Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to User Experience Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to User Experience Design by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.5
stars
6,114 ratings
1,379 reviews

About the Course

The focus of this course is to introduce the learner to User Experience (UX) Design User Experience design is design that is user centered. The goal is to design artifacts that allow the users to meet their needs in the most effective efficient and satisfying manner. The course introduces the novice to a cycle of discovery and evaluation and a set of techniques that meet the user's needs. This course is geared toward the novice. It is for learners that have heard about "user experience" or "user interface" design but don't really know much about these disciplines. The course mantra is that “Design is a systematic and data driven process.” Design is systematic because it is based on a set of techniques and also on a cycle of discovery. In this course the learner is introduced to the four step user interface design cycle. Along the way learners are exposed to a set of techniques to gather information about a) what the user needs b)how to design and model interfaces based on these and then how to evaluate the design to ascertain that the user's goals are met. These techniques are tools that are used in a standardized manner and give us the data we use in our design. This means that anyone (regardless of their current training) that is willing to learn these techniques and follow the proposed cycle can be a UX designer!...

Top reviews

AO

Oct 22, 2017

The best introduction classes, gives an overall idea about UI/UX. Grateful for the efforts taken by the Georgia Tech and Coursera. Looking forward to see more courses related to my career. Thank you.

KJ

Oct 4, 2020

It was fair introduction to UI / UX. I moved away from front-end development a long time ago but wanted to know about the new techniques used prior to starting that sort of development these days.

Filter by:

1251 - 1275 of 1,403 Reviews for Introduction to User Experience Design

By Bola S

Mar 19, 2022

G​ood Delivery

By tony s

Mar 1, 2021

Really good...

By Sasikumar V

Aug 23, 2020

good learning

By venkatesh R

Aug 11, 2020

Well use full

By Lamidi R

May 25, 2022

great course

By MONICA M G

Dec 14, 2021

Muy amigable

By Clarice L

Nov 5, 2020

Informative!

By Bojan V

Oct 10, 2020

Basic course

By Lara W

Oct 8, 2020

Great course

By Matúš B

Apr 24, 2022

Good course

By SOUFYANE A

Jan 13, 2022

GOOD COURSE

By ayala g

May 7, 2018

thank you!

By Oyinlola A

Jan 17, 2022

Excellent

By Chelsea D

Feb 16, 2018

T

h

e

o

n

e

By Артем В

Aug 30, 2016

Thanks!

By Deepak G

May 14, 2021

greast

By balogun i

Jan 25, 2021

Great!

By Mohammed S

May 2, 2022

very

By Azhar M s

Oct 21, 2020

Good

By 丽丽 万

Jun 28, 2020

good

By Zohra

May 6, 2017

good

By Eze V U

May 15, 2022

By Andrea R

May 21, 2020

This was okay for a theoretical-only and very basic introduction to user experience design. There was a LOT of repetition of previous content in every video, which may be great for some users but which was boring and annoying for me. I also found the layout of the video unhelpful (slides on the left, person on the right) and would have preferred it the other way round. I often didn't even realize that a slide had changed because my eye kept being drawn to the lecturer instead of the slides and because there was little visual differentiation between the slides (fonts, sizes, colors). The slides were often hard to read because the text was very spread out and therefore hard to grasp at a glance. There also often was more text than I could read in the amount of time it was visible (so I had to pause frequently) and the lecturer didn't always refer to everything that was shown. I did not feel motivated at all to do any of the suggested exercises, mostly because there was no feedback system for whatever I would have produced (and because the exercises weren't available in writing anywhere, just in the middle of the videos). The quizzes were fairly thorough, which I think was good. Overall, I probably would have learned the content better (and much faster) with just a few pages of text instead of all the videos because the video format didn't offer any extra benefit for me.

By rachel f

Nov 3, 2020

feedback about quiz in no order:

1) "Tertiary stakeholders may not use the design at all, but are directly affected by the design in either a negative or a positive way." -- this would be the cashier at the store. If the payment doesn't go through the cashier could be affected.

2) "main pitfall of requirement gathering is not knowing all of the appropriate techniques" a pitfall is a hidden or unsuspected danger or difficulty. There are no dangers or difficulties inherent to requirement gathering. A pitfall of rock climbing is falling to your death. Better question would be "a main challenge to successful Requirement Gathering could be non-communicative participants".

Question 18:

Secondary stake holders: "do not use the design directly but may do IT indirectly".

Do what?! What is "It"? Do the design? The function? Task? Secondary stakeholders will be affected by design's changes and updates, and may have a to accommodate or react. A user likes the new expense report interface (primary) but it takes AP longer to process the payment because the expense categories are not aligning with cost codes.

So far I like the course and look forward to completing it. But I find myself wanting to edit the manuscript, and reword the quiz questions.

By Ekaterina K

Feb 18, 2022

It was a nice introductory course to the UX topic. For me as a complete newbie in this sphere, it was interesting to learn basic concepts. I gave 3 stars to this course for several reasons.

Firstly, based on the amount of information covered, this course could be way shorter or contain more information about actual processes and tools. For me, it is an equivalent to a 20-15min article to read.

Secondly, I would like to see real examples of how UX works in real projects. I expected to learn more about a real examples of application of UX and maybe some interviews with UX designers.

Lastly, the format of the quizzes was not user-friedly. Ironically, the course that describes an effective and efficient user experience failed to do it. I experience a great inconvenience doing quizzes. There were huge spaces between ticking boxes and questions; I had to scroll down to read all possible asnwers and then come back to mark my choice. Obviously, it is not a problem of the course, rather a drawback of the platform. Anyway, it affected my first impression of using Coursera.

Overall, while containing some good information, in my point of view, this course doesn't worth the money.