Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to User Experience Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to User Experience Design by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.5
stars
6,566 ratings

About the Course

The focus of this course is to introduce the learner to User Experience (UX) Design User Experience design is design that is user centered. The goal is to design artifacts that allow the users to meet their needs in the most effective efficient and satisfying manner. The course introduces the novice to a cycle of discovery and evaluation and a set of techniques that meet the user's needs. This course is geared toward the novice. It is for learners that have heard about "user experience" or "user interface" design but don't really know much about these disciplines. The course mantra is that “Design is a systematic and data driven process.” Design is systematic because it is based on a set of techniques and also on a cycle of discovery. In this course the learner is introduced to the four step user interface design cycle. Along the way learners are exposed to a set of techniques to gather information about a) what the user needs b)how to design and model interfaces based on these and then how to evaluate the design to ascertain that the user's goals are met. These techniques are tools that are used in a standardized manner and give us the data we use in our design. This means that anyone (regardless of their current training) that is willing to learn these techniques and follow the proposed cycle can be a UX designer!...

Top reviews

AO

Oct 22, 2017

The best introduction classes, gives an overall idea about UI/UX. Grateful for the efforts taken by the Georgia Tech and Coursera. Looking forward to see more courses related to my career. Thank you.

KJ

Oct 4, 2020

It was fair introduction to UI / UX. I moved away from front-end development a long time ago but wanted to know about the new techniques used prior to starting that sort of development these days.

Filter by:

1026 - 1050 of 1,490 Reviews for Introduction to User Experience Design

By Bigyan L T

Mar 17, 2021

I enjoyed the overview of this course. I wish the videos were a bit longer and contained more real-life examples. Also, the reading materials provided were almost the same for each week. I would love to see some more new articles and informations to read as part of this course.

By Deepa M

Feb 24, 2022

I​t was a great introductory course that was well presented in an organized and systematic manner. Thank you Dr. Arriaga and Georgia Tech! This course could be further enhanced by adding more role-play type of examples depicting users and designers interactions. Thanks again!

By Tricia A C C

Jan 31, 2021

This course was a great introduction to the subject. The terminology explanations were clear and the pace was perfect! I gave 4 stars out of 5 because it didn't include any peer-graded coursework that would force the learners to practice the skills in the prototyping steps.

By 韩涵

Jan 8, 2017

A very very basic but complete introduction for anyone who just wondering what UX is, or who want to structural his/her own practice in a logical and systematic manner.

It also shows ideas if you want to understand deeper.

Took me one day to go through the whole course. FYI.

By Emmanuel D

Dec 5, 2017

This is a very basic introduction, but it gives interesting information. It presents the main elements to collect user needs and to start a design. By the way, it is strongly focused on the requirements. There are not a lot of details about the design of user experience.

By Saverio C

May 13, 2019

A general overview of UX fundamentals. Many concepts are too ground level for a designer with an education background (even different than plain UX), yet brush them up is a great idea before starting a new learning path. Highly understandable and strongly recommended.

By Reza C

Nov 13, 2019

It was a good course to take when you were really a beginner in the field as it taught you the basics of UX design. However, some concepts were quite hard to grasp. But overall, this course was helpful for people who wanted to start learning about the field of UX.

By Samuel O

Apr 13, 2021

It's a really good course that helped me learning a lot about UX Design. I'm giving it a 4 stars out of 5 just because there was a lot of errors during Quizzes. Overall it's a great course for beginners (just like me) and especially because it's totally for free.

By Sandra A

Oct 23, 2016

It's a good introduction to UX Design, especially if you don't know anything about the field. It gives you the basics and the lingo that you will encounter in this field. It would have been nice to have some practical assignments, but overall really good start.

By Marjorie H

Sep 13, 2020

Como lo dice el título es una introducción a la experiencia de usuario, ayuda a refrescar conocimientos. Hay partes que aparecen en video como vínculos, que podrían agregar en la traducción para hacer click y ya. Pero en general es un buen curso introductorio.

By Azul V

Oct 19, 2020

It meets the expectations of a basic introduction for begginers in the subject, very clear explanations and a lot of resources and articles in case you want a little more depth. It's a little bland though, I'm not finishing it inspired but otherwise it's ok.

By Oriana S M

Jul 2, 2021

It's a good introductory course but a bit dense for me. It was more akin to an audiobook, I would've appreciated more real-life examples or case studies. Also, the quizzes were a bit confusing sometimes, other than that it's a great course for beginners :)

By Ramnath

Feb 17, 2021

Informative beginners course. Well delivered in easy to understand language and style.

A few examples showing prototypes and evaluation techniques could be added to make it visually appealing rather than text based most of the time.

Overall, a great course!

By David D

Feb 15, 2021

Très bonne introduction même si je trouve dommage que cela ne parle pas vraiment du design thinking. Le cours pourrait être plus long et aller plus dans les détails :). Je mets la note de 4/5 parce que les cours et les évaluations sont bien structurées.

By B R

Jan 17, 2022

Very useful, short and informative. This course gives an insight to UI/Ux which helps to decide if the course is for you or not.

1 con- Answers to the questions are somehow similar, all of the Above can be added or multiple answer.

Overall, very helpful.

By Julie H

Jul 29, 2020

Very interesting and great introduction to the User Experience Design. My only comment is that I wanted to learn more about the visual aspects of User Experience. Overall, a very interesting course that has further sparked my interest in this field!

By Jeremy R

Jun 10, 2017

Some of the lessons were a bit monotonous, perhaps some visual aid may have helped to break up the lessons. Overall though, the content was sound and I did feel like I learned a lot with regards to the basic building block of User Experience Design.

By Nileshh J A

Feb 27, 2017

Good beginner level course - useful for those interested in getting an early understanding of the field of UX before they decide on whether this field is right for them or not.

Having said that the course has been kept easy to understand and quick...

By Ilya T

Nov 1, 2020

Thank you for very useful information! Good initial step to the UX, good structure and approach. The W1&W2 were the best in terms of structure, information fullfilment thrill and challenge. Weeks 3 to 5 less informative, dynamic and challenging.

By Gerardo M

May 21, 2019

Para ser un curso introductorio se explica bien el proceso de diseño de UX pero no solo UX sino UX/UI ya que en todo tiempo se habla de la UI, pero para el desarrollador de Front-End este curso le daría un gran escenario de como hacer las cosas.

By Adam M

Jul 18, 2020

Some test questions poorly structured, videos could use editing to add pauses after asking the user to perform a task or work out a problem. Currently it just keeps playing sometimes revealing the answer before a manual pause can be initiated.

By Lee L

Oct 15, 2017

This course provides exactly what it promises, a basic introduction to UX terms and concepts. I think it does an excellent job of clarifying these ideas, but more is needed to help students decide whether they are qualified for this career.

By Jesper S

Sep 10, 2020

Great introduction to the subject. Some minor issues with the quizzes, one duplicated question and some wierd stuff with choices (first you are gives a-c, then you can select one below but they are in another order. Bad UI design :*) )

By Jason T

Jul 24, 2020

I wanted to take an introductory course in UX Design because I have very little information as to what it entails. I thought that this course provided enough information to get a gist of what a UX designer does at a very surface level.

By Luis M

Jul 23, 2021

Very good general knowledge about the field, ideal for begginers. The course lacks some visual aid though, sometimes it would be better if we could see more graphics and diagrams to help enhance the concept´s understanding even more.