Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to User Experience Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to User Experience Design by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.5
stars
6,289 ratings
1,411 reviews

About the Course

The focus of this course is to introduce the learner to User Experience (UX) Design User Experience design is design that is user centered. The goal is to design artifacts that allow the users to meet their needs in the most effective efficient and satisfying manner. The course introduces the novice to a cycle of discovery and evaluation and a set of techniques that meet the user's needs. This course is geared toward the novice. It is for learners that have heard about "user experience" or "user interface" design but don't really know much about these disciplines. The course mantra is that “Design is a systematic and data driven process.” Design is systematic because it is based on a set of techniques and also on a cycle of discovery. In this course the learner is introduced to the four step user interface design cycle. Along the way learners are exposed to a set of techniques to gather information about a) what the user needs b)how to design and model interfaces based on these and then how to evaluate the design to ascertain that the user's goals are met. These techniques are tools that are used in a standardized manner and give us the data we use in our design. This means that anyone (regardless of their current training) that is willing to learn these techniques and follow the proposed cycle can be a UX designer!...

Top reviews

AO

Oct 22, 2017

The best introduction classes, gives an overall idea about UI/UX. Grateful for the efforts taken by the Georgia Tech and Coursera. Looking forward to see more courses related to my career. Thank you.

RT

Jul 4, 2020

For an introductory course, this is very efficient and effective in learning terminologies and get a good high-level understanding of Process, types and common techniques used in Design process :)

Filter by:

1326 - 1350 of 1,436 Reviews for Introduction to User Experience Design

By Marco S

Feb 1, 2021

It's very useful but at times is a little boring and its hard to keep up. The background is too monotonous and some slides are an eyesore for designers. I noticed one typo (effect instead of affect). You have to be committed to finish, I almost didn't. And I passed all quizzes on the first try.

By Korinna M J

Jan 13, 2022

The course was informative, but each item

-contained to much information so it was hard to process

-questions in the reviews seemed sometimes hardly related to the studied subject

-resources : just listing a bunch of links to random websites is not very helpful if it's not part of the curriculum

By Preston L

Apr 14, 2020

While the videos were good at introducing certain concepts to a novice, I found the quizzes to be lacking in helping one remember useful information from the videos. For the reading, many articles and websites were linked to, but on more than one occasion I found these to be a bit dated.

By Hannah E

Jul 15, 2020

Very good course to get a general overview of UX Design and Research. Specific terms introduced and defined and good lists of electronic resources. Was disappointed with charts and figures used to illustrate concepts (i.e. not always easy to understand purpose of graphic or confusing).

By Gautam K

Nov 16, 2020

Some of the concepts were explained well but others went a bit too quickly without examples. Thinks like data gathering and prototyping are understood by most people but other slightly complex topics like the wizard of oz could have been explained a bit better with a simple example.

By Deleted A

Apr 13, 2021

As a beginner in this field, I know now how can I start but I think the course its not full covered most of the question are not working I like the teacher I really like it but I think it can be improved in the future thanks for everyone who made this course and thanks to Coursera

By Jaan-Eerik

Mar 24, 2021

There were numerous typos, bad formatting or other mistakes in the lecture slides. Additionally, some of the links to reading materials were broken and many of the materials listed seemed quite an odd choice. Still, I believe this course gave a good overview of the topic.

By Bharath N S

Jun 1, 2020

Very basic course, could have learnt the whole content in a textbook directly in one hour. This is an explanation of some text and one method and didnt have to be a course. Could have contained more learning than just explain all basic concepts available online in Google

By David V C

Jul 5, 2020

The information is valuable. However, it may feel a bit dated (specially the examples and the links they provide), and it might be too compact. A lesson includes too much information in a very short time, so it's a good idea to watch the same lessons more than once.

By Andrew B

Dec 14, 2017

It's difficult to follow the instructor as they are reading their script. I would prefer a more natural delivery. Content was good, but I think a little more effort could be put towards the visuals as the existing diagrams were at times difficult to understand.

By AUBREY X

Apr 16, 2020

Good introductory class. Clearly structured and have relevant quiz questions to test on key concepts.

However, I was expecting more in-depth content on these fundamental concepts, and more relevant and modern examples of these in principles in applications

By Joseph D

Oct 2, 2020

While it seems this course offered a well rounded look at the iterative User Experience/Interface design cycle, the interchangeable technical jargon was ultimately confusing and I felt that a lack of definitive terms detracted from the final product.

By Abraham S

Aug 29, 2021

The material is good, the delivery was unpolished. For a UX course it felt hard on many places when it shouldn't be, of course is not impossible to complete due the fact, but some links are dead, typos everywhere and basic slides didn't add up.

By Omar e H

Sep 17, 2021

It was a great introduction to UX design, however the information provided was very superficial and I felt that the course was missing some depth. I would have loved to dive in to real world UX design / Research projects

By Joshua Y

Jan 12, 2021

I don't know that I would call this a whole course. The amount of content in this introduction is so basic that I wonder how much I am still missing before I jump into UX design. There must be more to it than this.

By Vikram P

Jun 19, 2020

The course provides a good overview of UX, but there are hardly any activities. The activities are limited only to Quiz. There should be peer graded assignments. Also, quiz questions need to be better.

By Alexandr

Jan 28, 2022

Because it is free, rate it 3 starts.

Cons:

-The voice is speeded up by default.

-The questions in quiz are shifted.

-It should have more graphical slides for better comprehension.

Pros:

-Free

By Stormi A

Jul 4, 2020

This would have been more comfortable delivered in nine to ten, 45-minute segments. The shorter videos made the course feel endless. At least I learned that Coursera has terrible UX design.

By Tameka H

Mar 31, 2022

Incorporating more visuals (drawings, videos) to keep the student engaged would be a good idea. Also adding in real world, existing apps or sites as a reference point would be helpful.

By Wendy Y

Jan 14, 2021

The content itself was decent, but the quizzes need some help. In addition to some formatting issues, some of the questions were not intuitive in that they were easily misunderstood.

By Korel

Aug 19, 2020

The content is shallow, the course will be better if it incorporates real case studies and the application of UX design tools. Anyways, this is generally nice for a free course.

By Theresa K

Dec 12, 2020

I am a total beginner. It was nice to receive an overview. The slides were not helpful and I had a hard time to follow - needed to focus very well (which is also good, ofc ;))

By Rateb A D

Mar 24, 2021

Concepts are very high-level and instructor seems to be reading from the slides.

If you like to read you won't miss anything if you just read the transcript at your own pace.

By Aditya S

Jul 10, 2020

1 - Needs More Animations and better visuals

2 - Some videos that are 8 or 9 mins long can be broken down into smaller videos of 4-5 mins

3 - Needs better real Life examples.