Chevron Left
Back to Customer-Centric IT Strategy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Customer-Centric IT Strategy by University of Virginia

4.5
stars
278 ratings
79 reviews

About the Course

Now more than ever, corporations are investing heavily in IT. The quality of these investments affect the daily work of millions, yet it’s not uncommon to see industry surveys where the failure rates for IT projects is over 50%. It’s possible to do better and it’s possible to do so consistently. In this two-week course, we’ll step through major challenges within corporate IT and how to address them with the disciplined use of design thinking, Lean Startup, and agile as a team framework. By the end of this course, developed at the Darden School of Business at the University of Virginia and taught by top-ranked faculty, you’ll be able to: Use the Business Model Canvas to focus your company strategy and facilitate buy-in from stakeholders Translate your work on the Canvas to specific charters in IT Rapidly prototype strategically-aligned processes for implementation within your IT infrastructure Please Note: This is a short-form course, two weeks in duration....

Top reviews

SS

Aug 28, 2020

Excellent content, and some of the examples are actually related to real life scenarios. It's good to focus on small and medium businesses instead of talking about Fortune 500 companies all the time

AM

Sep 11, 2018

A great course that focuses on the importance of being customer centric when developing IT solutions. Alex Cowan is a good lecturer.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 80 Reviews for Customer-Centric IT Strategy

By Evas B

Aug 02, 2019

Great and clear; easy to understand even for a novice who was never involved in project management.

As being key user for a big project implementation, thanks to this course, I have answers to my

questions I had at that time. Now I also know how to do it and engage people to collaborate to achieve the goals.

By luis m

Sep 23, 2019

quick and easy, makes you start working right away in the correct manner, making sure every effort gets a positive result.

By Mariam O A N

Nov 20, 2019

very useful course, and quick/to the point, provided clear and easy to use techniques for creating an IT strategy

By Konstantin V

Nov 16, 2019

This course is good to get an understanding about how to plan development of enterprise software in alignment with company's business strategy. Good observation of business model canvas framework and good linkage to particular user stories.

However, this course has nothing to do with IT STRATEGY mentioned in its title. It is particularly focused on ENTERPRISE SOFTWARE DEVELOPMENT. Content of the course does not touch true strategic topics critical for IT division - infrastructure strategy, sourcing strategy, IT organization model, financing, definition of AS-IS and TO-BE states, roadmap development, program and projects management. All these point, according to the course title, were expected to be shown through "customer-centric" prism. None of these point was covered unfortunately.

By Eugene K

Feb 26, 2018

It is a great course, and very similar in scope to Cisco's

Business Architecture Approach. In other words, this looks at the business from a holistic point of view and lays out some common tools for helping to understand its common processes. This, in turn, will help you design better solutions for your customers, because you will have a deeper understanding of their acumen.

By Murphy C

Apr 12, 2018

As a technology professional, I find this course very helpful and interesting for those of us developing solutions and products for both in-house projects and external projects. The frameworks proposed and provided by Alex are applicable to many IT implementation and design problems. I strongly encourage technologists to come in and have a look!

By Justin C

Apr 24, 2020

Great short course that encourages you to think and ask more questions to understand what the user's needs are instead jumping right into the SOLVE mode of addressing what IT thinks the user needs. I really like the 0 /30/90 success criteria it is practical for large enterprise projects but also valuable for small application enhancements.

By Phiradawadee T

May 29, 2020

I have learn overview about Agile things and an IT stategy by focusing on customer-centric. Moreover, I learn about Business Model Canvas to describe about corperate stategy in team. It is very simple. I can draft it in 20 minutes and read it in 90 seconds. I also learn how to sketch a process design. That's amazing. It's new for me.

By Cristian R S E

Mar 10, 2020

Es un buen curso, muy practico que es fácilmente aplicable a proyectos y organizaciones que requieren de mucho trabajo con el cliente. Brinda herramientas que comenzare a ocupar desde hoy en mi trabajo.

By Alan B H

May 21, 2020

short and sweet. very useful framework to apply for consulting!

By Deepak Y S

May 01, 2020

I loved taking this course. It was so useful.

By Ellen F

Aug 31, 2020

This was a great course, short and practical. I'm not in IT, but need to understand programming from the viewpoint of understanding healthcare EHR software, and this fit the bill without getting too technical. I recommended it for anyone who might need to understand how to make software work better (or why it DOESN'T work) from a user/customer perspective.

By Sarah C

Apr 16, 2018

Excellent course providing fresh tools that can be readily used to drive desired outcomes. The application of agile to IT is brilliant. I am thrilled to leave the class with many tools I can apply daily.

By Souban A S

Aug 28, 2020

Excellent content, and some of the examples are actually related to real life scenarios. It's good to focus on small and medium businesses instead of talking about Fortune 500 companies all the time

By Alastair M

Sep 11, 2018

A great course that focuses on the importance of being customer centric when developing IT solutions. Alex Cowan is a good lecturer.

By Andri O

Mar 03, 2018

This course helped me understand process design, user stories and business model canvas to integrate with IT system.

By AMANDA J

Sep 02, 2020

I would be much grateful to Sir Cowan for all of his endeavours in making this course a success.

By Francisco L

Oct 08, 2018

Excellent way to use new tools to create an IT project, or maybe any kind of project!

By Ali S A

Jun 16, 2019

very helpful course, I encourage every one who interested in IT strategy to take it.

By Nirav N

Sep 12, 2020

Now , I got a basic ideas about IT strategy. Really Good course for beginners.

By Evellyn

Nov 21, 2019

Aulas curtas, com conteudo apresentado de forma prática e didática, recomendo

By Durga P P

Aug 19, 2020

Very useful course! Short & Sweet! It really helps make right product!

By Yasin E

Apr 10, 2020

Easy to map software development, Business Model canvas, Prototyping.

By Bhargav R S

Mar 23, 2018

Just started this course and amazed by the First impression itself!!

By Bashir O L

Jul 25, 2019

A great experience put live into my thought through this course