Chevron Left
Back to Design Thinking for Innovation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Design Thinking for Innovation by University of Virginia

4.7
stars
7,518 ratings
2,310 reviews

About the Course

Today innovation is everyone's business. Whether you are a manager in a global corporation, an entrepreneur starting up, in a government role, or a teacher in an elementary school, everyone is expected to get lean – to do better with less. And that is why we all need design thinking. At every level in every kind of organization, design thinking provides the tools you need to become an innovative thinker and uncover creative opportunities that are there – you're just not seeing them yet. In this course, developed at the Darden School of Business at the University of Virginia and taught by top-ranked faculty, we provide an overview of design thinking and work with a model containing four key questions and several tools to help you understand design thinking as a problem solving approach. We also look at several stories from different organizations that used design thinking to uncover compelling solutions....

Top reviews

RB
Sep 14, 2020

Very well explained with lots of practical examples - would highly recommend this course to anyone looking at getting an initial understanding of design thinking and how it can be applied practically.

LM
Sep 22, 2019

I really liked the peer reviews at the end. It was a great way to view other examples of how different projects, industries, and teams have used design thinking. The course was easy to follow as well.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 2,300 Reviews for Design Thinking for Innovation

By Greg H

Dec 12, 2017

I really enjoyed this course! It's informative, insightful and focused on practical application. It will definitely help me inspire deeper application of design thinking within my firm.

By Shailesh G

Sep 13, 2017

It was a great experience while learning using coursera. The course I'd taken is nicely designed and I enjoyed all over. Thank you so much for providing this learning opportunity. Best!

By Yaqueline A C

Jun 24, 2020

Thank you so much to the Coursera team. I really enjoyed the process and learnt a lot of new tools along the course that I am sure will be very useful in my career and job enviroment.

By Varsha S

May 29, 2020

Amazing course and an awesome tutor. I would definitely recommended this course to all who would wish to learn design thinking and want to influence others by their thoughts and story.

By Diana H

Feb 12, 2020

I was very happy with my experience with the course. The information and videos taught me a lot about design thinking and the writing assignment was a great way assess that knowledge.

By Ana C D O

Oct 27, 2020

I am very thankful that I had the opportunity to enroll in this course. It gave me so many skills that I will definitely use in the future for different purposes. I am very grateful!

By Vijay S R

Jul 31, 2017

This course gave me an opportunity to learn 'practical' Design Thinking directly from the inspiring teacher/professor , Jeanne Liedtka with very engaging course videos and exercises.

By Kayla D L

Dec 18, 2020

easy to follow and detailed case studies! I loved the peer evaluation at the end as it allowed me to view different perspectives on applying the design tools in different industries

By Javier S F

Jun 9, 2020

Professor Liedtka keeps you engaged throughout the course. You learn at your own pace what you need to know to kick start a new way of solving problems by applying design approach.

By Juan M D P

Apr 9, 2020

Es un excelente curso, herramientas muchas veces sub valoradas se muestran con una nueva fuerza y aplicación para darle valor a proyectos que están en proceso o deben ser repensados

By Alejandro A L

May 7, 2018

It was an amazing experience. Very happy with it. Very well designed, and top quality in terms of content and - specially - technology. Applicability is high. I am totally satisfied

By Md M A

Mar 8, 2021

Simple, easy to understand and real life examples - this helped me in relating the teachings with my professional and personal work. Thank you for such a wonderful designed course.

By Nadia F B B

Feb 1, 2021

loved the flow of the lectures, examples given were easy on-point and modules were arranged in such a way that made navigating in between modules was easy and not confusing at all.

By Juanita B

Aug 22, 2018

The course includes several tools to implement the design thinking approach. Also gives some example on how big companies have resolved their own strategic problems using this tool

By Marlene A

Nov 30, 2020

I really enjoyed this course and learned a lot. All videos are very easy to understand and follow. My only suggestion is to add a few quizzes or knowledge check along the course.

By Lim C W

Nov 26, 2020

Let's embrace each and other to discover hidden possibility in you! You have to be patient to follow through 4 modules to discover the structural approach to Innovative Solution.

By Senthil k J S

May 27, 2020

This course changed my independent thinking into dependent thinking

I really inspired by the instructor and her associates for excellent instructional course design and delivery.

By claudio y

Jul 24, 2019

Muy buen curso con conceptos muy simples y faciles de implementar y que te entrega herramientas concretas para poder desarrollar una forma de pensar para prepararte para innovar.

By Mate B

Apr 2, 2020

I have learned a lot of useful and inspirational information with regards to design thinking. I am certain that I will be using most of the content from the course.

Thanks a lot.

By Vanessa A

Jun 22, 2020

The course is very thorough and interesting. The course length and the manner in which the lector's are spread out allow flexibility to complete weekly tasks. Enjoyable course.

By Shaurya s

May 2, 2020

A very creative course and helped me gain a lot of insight towards how to process, arrange and interpret your thoughts and also, how to foster innovative and creative thinking.

By Tomas M M

May 1, 2021

Very good course. Very complete as an introduction to Design thinking. Many tools have been explored and, what is best, three different real cases were described and analysed.

By Chandresh M

Dec 1, 2020

The course is great. The concept of Design Thinking is explained well in simple concepts and with real world examples and which reflection/method works well in which scenario.

By Alex A

Sep 20, 2020

I like very much how all topics are handle by main instructor.

Real life samples always are pleased welcome.

not all the slides used in the course are available for download.

By Parth A S

Jun 22, 2020

It is a must course for the newly startup guys or Students who are currently focussing on many things , these course will brainstorm and boost your mind with the design tools