Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to User Experience Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to User Experience Design by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.5
stars
7,439 ratings

About the Course

The focus of this course is to introduce the learner to User Experience (UX) Design User Experience design is design that is user centered. The goal is to design artifacts that allow the users to meet their needs in the most effective efficient and satisfying manner. The course introduces the novice to a cycle of discovery and evaluation and a set of techniques that meet the user's needs. This course is geared toward the novice. It is for learners that have heard about "user experience" or "user interface" design but don't really know much about these disciplines. The course mantra is that “Design is a systematic and data driven process.” Design is systematic because it is based on a set of techniques and also on a cycle of discovery. In this course the learner is introduced to the four step user interface design cycle. Along the way learners are exposed to a set of techniques to gather information about a) what the user needs b)how to design and model interfaces based on these and then how to evaluate the design to ascertain that the user's goals are met. These techniques are tools that are used in a standardized manner and give us the data we use in our design. This means that anyone (regardless of their current training) that is willing to learn these techniques and follow the proposed cycle can be a UX designer!...

Top reviews

PN

Dec 15, 2022

In the steps of User Experience Design, I got how to go through all four stages; Requirements gathering, Alternative designs, Prototyping, and Evaluation to design and get a good product on the table.

AO

Oct 22, 2017

The best introduction classes, gives an overall idea about UI/UX. Grateful for the efforts taken by the Georgia Tech and Coursera. Looking forward to see more courses related to my career. Thank you.

Filter by:

1251 - 1275 of 1,668 Reviews for Introduction to User Experience Design

By Sylvia C

Jul 7, 2022

walks you through the basics, a bit slow but if you are like me who is completely new to UXD, then this is a great little course to do.

By MK T

Mar 10, 2017

Great Intro course that goes over most the general concepts of UX design. It's a good starting place to get your feet wet in this field.

By Jennifer T

Jul 16, 2017

Clear introduction to the process but the occasional typos were really rather glaring and took away from the credibility of the course.

By Burning P

May 10, 2018

The contents are great, but the presentation seems to be somehow monotonous, which makes it difficult to keep focusing on the subject.

By Mohamed S

Apr 16, 2017

It was very well designed and organized but some parts were superficial like module 3. I think it needs more details and explanation.

By Stéphanie P

Aug 11, 2022

Overall the course was good for an introduction to UX design but it could be more engaging and have more examples and/or activities

By Sylwin C

Jul 22, 2020

As it states an Introductory Course, that touches base on few topic that might help you deciding and planning your course of action.

By Muhammad N

Sep 29, 2020

Great course to start into UX Design fields. But still need some practical application before I can move to the next level courses.

By Yugesh R

Dec 10, 2022

Very useful course for beginners who want to understand the process of user experience and various steps to achieve a novel design

By Apoorva R

Apr 27, 2018

For someone who has no prior knowledge in User Experience, this course lets you dip your feet before you deep dive into the ocean.

By Aurileide A

Nov 22, 2021

It´s very basic. It could have some activities in order to consolidate the knowledge. Anyway, it is a very nice begginers course.

By Yan J

Apr 8, 2018

It is very useful if you are new for UED. It will help you building up framework, and tell you some fundation defination of UED.

By Sarah B W

Nov 3, 2022

Good overview of UX basics, but, interestling, the interface is fairly clunky and makes it a bit more challenging than needed.

By Alexa B

May 12, 2020

This course provided a nice introduction to UX Design, but I wasn't impressed with the number of typos in the course materials.

By Oki A

Jun 14, 2022

Great for a more extensive introductory course to UX Design but some of the reading materials are out of date or inaccessible.

By Caitlin M

Mar 22, 2022

Had some technical issues (which is a bit ironic for a UX course) but otherwise felt I learned a great overview of the basics.

By Nur F

Nov 3, 2020

Clear and structures video lectures. Would have preferred the CORRECT answers to the quiz are shown after user has submitted.

By Zeynep Ö

Aug 27, 2022

ı think this course is good, but there are some deficiency in the some points maybe there are more examples about subjects.

By Laura A

May 15, 2020

Rosa is so good! I learned a lot in this course. Thanks Cousera & Georgia Tech, to make this courses available for everyone!

By Emmanuel M

Aug 19, 2020

El contenido me paereció muy valioso. Me abrió la mente.Excelente que la mayoría de videos tengan subtitulación al español.

By Lok S C

Feb 2, 2022

good for extreme beginners. Does not always relate to real world business concerns, but great as a theoretical background.

By sunday l

Dec 27, 2021

Not bad, as a refreshment for the terms and basic knowledge for user research. But lack of practice and not update enough.

By Emídia F

May 30, 2020

The content is very good, but the interaction and doubts posted in the fórum are forgotten by the creators of the course.

By Abdul-hakeem A

Oct 16, 2022

This course was very informative and very digestable. Although I would prefer they illustrated with more life examples.