by autumn. Software isn’t produced in factories on an assembly line. Software is a hand-made, often bespoke good. If a software developer is an artisan, then Unix is their workbench. Unix provides an essential and simple set of tools in a distraction-free environment. Even if you’re not a software developer learning Unix can open you up to new methods of thinking and novel ways to scale your ideas. This course is intended for folks who are new to programming and new to Unix-like operating systems like macOS and Linux distributions like Ubuntu. Most of the technologies discussed in this course will be accessed via a command line interface. Command line interfaces can seem alien at first, so this course attempts to draw parallels between using the command line and actions that you would normally take while using your mouse and keyboard. You’ll also learn how to write little pieces of software in a programming language called Bash, which allows you to connect together the tools we’ll discuss. My hope is that by the end of this course you be able to use different Unix tools as if they’re interconnecting Lego bricks....

Top reviews

RW
Apr 29, 2020

This is a very friendly step-by-step guide to Unix for beginners, it helps to build a solid foundation, and the exercises are designed to explore more about what has been introduced in the course.

KS
Jan 28, 2018

A wonderful course! Answered so many questions I had and gave me a solid background in Git, Bash, makefiles, and working from the cloud. I will definitely be using these skills in my job search!

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 356 Reviews for The Unix Workbench

By Patrick S

Apr 30, 2020

New to UNIX, so it was a great general overview. Learning about details of Github and git file management was especially useful.

By Danilo S O

May 19, 2020

Si recién comienzas a trabajar con los SO basados en Unix, este curso es realmente una excelente opción para un buen inicio.

By Ajay G

Jul 3, 2019

Quite good in what this course plans to teach you. Lightweight and a very good starters package to get started with linux.

By Davide B

Apr 12, 2018

Very useful course for anyone who wants to learn more about the bash shell and, of course, very well done and explained!

By Salik U

Nov 15, 2017

Its good for the beginners who wants to hand on UNIX. Provide all the basic fundamentals of shell and bash scripting.

By T M

May 15, 2020

Highly recommend it for those starting to learning programming and those who want to brush up on shell scripting!

By David M

May 4, 2020

Concise presentation with hands on reinforcement of useful concepts. Great course to improve or practice skills.

By Luis A S M

Aug 10, 2020

I like this couse because I can learn more about the terminal, so now I can use the shell to work with my Unix.

By Karthikrajasekar G

May 11, 2020

This course concepts were conveyed in a simple and good way. easy to understanding the concepts.

Thanks Coursera

By Arjun S

Nov 9, 2018

Really helpful and informative. Even for an absolute beginner! Thanks a lot for this awesome course. Cheers!

By Булычев И Г

Feb 24, 2021

Good course for beginners who wants to start apply them and those who wants to refresh they knowledge fast.

By Kacy C

Mar 10, 2019

It was great because it allowed me to go at my own pace rather than watching and listening to someone talk

By Daniel P

Jun 27, 2019

Great resources, book, plus module, and exercises were challenging but good learning experiences. Thanks!

By Éamonn Ó N

Aug 24, 2017

Very good course, especially for beginners to get relevant and broad overview of tools (bash/git/cloud).

By Ahmed E

Jun 28, 2018

It is concise and practical course for getting your hand a little dirty with linux..I enjoyed my time

By Anmol L P

Feb 18, 2018

Good course for all of us who want to explore unix and are new to it. The course design is wonderful.

By Juan S M F

Apr 1, 2018

Excelente curso para comenzar con Unix, los ejercicios me resultaron interesantes y muy desafiantes.

By Alejandro F

Jun 23, 2020

A very good and very useful course. Congratulations and thanks to its developers for sharing this.

By sukrita p

Nov 6, 2019

Very concise course to get started with shell scripting. Well drafted and good exercise questions.

By Josué R G S M

Jan 31, 2018

If you want to learn the basis of Unix/GNU Linux, this course is for you. It won't dissapoint you!

By Adonis J C G

Aug 15, 2019

It's very intuitive, but you need some experience from another language or, at least, pseudocode.

By Алексей П

Mar 2, 2021

A very useful, well-written course!

Considered a wide range of possible uses of UNIX.

Thank you.

By Matthew A

Apr 5, 2018

A great overview of the Unix command line. Including a glimpse of software development with Git.

By Brian D G

Jun 22, 2020

This is a great course! I learned alot!! Thank you very much for making it available to me!!!

By Yohannes d

Aug 26, 2019

it's a helpful course someone who really need to know about Linux, git, shell script and cloud.