Chevron Left
Back to Usable Security

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Usable Security by University of Maryland, College Park

4.6
stars
2,443 ratings
603 reviews

About the Course

This course focuses on how to design and build secure systems with a human-centric focus. We will look at basic principles of human-computer interaction, and apply these insights to the design of secure systems with the goal of developing security measures that respect human performance and their goals within a system....

Top reviews

IR

Jun 21, 2016

I like how in depth this gets. it explains it very well an in ways for people who are starting off in this field to get a basic understanding in exactly what we are learning. very well put together!

DG

Jun 29, 2016

Despite not being very fond of areas such as human-computer interaction, I found this course to be well-presented and useful. Definitely a necessity for anyone planning on building secure software.

Filter by:

526 - 550 of 591 Reviews for Usable Security

By Larbi S

Oct 05, 2017

This is a wonderful course to take

By Ayman M H

Aug 30, 2019

Thanks for Doctor Jennifer a lot

By Marc J I

Jun 10, 2017

Good course. Very learnfull.

By Angel R T

Oct 15, 2017

A very informative course!

By Rishab G

Jul 05, 2019

The best one can ever get

By ANBU S

Oct 14, 2020

It was very "USABLE".

By Wridheeman B

Jul 20, 2020

It was a great course

By heer v

Mar 24, 2019

grate eaxplanation...

By Mohanad E

May 21, 2017

It's a good course

By Oladapo O A

Dec 11, 2016

Very Good course

By Netho J K L

Jul 23, 2020

It's verry good

By Aritra C

Apr 11, 2020

Greate to learn

By Morten V C

Oct 20, 2019

Very usefull.

By Rishi P T

Mar 03, 2020

Basic things

By ikwak

Oct 03, 2017

Thanks! :)

By Ajay

May 23, 2020

good

By Shriram

Mar 23, 2020

good

By Inna T

Apr 18, 2020

This course does not cover a lot of content and has more connection do design and HCI rather than security. There is no support in discussions, no discussions. There is only one assignment and it says in the instructions you will be able to upload a screenshot. Apparently that feature was forgotten because you can’t, you need to use an outside service and paste a link. There are words in reading that were supposed to be URLs but don’t work (like it says “click here” but “here” is not a link). The course feels sloppy and not very useful.

By Ricardo L C T

Aug 07, 2018

confusing, low quality of video discussions, low quality of presenters on the felling they are not prepared to discuss in the panel. low quality of quiz with question not covered. asked to read a very long paper about SSL that is a research of a class study not relevant for the informative intent of the course. took me too much time for me to read and I gave up the SSL paper.

By Amarender B

Jun 17, 2017

Contents seems repeatative . Also When you already discussing the PDF contents in video lecture, I don't see asking to complete PDF reading before video lecture. I have spent reading the doc and felt I could complete the course much faster if i could skip reading some big PDFs. Otherwise it is good.

By Rob C

Jan 23, 2018

There are some questions that can be debated for clarity. Example: A company creates a password V^$5t.b2. Is this easy to crack no. But the question ALSO says it's given to the employee on a piece of paper. Is this easy? Yes, there's paper laying around with passwords on them.

By Burak İ

Aug 08, 2020

The course is so old. Even the concept is still the same, the versions of applications that takes part in the videos are really old. The versions of gmail that took part in some week's lecture seems at least 3-4 years old.

By Jacek E

Nov 01, 2019

Well prepared and interesting lectures. However, for a intermediate course, I've expected more comprehensive content. Let's see what the next courses for the cybersecurity specialization have to offer.

By Kyfos N

Oct 07, 2020

The course described the topics very well. Very easy to understand the defferent meanings. The material is from 6-7 years ago and should be updated.

By Johnny O

May 13, 2016

Videos with guest speakers were unhelpful. Also, quizzes were not accurate and poorly written questions.