Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to User Experience Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to User Experience Design by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.5
stars
4,833 ratings
1,157 reviews

About the Course

The focus of this course is to introduce the learner to User Experience (UX) Design User Experience design is design that is user centered. The goal is to design artifacts that allow the users to meet their needs in the most effective efficient and satisfying manner. The course introduces the novice to a cycle of discovery and evaluation and a set of techniques that meet the user's needs. This course is geared toward the novice. It is for learners that have heard about "user experience" or "user interface" design but don't really know much about these disciplines. The course mantra is that “Design is a systematic and data driven process.” Design is systematic because it is based on a set of techniques and also on a cycle of discovery. In this course the learner is introduced to the four step user interface design cycle. Along the way learners are exposed to a set of techniques to gather information about a) what the user needs b)how to design and model interfaces based on these and then how to evaluate the design to ascertain that the user's goals are met. These techniques are tools that are used in a standardized manner and give us the data we use in our design. This means that anyone (regardless of their current training) that is willing to learn these techniques and follow the proposed cycle can be a UX designer!...

Top reviews

AO
Oct 22, 2017

The best introduction classes, gives an overall idea about UI/UX. Grateful for the efforts taken by the Georgia Tech and Coursera. Looking forward to see more courses related to my career. Thank you.

MC
Sep 25, 2016

This is an insightful introductory course to User Experience Design. While it is just an introduction, the lessons and the examples provided were comprehensive, leaving you with a thirst for more.

Filter by:

901 - 925 of 1,164 Reviews for Introduction to User Experience Design

By Supriya B

Mar 20, 2020

More detailing on how to design alternatives would have been useful. I felt like I did not learn much about that aspect.

By Mehedi H

May 11, 2020

There should be a review system like assignment for alternative designs , prototyping , creating survey , evaluation.

By Jonathon C

Jan 27, 2020

excellent presenter, high level concepts made easy through real examples. Only downside was quality of transcripts.

By Kelly C

Jan 19, 2017

It is a fundamental class, quite easy to understand for people who don't have any background about user experience.

By Gerardo A V

Apr 22, 2020

Great way to be introduced into the world of UX design. I enjoyed the course a lot and it was very easy to follow.

By Hadeer M

Aug 13, 2021

It's great but a little hard to understand for me even with subtitles the Linguistic concepts needs more details.

By María T G D

Sep 30, 2019

It is really helpful if you are just trying to get to know what user experience research and design is all about.

By Madhuri G

Mar 2, 2021

Assessments are very thoughtfully made. They were not easy and that helped me get back to course and learn more.

By Mehmet B

Aug 15, 2020

A fair well-designed course covering the basics. I believe, better detailing on the quizzes would be beneficial.

By Hyo E L

Mar 16, 2018

took less than few hours to complete!

Clear and easy explanation helped me to grasp basic concepts of UX design

By Naomi S

Oct 11, 2020

Users should be able to manually review wrong answers, by 'locking in' their test result so they can't cheat.

By General U

May 19, 2020

The course was good. The issue was the predominant verbal explanation but very little visual exemplification.

By Vanessa P M d S

Jun 19, 2017

Easy to follow, good teacher, good content. I would suggest to include more real examples for each concept.

By Maziel S J C

Oct 3, 2016

Conceptos muy básicos pero sin duda funcionales y necesarios para quien inicia en el User Experience Design.

By Bhaswant I

Mar 11, 2018

More practical usecases would have been engaging. Otherwise, knowledge wise good for introduction course.

By Te'Shawn D

May 23, 2020

Pretty good dive into the basics, my only issue is that the pacing could have been a little bit better.

By Michelle L

Jun 17, 2017

A little bit repetitive/ vague at times, but good as a general introduction, which it is meant to be!

By Michael M

Jan 8, 2017

A good simple introduction which also lists some useful resources. Well presented, logical and clear.

By Janiellia C

Jul 28, 2021

I would have liked a bit more creative approach to the presentation, other than that it was awesome.

By Robert O

Sep 25, 2020

Good introduction to terms used in design cycle, sometimes lecture wouldn't relate to quiz questions

By Len S

Apr 15, 2019

Very informative and insightful. Wish I could get a badge after I have completed the course, though.

By Carter E

Nov 23, 2020

Great introduction and overview of UX Design. I'll definitely be looking further into the subject.

By Felicia P

May 9, 2020

It was just enough info to validate and to enhance my current level of understanding of UX Design.

By Vivek G

May 8, 2020

The course design is very good. But the course costs very high from the Indian rupee perspective.

By Lin Z

Mar 22, 2019

Good to know basics for beginners. I found it useful to get a general idea of what UX design is.