Chevron Left
Back to Usable Security

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Usable Security by University of Maryland, College Park

4.6
stars
2,828 ratings
695 reviews

About the Course

This course focuses on how to design and build secure systems with a human-centric focus. We will look at basic principles of human-computer interaction, and apply these insights to the design of secure systems with the goal of developing security measures that respect human performance and their goals within a system....

Top reviews

IR
Jun 20, 2016

I like how in depth this gets. it explains it very well an in ways for people who are starting off in this field to get a basic understanding in exactly what we are learning. very well put together!

DG
Jun 28, 2016

Despite not being very fond of areas such as human-computer interaction, I found this course to be well-presented and useful. Definitely a necessity for anyone planning on building secure software.

Filter by:

626 - 650 of 681 Reviews for Usable Security

By Rishi P T

Mar 2, 2020

Basic things

By ikwak

Oct 3, 2017

Thanks! :)

By salissou B

Nov 29, 2020

Good

By Ajay

May 23, 2020

good

By Shriram s

Mar 23, 2020

good

By Inna T

Apr 17, 2020

This course does not cover a lot of content and has more connection do design and HCI rather than security. There is no support in discussions, no discussions. There is only one assignment and it says in the instructions you will be able to upload a screenshot. Apparently that feature was forgotten because you can’t, you need to use an outside service and paste a link. There are words in reading that were supposed to be URLs but don’t work (like it says “click here” but “here” is not a link). The course feels sloppy and not very useful.

By Ricardo L C T

Aug 7, 2018

confusing, low quality of video discussions, low quality of presenters on the felling they are not prepared to discuss in the panel. low quality of quiz with question not covered. asked to read a very long paper about SSL that is a research of a class study not relevant for the informative intent of the course. took me too much time for me to read and I gave up the SSL paper.

By Amarender B

Jun 17, 2017

Contents seems repeatative . Also When you already discussing the PDF contents in video lecture, I don't see asking to complete PDF reading before video lecture. I have spent reading the doc and felt I could complete the course much faster if i could skip reading some big PDFs. Otherwise it is good.

By Rob C

Jan 23, 2018

There are some questions that can be debated for clarity. Example: A company creates a password V^$5t.b2. Is this easy to crack no. But the question ALSO says it's given to the employee on a piece of paper. Is this easy? Yes, there's paper laying around with passwords on them.

By Burak I

Aug 8, 2020

The course is so old. Even the concept is still the same, the versions of applications that takes part in the videos are really old. The versions of gmail that took part in some week's lecture seems at least 3-4 years old.

By Jacek E

Nov 1, 2019

Well prepared and interesting lectures. However, for a intermediate course, I've expected more comprehensive content. Let's see what the next courses for the cybersecurity specialization have to offer.

By Kyfos N

Oct 7, 2020

The course described the topics very well. Very easy to understand the defferent meanings. The material is from 6-7 years ago and should be updated.

By Johnny O

May 13, 2016

Videos with guest speakers were unhelpful. Also, quizzes were not accurate and poorly written questions.

By Jeroen R

Apr 24, 2016

OK, but not really in-depth. Still has useful pointers, but they could be summarized on an A4 sheet.

By Piotr M

Nov 12, 2017

The course was really good when played at 1.5x speed, at the normal pace it was really too slow.

By Ivan

Sep 8, 2017

Good course, but not really what I expected.

All materials are common things and knowledge.

By Tom G

Jul 13, 2018

Some good info, but the course needs to be updated to correct long known mistakes.

By Mian A J

Aug 10, 2020

Content was a little boring. Secondly, Voice quality wasn't up to the mark.

By Daniel K P

Oct 20, 2019

Needs more content ; present course repeats

information, too often

By Andrew A

Oct 10, 2020

The content is good, It partially outdated being made in ~2013

By Giulio B

Jul 25, 2020

Very little useful information

By Alberto R

Nov 21, 2016

Useful concepts. Quite simple.

By RAVITEJA R K

Aug 11, 2020

not interesting

By Mitch H

Sep 29, 2020

low quality

By Abner G

Dec 1, 2016

This course is about "good practices" for user interface design. If this is what you are looking for it may be worth your time, just be aware that the "production" (quality) of the videos is among the worst courses I have taken in Coursera. On the other hand, if you are looking for a heavy Cybersecurity related course I suggest you to stay away from this one, unless you are taking the specialization in which case you don't have other choice.

Content: 2.5/5

Videos Quality: 1/5

Practice/Theory ratio: 1/5