Chevron Left
Back to Usable Security

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Usable Security by University of Maryland, College Park

4.6
stars
2,834 ratings
695 reviews

About the Course

This course focuses on how to design and build secure systems with a human-centric focus. We will look at basic principles of human-computer interaction, and apply these insights to the design of secure systems with the goal of developing security measures that respect human performance and their goals within a system....

Top reviews

IR
Jun 20, 2016

I like how in depth this gets. it explains it very well an in ways for people who are starting off in this field to get a basic understanding in exactly what we are learning. very well put together!

DG
Jun 28, 2016

Despite not being very fond of areas such as human-computer interaction, I found this course to be well-presented and useful. Definitely a necessity for anyone planning on building secure software.

Filter by:

526 - 550 of 682 Reviews for Usable Security

By abdullah a

Jun 25, 2017

a really good course i gave 4 stars because there's some noise in some lectures and delays but the content is legendary!

and its mostly about software engineering concept

thanks for this great course <3

By Dave V

Aug 13, 2019

I think the most interesting part is how the readings, while not the most recent research, are still 100% applicable today. The industry hasn't moved very much in terms of usable security practices.

By J.P. H D A

Dec 26, 2017

The course was informative. But it needs improvements. In my view, rather than conducting interviews, experts opinions can be included in the contents of the course/lectures. Done well. Thanks

By Jimmy

Mar 29, 2017

Excellent course, well explained. Not too much things to learn at once. Ideal when you want to start. Would be useful to have also a slide deck next to it for the review and exam preparation.

By Mo A

Jul 9, 2017

The course contents were useful but were to somehow abstract or intangible. Fortunately, It has practical examples which help learning tough concepts. Generally, I liked the principles more.

By Mohamed M

Sep 22, 2019

it's a great course but i feel like it's just not for me

it's good to know that there is something called usable security i never hear of it and for someone like to know new stuff its great

By Matthew R

Feb 24, 2021

The course information is well laid out. Like with anything you want to learn, make your own notes as you go and review to make sure you understand the material and you will do great.

By Simon W

Apr 25, 2019

I did this course as part of a cyber security specialization.

The course content and presentation were excellent. HCI does not appeal to me so I do not feel I can give it five stars.

By Matko Z

Sep 28, 2016

A totally new insights to security. Since I am a Software Engineer student this concepts are going to prove invaluable in my future tasks. Great tutor and Coursera support, love it.

By Harsh R

Sep 16, 2019

It's a very intereting course,helping us to gain much knowledg about security,but when I got the certificate,isuing date was not mentioned,I want to know why this happened with me?

By Shubham S

Apr 24, 2020

Well i was looking for some practical knowledge..but its all about theoretical knowledge...course was good...the way you represent the course was awesome...it was enjoyful..

By Jan F

Aug 3, 2017

Very good and interesting content, but the audio quality of the videos is inconsistent, and sometimes lacking. Excellent addtitional reading material is provided though.

By Manish K

Feb 24, 2017

Best course to learn about usable security, If you are familiar with Human Computer Interaction then easily can related the security issue in between Human and Machine.

By Manoj K

Jan 21, 2020

The course is good and i learned about the passwords and security and it is more like theory only no practical session will be there in this course . But i like it

By Robin K

Apr 15, 2020

The course was very exciting and instructive, but you should bring the course up to date. The information was partly outdated and some links didn't work anymore.

By Sadler J F B

May 28, 2019

The instruction is clear and well organized. However, many of the videos contain typos or recording errors, and a couple quizzes contain minor typos as well.

By Haiyang Y

Mar 6, 2021

First time to see a thorough explanation on usability of HCI design from theory level, and know pitfalls of policies on varied social medias from internet.

By Carlos P

May 20, 2020

Buen curso para aprender el comportamiento que tienen los usuarios en cuanto a seguridad y como deben desarrollarse los sistemas para que sean mas seguros

By Steven S

Aug 20, 2020

The content was great but some of the quizzes' questions should be revised, as they aren't completely clear sometimes, and can depend on interpretation.

By Alok T

Mar 7, 2017

would be nice if you could see the questions and answers after you take a quiz or exam, that way its easier to lean where you went wrong on a question.

By Gustavo D

Jun 26, 2016

Great course, with really well-explained and interesting classes. A minor problem was the audio issues, but nothing that would hinder your learning.

By Aaron A

Apr 19, 2017

A very fascinating and enjoyable course! I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting to take the first step in learning about cybersecurity.

By George V

Oct 16, 2019

Very well presented course. A helpful aspect is that you can save notes, repeat parts of the vids, and you have written text to follow.

By Dheeraj M P

Nov 7, 2016

Good Course. But has many generic stuffs. We will get to know about most of the security details that we come across our day today life

By Bruno T

Jul 5, 2016

Interesting topics and some very good case studies. But overall I found the course a little repetitive and lacking technical depth.